It is currently Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Antec TruePower Trio 550
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Antec TruePower Trio 550

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:06 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:21 pm
Posts: 1252
Location: 15143, USA
Quote:
...the 200W range in idle (a little high for a typical SPCR computer)...
A little high? LOL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:05 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3300
Location: Essex, England
"gold-plated fan grill"..................... coloured surely :shock:


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
Looks like Seasonic's excellent designs are winning contracts with various manufacturers. First Corsair, then Antec. Maybe this is a nod to the increasing popularity of truly quiet computing, as opposed to just marketing hype focused on silence? I see a good trend.

Shame on the sub-par fan controller, though.

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:09 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:47 am
Posts: 1500
Location: Bucharest, Romania
I don't know which revision of the PSU did SPCR review, but here is my experience: I bought a Trio 650, two months ago, as a birthday present for a friend of mine. The unit was defective, I was told by the service people that the 12V fluctuated wildly. The replacement also has some 12V fluctuation, but not as bad. My friend had to drop his overclock that he had stable with a 360W Chieftec. I'd like to know which capacitors were used to manufacture the Trio 650, as capacitor quality (I bet lower than a S12-E+650) is a likely source of problems. Maybe Antec and Seasonic will get it right, but IMO people should be aware that the first batch of Trio's is a gamble.
PS: in the meantime the Corsair 520 became available in my city - priced between the Trio 550 and 650 (if I could have waited, I would have bought it instead).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:38 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:34 pm
Posts: 889
Location: Finland -- Folding For SPCR
Hi MikeC,

out of curiosity: the 650W version of the Trio reviewed by a finnish website had a plastic sheet covering half of the PSU fan. Did your 650W sample have this (see the link below for picture)?

http://www.tehomylly.net/artikkelit/kuv ... 650_04.jpg

_________________
Just because I didn't respond to your post doesn't mean you were right. It just means I was speechless as to how to reply to such an idiotic statement

[MainRig][HTPC][Playground]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aleksi wrote:
Hi MikeC,

out of curiosity: the 650W version of the Trio reviewed by a finnish website had a plastic sheet covering half of the PSU fan. Did your 650W sample have this (see the link below for picture)?

http://www.tehomylly.net/artikkelit/kuv ... 650_04.jpg

Actually, yes.

It means they're trying to ensure the air goes over the components in the output side of the PSU. It also means the 650 will probably be a touch louder at idle and get louder faster as soon as the fan starts to speed up, due to the unavoidable turbulence.

Perhaps Kelly can have a look at the 650's behavior at a later time.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:03 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Ontario
So mike is the S12 430W still a good recommendation today? Will you be looking at a new revision of it soon?

http://www.seasonic.com/new/twevent20060505.htm

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: San Diego, CA
I bought the Antec Trio 550 for $69.99 a month ago. For the price, I really can't complain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 32
Location: Greensburg, PA USA
Can anyone tell me the maximum amperage of the 12 volt lines for the Antec Trio 650? The sticker for the Trio 550 lists a maximum of 42 amps for the combined 12 volt lines but the sticker for the Trio 650 isnt shown and I cant find the info on Antec's web site. I have a media server with 15 hard drives (yes that's 15 hard drives) and I think the Seasonic S12 600 PSU I'm using right now with its limit of 36 amps isnt powerul enough to power all these drives at least when initially starting up. I was thinking of replacing it with the Trio 650. Replacing the hard drives (ten 250 gig hard drives in two RAID 5 arrays, two 300 gig drives in RAID 0 and two 500 gig drives) with larger and fewer ones isnt an option right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
I think the Seasonic S12 600 PSU I'm using right now with its limit of 36 amps isnt powerful enough to power all these drives at least when initially starting up.


Have you actually had any unexpected shutdowns or other protection circuit shutdowns of the PSU? ie any actual incidents to make you think the S12-600 is not up to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 32
Location: Greensburg, PA USA
I've had not one but two hard drives fail in the media server at the same time. One was a 60 gb Maxtor ATA being used as the system drive and the other was a Western Digital 500 gb SATA drive (WD5000KS). Both drives were new and hadn't been used and I had had the media server running for only a few months. Before they died I started getting a ticking sound during startup from the Maxtor that got more and more frequent. And if I shut down the system and then turned off power to the media server via the PSU switch and then turned power back on via the PSU switch and tried to bootup the media server the ticking always happened.

If I could get it to boot without ticking I usually didnt have a problem. The SMART data from the Maxtor didn't show any problems. The WD drive sometimes wouldnt show in the BIOS POST screen when booting. It too didnt show any errors via SMART until it stopped reporting SMART data at all. I'm using Speedfan 4.28 to read SMART data. The two drives are in a 3-in-2-enclosure which has a 80mm fan in front of it and Speedfan never showed any heat problems. I've read this kind of flaky behavior can be caused by a underpowered PSU.

With 15 drives, 9 fans (seven 80mm, two 120mm) plus 2.6 ghz P4 CPU, ECS 848P motherboard and 1 gig of memory the PSU might be underpowered.


Last edited by mindwalker on Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:37 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Posts: 1845
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
May I suggest finding a motherboard with staggered spin-up as a better solution?

It's possible that the PSU is at fault... but you're never going to diagnose this to a reasonable level of certainty. My guess is that it's not the PSU; I'd expect a complete system shutdown to occur if one of the voltages goes out of spec, as this is the usual symptom of an overloaded PSU.

Buying a more powerful PSU may solve the problem if the PSU is the problem. On the other hand, getting a Motherboard with staggered spin up will solve the PSU problem (since you're no longer pushing such a huge load at startup)... and it also addresses one other possible point of failure: The disk controller.

I have one other tidbit to toss in: With 15 drives, it's possible that you're exceeding the combined limit for the +5V and +3.3V lines. 10W per drive is not an unreasonable estimate for peak spin-up power usage on the +5V line, and 15 drives * 10W per drive is 150W. Add in the other devices that draw power from the +5V and +3.3V lines, and you could have a problem, since the combined limit for the secondary rails is 180W.

The trouble is, you'll probably find it difficult to find a modern PSU (no matter how big) with more capacity on the secondary lines. 500W+ power supplies are designed to cope with high end processors and graphics, which require +12V almost exclusively. An overloaded +5V line simply isn't a common occurrence.

The only situation where hard drives overload PSUs is in server contexts, and staggered spin-up is the proper solution, not a heftier power supply.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 32
Location: Greensburg, PA USA
I'd like to do a staggered spinup but my ATA RAID controller (3Ware 7506-12) doesnt support it and I dont know of any ATA RAID controller that does. It seems only SATA disks and controllers support staggered startup. And I dont have the money to replace 12 ATA disks and buy a SATA RAID card. The other three disks (two 500 gb SATA, one 100 gb ATA) are on the motherboard disk controller which doesnt support staggered startup either.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group