It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Vista + CrystalCPUID, how?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:16 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1008
Location: Vancouver
Vista drops my multiplier to 5 and undervolts to the standard 1.10V when my Opteron 165 is idle. I want to use CrystalCPUID to lower it further - trying to use the same settings that are 100% stable in XP (dual-booting), but when I use it, it fights with Vista for control and eventually my system freezes up and I have to reboot. Does anyone know if there's a way to disable Vista's Processor Power Management?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:53 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Plymouth, MI
I have no experience with Vista, but looking at the screenshot, maybe there is an alternative to "Balanced [Active]" that would not try to control the power management settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am
Posts: 149
Actually, I use CrystalCPUID to control my Opteron 165 on a DFI RS482.
The high end is 1.35v for 300fsbx9. The low end is 0.95v for 300fsbx5. So you may be able to lower the 1.1v for 5x.

I can't get CrystalCPUID to work on Vista, granted my only experiece is with a Toshiba Laptop.

But... I do have RMclock working on that laptop running Vista, lowering the Intel Core Duo T2050 voltage to 0.95v (low) and 1.0v (high). All you have to do is to put voltage range at the Profile section and select Power on Demand. And on the "Power on Demand" sub-menu, select Use P-State Transition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:32 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
I'd be very interested in this as well, I use crystal cpuid routinely in XP, and would need it in Vista. There must be a way to disable power management in Vista. I'll try next time I have time.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:47 am
Posts: 19
Location: Japan
I haven't upgraded to Vista yet, but I found a comment on settings of Vista with x64 CPU in the Crystal Dew World, the developer's, site.
CrystalCPUID on Vista with x64 CPU requires the Vista booted with F8 option: Disable Driver Signature Enforcement.

http://crystalmark.info/vista/index-e.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group