It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Really annoyed with my PC!!!!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:15 am
Posts: 317
Location: Under The Desk
Well, i am really annoyed with my PC guys!! It is getting on my nerves now.

Don't think i can take much more of this.

Just don't know which way to turn?

Problem is:

I CAN'T HEAR THE THING!! lol :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:32 am
Posts: 486
Location: UK
Very silly post!!!!! (:D)

If you're not going to tell us the spec, list the mods (if any) and pictures!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:05 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Toronto Ontario
Heh, actually this is a notable problem. I frequenly don't know if my computer is on or off if the monitor isn't on. Without case lights it's hard to tell. I've frequently hit the power button thinking my computer was off when it was actually on.

_________________
You will never be strong enough
You will never be good enough
You were never conceived in love
You will not rise above


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:15 am
Posts: 317
Location: Under The Desk
amjedm wrote:
Very silly post!!!!! (:D)

If you're not going to tell us the spec, list the mods (if any) and pictures!


Only silly to those who have noisey PC's!! lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:32 am
Posts: 486
Location: UK
widowmaker wrote:
Heh, actually this is a notable problem. I frequenly don't know if my computer is on or off if the monitor isn't on. Without case lights it's hard to tell. I've frequently hit the power button thinking my computer was off when it was actually on.


If you're referring to the P182 you have, then we know your spec as you've kindly posted in the General Gallery ;) (thank you). Also know the silencing mods you've done (cut out fan grills and Acoustipack).

With regards Koolpc, I haven't a clue what his spec is, neither do I know of the mods (if any he's done) so I can't copy the ideas!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:01 am
Posts: 95
Actually, I think I prefer a slight amount of noise from my machine, over total silence. The unfortunate realities of coil whine/electronics noise, means that true dead silence, is VERY hard to achieve. A little white noise from the machine, masks this fairly nicely, if you have any components that generate it.

By 'a little', I'm referring to my current machine level, which can be heard if you're sitting near it. But definitely not easily if say, the AC is running in the house. From across the room it's inaudible.

Plus, a little noise, as opposed to none, allows for some better airflow/cooling options. Aka MORE POWER! :)

Atomic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:13 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:14 am
Posts: 1235
Location: Finland
widowmaker wrote:
Heh, actually this is a notable problem. I frequenly don't know if my computer is on or off if the monitor isn't on. Without case lights it's hard to tell. I've frequently hit the power button thinking my computer was off when it was actually on.


My PC is not in the same room with me, but in a walk-in closet. I can not hear it at all from this room, unless I open the door.

Adapt the following sequence to turn your computer on:

1) Turn on the screen.
2) Wave the mouse.
3) only then push the power button

Another option would be to disable power button from turning the system off, so it could only be used to turn the system on, or to press it for 4 seconds to really turn it off. I'm not sure how to do it, but it should be possible.

Yet another option is enable power on by keyboard. Then you never have to touch the power button, but it might or might not increase standby power usage.

_________________
my general purpose desktop system: HP LP3065 30" LCD 2560x1600 pixels, Q9450, 8GB DDR2 ECC 800MHz, EVGA 460GTX 1GB SC (OC@800MHz/2000MHz), WD Velociraptor 300GB, Samsung 2TB, Gigabyte EX38-DS4, Antec P182b, Corsair VX450, Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme, Scythe S-Flex fan, <90W AC idle, 200W AC gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:05 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Toronto Ontario
You see, I'm a very impatient person and find all those steps too slow :P . Luckily I now have a Logitech G15 keyboard and I know if the lights on that are on then my computer's on. I've actually been looking for a way to turn on my computer with my keyboard but have never found any bios setting that allows for that.

_________________
You will never be strong enough
You will never be good enough
You were never conceived in love
You will not rise above


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Keyboard Start Up
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:50 am
Posts: 207
Location: Xhystos
widowmaker wrote:
You see, I'm a very impatient person and find all those steps too slow :P . Luckily I now have a Logitech G15 keyboard and I know if the lights on that are on then my computer's on. I've actually been looking for a way to turn on my computer with my keyboard but have never found any bios setting that allows for that.


I discovered that all 3 of my PC's allow this in the bios. 2x Asrock and 1 Gigabyte. Saves me bending down to press the button and/or fiddling with the P182 door.

Asrocks are : AM2NF3-VSTA and ALiveNF6P-VSTA. Gigabyte is : GA-MA78G-DS3H. Look in the Advanced Settings section.

Only trouble now is that the cats can start the PCs !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard Start Up
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:34 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Bristol, UK
victorhortalives wrote:
Only trouble now is that the cats can start the PCs !
:lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard Start Up
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:50 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southend, England, UK
victorhortalives wrote:
widowmaker wrote:
You see, I'm a very impatient person and find all those steps too slow :P . Luckily I now have a Logitech G15 keyboard and I know if the lights on that are on then my computer's on. I've actually been looking for a way to turn on my computer with my keyboard but have never found any bios setting that allows for that.


I discovered that all 3 of my PC's allow this in the bios. 2x Asrock and 1 Gigabyte. Saves me bending down to press the button and/or fiddling with the P182 door.

Asrocks are : AM2NF3-VSTA and ALiveNF6P-VSTA. Gigabyte is : GA-MA78G-DS3H. Look in the Advanced Settings section.

Only trouble now is that the cats can start the PCs !


What is this setting called? I'd like to find out if my PC supports it.

_________________
Acer Aspire M5100 Phenom 9600 OCZ Vista Upgrade 4Gbram ST 7200.9 250Gb NEC AD-7170 Vista Premium WD 500gb (external)
PC NOW IN GAMBIA Ubuntu 7.04 TT Xaser 5 Wingo A7v600x XP2600 TR SLK-900U[SPCR test] +92mm Tt sf2 Nikmi HD600 LG GSA6120B, FX5700VE, Xilence 420W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:29 am
Posts: 96
Location: Edinburgh
haha,
when I first silenced my PC I turned it on and was thinking "hmm... there's still some noise there somewhere..."
Then I realised it was the fridge, in the kitchen.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard Start Up
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:48 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 1300
Location: en.gb.uk
Gojira-X wrote:
What is this setting called? I'd like to find out if my PC supports it.


You're looking for Wake-on-USB. It's best used with the suspend setting put to S3(STR). Keyboard button press to suspend, slap the space button and you're running again in 10 seconds. The business.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard Start Up
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:47 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:50 am
Posts: 207
Location: Xhystos
Gojira-X wrote:
victorhortalives wrote:
widowmaker wrote:
You see, I'm a very impatient person and find all those steps too slow :P . Luckily I now have a Logitech G15 keyboard and I know if the lights on that are on then my computer's on. I've actually been looking for a way to turn on my computer with my keyboard but have never found any bios setting that allows for that.


I discovered that all 3 of my PC's allow this in the bios. 2x Asrock and 1 Gigabyte. Saves me bending down to press the button and/or fiddling with the P182 door.

Asrocks are : AM2NF3-VSTA and ALiveNF6P-VSTA. Gigabyte is : GA-MA78G-DS3H. Look in the Advanced Settings section.

Only trouble now is that the cats can start the PCs !


What is this setting called? I'd like to find out if my PC supports it.




On the Asrock it is under : ACPI Settings - PS/2 Keyboard Power On

On the Gigabyte it is under : Power Management Setup - Power On By Mouse - OR - Power On By Keyboard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:46 am
Posts: 17
Location: Internutz
You could just leave Numlock on, so the status notifier on your keyboard is always glowing.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group