It is currently Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Monitor adapter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:46 am
Posts: 169
Location: Stockholm
Hi, this is a very off topic question (regarding noise anyway, well kind of).

I picked up a 17" MAC monitor a while ago which uses 15 pins at the connector end, and simply, will not fit my standard VGA jack on my video card, much to my dismay (as I want to test this monitor out before I toss it out the window ;)). So the question is: How do I find/make a adapter for it?

I'm clueless (not good at this electronic stuff), I just know that my somewhat noisy 15" has got to go, rather sooner than later...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Melbourne, Australia
what is the 15 Pin connector specficially ? is it a DVI connector that looks like the same as the http://www.apple.com/displays/adapter.html , I know apple's have DVI displays, the ADC display and maybe some other funky display modes I've never heard of b4..... :)
could be one of these connectors but how old is it?

_________________
Nothing is impossible: Somethings are not worth the effort to achieve.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:46 am
Posts: 169
Location: Stockholm
Haha, trust me, it is not a DVI plug, this monitor is OLD! :D

I have seen adapters that allow Mac users to use regular VGA monitors for their Mac's, I had a look around and found one of those adapters, it says "HD15F - DB15M" for the contact/adapter connection. F is obviously female, and M is male. I would be interested in getting a reverse adapter, sort of.

Here's the link for reference (mainly talking about the picture here ;)). It apparently uses four DIP-switches to set the resolution of the signal/output (?). This is exactly what I need! Just the complete opposite! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 33
Location: UK
Have a look at the following:

http://www.drbott.com/prod/db.lasso?code=0111-DVAD

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=1203


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:46 am
Posts: 169
Location: Stockholm
Like I said before, it's not a DVI plug...

It's fifteen pins on two rows, and most definitely is not DVI. I have no idea what it's called, all I know is this: It's not DVI.

*phew* All done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 10:57 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I think your monitor has the apple legacy/apple rgb connector. Does it look like the lower connector on the vga card on this page? http://www.macstuff.nl/producten/VUMPDD-villagetronic-8MB.html

One of the adaptors on this page might work for your situation: http://www.griffintechnology.com/store/cables_adapters.html

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:46 am
Posts: 169
Location: Stockholm
Yes, that's the one!

If I understand the product listing I would be wanting a "Mac connect adapter", however, I don't see any mention of standard vga connector in it. Regardless, thank you so very much for the information! :)

PS. Are you dutch?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2002 3:34 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Hey, I'm glad that's the one Red Dawn. I'm pretty sure it's the "Mac connect adapter", but I'd check with them to be safe. I believe the standard VGA connector is HD-15, so that's okay.

No, I'm not dutch. I'm based in Vancouver.

Have a great day!

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2002 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:46 am
Posts: 169
Location: Stockholm
I sent them an e-mail containing a few questions about that adapter of theirs. I'll have to get around to make a few visits to computer/electronic stores next weekend to ask about a similar adapters, because frankly, ordering overseas is a bit of a hassle. :)

Oh, and about that dutch thing, I just thought maybe you were dutch because of the link you posted (.nl), I'm quick to assume things it seems.

Great day to you as well powergyoza!

PS. I'll try and keep you informed on how things go (although this will undoubtedly take a while).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group