It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Boot over [LAN]
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:03 pm
Posts: 32
I have a Acer L5100 which is not so quiet. I'd like to experiment with pulling out the hard-drive and making the computer boot over lan from a server I have.

It has Vista Home Premium installed.

Is this possible, and can anyone point me towards resources regarding this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:18 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7373
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hi,

Is the hard drive the loudest/only source of noise?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:11 am
Posts: 292
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Hey,

I have done this with Windows XP using the gPXE bootloader, the WinAoE ATA over Ethernet client, booting from LAN from a Linux machine running vblade, the ATA over Ethernet target. Not sure about Vista support, you will have to look into it.

Start here:

http://etherboot.org/wiki/index.php

It will take you some time to figure everything out, but there is a helpful mailing list and IRC channel.

Good luck! If you have any questions, you can ask here too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:03 pm
Posts: 32
Thanks man. I'll definitely look into it in a few weeks. Could be a nice project for the holidays. It looked like something that takes a bit more then 15 minutes. ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3022
Location: Sweden
Why don't you just get a new, quiet HDD? Maybe a 2.5" like this one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:03 pm
Posts: 32
It just struck me:
I have a fairly fast memorystick.
Why not install Ubuntu on it, and ditch the HDD? I use the computer for streaming video from a lan server, so the I/O is not really important for its primary use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:11 am
Posts: 292
Location: Perth, Western Australia
In that case, the url you want is http://www.pendrivelinux.com/

But believe me, it's quite satisfying when you get the LAN booting working. Windows booting from a RAM disk over Gigabit Ethernet is nice and speedy ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:16 pm
Posts: 85
Location: Texas
tha_lode wrote:
It just struck me:
I have a fairly fast memorystick.
Why not install Ubuntu on it, and ditch the HDD? I use the computer for streaming video from a lan server, so the I/O is not really important for its primary use.


Yea why not indeed? Thats what I do, and it works great! I hear a non-journaled filesystem is the best for this so I stuck with EXT2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Boot over [LAN]
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:50 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southend, England, UK
tha_lode wrote:
I have a Acer L5100 which is not so quiet. I'd like to experiment with pulling out the hard-drive and making the computer boot over lan from a server I have.

It has Vista Home Premium installed.

Is this possible, and can anyone point me towards resources regarding this?


My Mum's L5100 ain't that loud at all, however changing the orientation does change the perceived noise. I have found that mounting it on the side with the rubber feet makes it seem less noisy.

If that doesn't work, and the computer is still in warranty (and you have backed up your data), run the factory restore utility until it fails (or make it fail). Call up acer moan about the hdd being faulty and it failing midway through an image. Acer will take it back and stick a brand new hdd in with your sw image.
Chances are, the new hdd will be lot quieter than the old hdd and thus solving your problem.

The above paragraph is based on my experience where a re-image did fail and I got a brand new Seagate hdd, that was quieter than the Hitachi one it came with (mad isn't it!)

_________________
Acer Aspire M5100 Phenom 9600 OCZ Vista Upgrade 4Gbram ST 7200.9 250Gb NEC AD-7170 Vista Premium WD 500gb (external)
PC NOW IN GAMBIA Ubuntu 7.04 TT Xaser 5 Wingo A7v600x XP2600 TR SLK-900U[SPCR test] +92mm Tt sf2 Nikmi HD600 LG GSA6120B, FX5700VE, Xilence 420W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:03 pm
Posts: 32
Thanks for all the replies.

I tried different versions of Linux, but it seems none of the worked well with the built in ATI gfx card. So I got a Mtron 3500 32 GIG and I'm really pleased with the result. Highly recommended.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group