It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: duron 1800 for a htpc?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:24 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 2:08 am
Posts: 203
Location: Sheffield, UK
i have had a plan for a while to make myself a htpc, evere since i removed my second hdd because it was quieter.
i was sent this link from ebuyer this morning

would the duron be able to play all of the divx's and the like i throw at it, will it do it with grace? bearing in mind some are very high bit rate with ac3 sound etc. i know the durons are dogs but i wondered if it would cope.
i have no plans to multitask although the machine will be folding and a sort of network harddisk, i may let it run emule so as to free up my main pc.
i really have no idea of the power of these things, would it be comparable to say, a p3 1gig?
it seems an elegant solution and cheap but will i be able to swap that hs for somethng acceptable and what sort of heat does a duron spit out?

thank you very much.

_________________
P4 2.53GHz (undervolted) w/zalman AlCu Flower + 80mm LIA @ 6V - 80GB Cuda IV suspended - Cheap 550w PSU w/ 80mm LIA @ 6V - Geforce ti-4200 stock HS + LIA.
Coming soon: HTPC system.
Folding 24/7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 6:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 7:16 pm
Posts: 174
Location: Mobile, AL
The Duron was a stripped down .18micron Athlon core(not sure which one). With the top processor the 1.3ghz using around 60 watts. I don't know where they came up with the PR number for that Duron AMD never used them so you have no idea what the actual ghz that processor is. I think a 1700+ Tbred'B with the M-ATX motherboard of you picking would be a better choice.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 2:13 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 2:08 am
Posts: 203
Location: Sheffield, UK
cheers, i think i will hold out for a low end p4 to get really cheap.
i can get mobo's with all the features and small form factor for a decent price and the extra will be worth it as it may let em time shift and record programmes, perhaps.

cheers

_________________
P4 2.53GHz (undervolted) w/zalman AlCu Flower + 80mm LIA @ 6V - 80GB Cuda IV suspended - Cheap 550w PSU w/ 80mm LIA @ 6V - Geforce ti-4200 stock HS + LIA.
Coming soon: HTPC system.
Folding 24/7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 4:27 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:51 am
Posts: 391
Location: Paris, France
There is no P-Rating for Duron processors, the Duron 1.3 runs at 1.3Ghz, and there's no higher clocked Duron.

I have no idea what they are selling, maybe it's just a typo and it's a Duron 800. There's also no such thing as a Duron "pro", AFAYK.

I have had a Duron 750 in my main box for a while, and I now use it in my girlfriends computer (Abit KT7, GeForce 2mx, 384mb SDRAM). I have never found a Divx that wouldn't playback smoothly on this computer.

A Duron at 1Ghz is roughly equivalent to a Celeron at 1Ghz in terms of performance. But a PIII or Celeron at 1Ghz will dissipate about 30% less power than a Duron 1Ghz.

_________________
PC Silencieux (french website)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group