It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:15 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:52 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1028
Location: Vancouver
http://www.silentpcreview.com/intel-gigabyte-p67-motherboards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 192
Location: USA
Good review. Thanks. I'd also like to thank you for reviewing Intel boards in this part (as well as the previous part). I've never understood why all review sites don't review Intel boards so they can have a baseline to compare other boards to. Anyway, the review was very interesting and highly useful.

One other point, AFAIK, Gigabyte has ALWAYS used Realtek chips for LAN connectivity.

_________________
David A. Lessnau
Antec Solo w/ Scythe S-Flex SFF21E, Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3P, Intel E8400, Kingston KVR1333D3N9K2/4G, MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr, Thermalright HR-01 Plus w/ Scythe Kama PWM 120mm, SeaSonic S12 II SS-430GB, Pioneer DVR-216DBK, Intel SSDSA2MH160G2C1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Sandy Bridge & Clarkdale - Fluctuating vCore voltage
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
FLUCTUATING VCORE VOLTAGE?

I noticed that the vcore on the Sandy Bridge i5-2500K fluctuated between 0.8 to 1.2 v. See the voltage chart at the bottom of:
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article1148-page4.html

I have a Clarkdale i5-650 running on an Asus P7H55-M Pro motherboard. My vcore voltage is fluctuating between .096v and 1.2 volts (Correction 0.96v and 1.2 volts) (as measured by speedfan and also by CPUID). (12V, 5v, and 3.3v are rock steady and I am using a Nexus Value PSU)

I have been troubled by these vcore fluctuations on my Clarkdale. My e8200 775 chip has a stable vcore.

QUESTIONS

Apparently these voltage fluctuations are acceptable for the Sandy Bridge. Are they also acceptable for the Clarkdale?

Is my concern over this misplaced?

Does anybody have an explaination for these fluctuations? What is happening and why? Won't these fluctuations interfere with overclocking?


Last edited by ces on Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge & Clarkdale - Fluctuating vCore voltage
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11863
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
ces wrote:
Does anybody have an explaination for these fluctuations? What is happening and why? Won't these fluctuations interfere with overclocking?

It is totally normal for a modern CPU to vary its operating voltage (and clock speed of cores, independently in many cases) dynamically in accordance w/ load demand. This is precisely how the CPUs have such improved energy efficiency these days.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4617
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Great review - thanks!

With the proliferation of >2.19TB drives, I'm suprised Gigayte didn't release with UEFI.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:47 am
Posts: 430
Location: Bratislava, Slovak Republic
CA_Steve wrote:
Great review - thanks!

With the proliferation of >2.19TB drives, I'm suprised Gigayte didn't release with UEFI.


Well, they say :
Quote:
In addition, GIGABYTE DualBIOS™ now supports booting from 3TB+ (terabytes) hard drives without the need for partitioning, and enables more data storage on a single hard drive.


So maybe they hacked some small UEFI part on top of their BIOS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Israel
Thanks for the review.

The timing couldn't be better too.
I'm waiting for parts to be available. Its gonna be i7 2600K and Intel DP67BG. This time I'll post pics in the gallery.

_________________
DAW - Antec P150, i7 2600K @ 4.4 GHz , Intel DP67BG, Crucial C300 SATA 3 SSD, Passive Geforce 8500GT, Samsung F1 1TB audio drive, Seasonic S12II520, TRUE+AC PWM@500RPM, Noctua 120@700 RPM
Video Edit- Antec P183, i7 2600, Intel DP67BG, Quadro 2000, Samsung 500GB system, 2*WB 1TB RAID 0, TRUE, Seasonic S12II620


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge & Clarkdale - Fluctuating vCore voltage
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
MikeC wrote:
ces wrote:
Does anybody have an explaination for these fluctuations? What is happening and why? Won't these fluctuations interfere with overclocking?

It is totally normal for a modern CPU to vary its operating voltage (and clock speed of cores, independently in many cases) dynamically in accordance w/ load demand. This is precisely how the CPUs have such improved energy efficiency these days.


That's interesting. I notice on mine that the speed of the chip is not varying as the vCore jumps back and forth from 0.96v and 1.2 volts.

So it isn't the speed that is causing the change. Is it that portions of the circuits are turned on and shut off. Is that the cause? Or is there some other mechanism that is causing the increased need for voltage followed by the decrease?

Anyone out there that understands this?

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:47 am
Posts: 430
Location: Bratislava, Slovak Republic
And where do you watch your CPU speed ? In CPU-Z ? Then the reason is simple - CPU-Z can show only 1 value, but every core in Lynnfield and Sandy Bridge can have it's own clock. One core can run at 3.2GHz, while the rest idle at minimal clock. What clock should CPU-Z show ?

So yes, it's the CPU clock which requires the voltage change.

For example look at this image from a Linux monitoring utility : http://img.techpowerup.org/100131/52percent.jpg . Does this help ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
faugusztin wrote:
And where do you watch your CPU speed ? In CPU-Z ? Then the reason is simple - CPU-Z can show only 1 value, but every core in Lynnfield and Sandy Bridge can have it's own clock. One core can run at 3.2GHz, while the rest idle at minimal clock. What clock should CPU-Z show ??
I am using CPU-Z and speedfan, which both have the limitation you mention. But I am using them in conjunction with Windows Taskmaster which shows the load to be spread out fairly evenly among the 4 CPUs.

A swing from 0.9v to 1.2v is a pretty big swing. The swings, as measured by speefan are occurring about once every 5 to 15 seconds (speedfan appears to have a 5 second sampling rate), though Windows Taskmaster, which I am also using appears to have a sampling rate of one second.

It just doesn't seem that the clock speed can account for this... at least if the clock speed is related to the load as measured by Windows Taskmaster. Now it could be that this is occuring at a far faster rate than the Speedfan 5 second sampling rate... but it just doesn't seem like that explains the graphs I am seeing with Speedfan and Windows Taskmaster.

Anyone else out there with a recent generation Intel? What are you seeing on your vCore?

I was thinking about getting a 2600K specifically for overclocking. If 1.2v is a normal paek vcore... what is a normal peak vcore if you are overclocking a 2600K?

Any other thoughts?

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
Boot Times

Maybe I am missing it, but does the review talk about boot times?

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:47 am
Posts: 430
Location: Bratislava, Slovak Republic
ces wrote:
A swing from 0.9v to 1.2v is a pretty big swing. The swings, as measured by speefan are occurring about once every 5 to 15 seconds (speedfan appears to have a 5 second sampling rate), though Windows Taskmaster, which I am also using appears to have a sampling rate of one second.

It just doesn't seem that the clock speed can account for this... at least if the clock speed is related to the load as measured by Windows Taskmaster. Now it could be that this is occuring at a far faster rate than the Speedfan 5 second sampling rate... but it just doesn't seem like that explains the graphs I am seeing with Speedfan and Windows Taskmaster.


You mad me smile.

Core clock change occurs way more often than on a second level. It occurs every few miliseconds, as clock and voltage change depends on the load itself. 0.9V is the idle voltage, 1.2V is most times the load voltage. So yes, it's normal.

If you want to know what frequency your CPU runs at, download and use this : http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/tmonitor.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
faugusztin wrote:
If you want to know what frequency your CPU runs at, download and use this : http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/tmonitor.html


Thanks

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:55 pm
Posts: 33
I notice you have screenshots of Speedfan 4.42 in this review. I also have an i5-2500K (on ASUS p8p67 pro) and Speedfan 4.42 gave incorrect readings of temperatures and voltages. This was pointed out to me by another poster in the forum. The beta version gave correct readings. Just something to consider.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:57 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 6:28 pm
Posts: 408
Location: CT, USA
FYI, the link in the first post is incorrect/broken. It should be http://www.silentpcreview.com/intel-gigabyte-p67-motherboards.

_________________
main: athlon II 240e + Dark Knight, MSI 785GM-E65, Dell RM112, 4GB G-Skill, HVR-2250, 256GB Samsung 830 & 3TB WD Red, CM Elite 341
laptop: IBM Thinkpad X60s, LV CoreDuo 1.66, Samsung 840 120GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:19 am
Posts: 400
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Just a heads up: at a glance it looks like you are saying the Intel board costs $10 USD! This is actually the price difference between this and the Gigabyte board, but is bold in standard SPCR this-is-the-price fashion.
Edit: I mean on the first page, in the first paragraph about the Intel board.

_________________
Currently running Mint 14 MATE on all machines.
Desktop/Gaming: E8400 / 650ti + Accelero S1 / Antec Solo
Myth Backend + Home Server: D945GSEJT / WD15EADS / Hauppage 950Q / Home made case
Myth Frontend + HTPC: Sempron 140 / Asus M4A785-M
Notebook:AMD A4-3300M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 523
Location: 128.0.0.1
Nice review!

Can the Intel board's UEFI be used to change fan speeds according to temperature readings? Thus eliminating the need for SpeedFan?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:39 pm
Posts: 41
ces wrote:
Boot Times

Maybe I am missing it, but does the review talk about boot times?


I missed that too, the one thing that excites me about UEFI


Love the power consumption charts, though


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:33 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1028
Location: Vancouver
tim851 wrote:
Can the Intel board's UEFI be used to change fan speeds according to temperature readings? Thus eliminating the need for SpeedFan?


As we mentioned in the article, only the CPU fan changed speed in response to temperature.

As for boot times...

Power button to "Starting Windows" screen:
P67A-UD4: 18.0 secs
DP67BG: 25.6 secs
DP67BG with Hyperboot: 24.2 secs

For some reason the Intel board always restarts itself before the POST screen on a cold boot, eating up 7 seconds - that accounts for most of the difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:52 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Bellevue, WA (U.S.A.)
Can anyone confirm that the Gigabyte supports Dolby Digital Live real-time 5.1 encoding of game audio over the SPDIF port?

Also, can anyone confirm that the intel does NOT do this?

(If you're thinking "optical always supports Dolby 5.1, right?" -- not true! Most motherboard sound support can only pass through pre-encoded 5.1 audio from DVDs/blu-rays through the SPDIF digital ports, and only sends 2-channel stereo for games.)

_________________
"It suddenly struck me that that tiny pea, pretty and blue, was the Earth. I put up my thumb and shut one eye, and my thumb blotted out the planet Earth. I didn't feel like a giant. I felt very, very small. " -- Neil Armstrong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
Lawrence Lee wrote:
Power button to "Starting Windows" screen:
P67A-UD4: 18.0 secs
DP67BG: 25.6 secs
DP67BG with Hyperboot: 24.2 secs
For some reason the Intel board always restarts itself before the POST screen on a cold boot, eating up 7 seconds - that accounts for most of the difference.
That was unexpected. UEFI is supposed to be faster. Granted boots speed will vary from board to board... but I was under the impression that UEFI was such a game changer that any UEFI board would be faster than any hard drive (like SSDs compared to HDs).

So what is the big deal with UEFI... that you get to use a mouse??????????

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 580
Location: USA (Phoenix, AZ)
My DP67BG boot times are faster. Power button to "Starting Windows" screen is 19 seconds. With Hyperboot enabled, I get 14 seconds.

Also, I am not getting any cold boot "second restart" issue.

EDIT: I have updated my BIOS for the motherboard and upgraded the firmware on my Intel SSD. Hyperboot is now giving me a speed of only 8 seconds. 8)

_________________
SilverStone SG05, Antec Kuhler H2O 620, Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-13 120MM, Seasonic X-460, ASRock Z77E-ITX, Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2, Samsung 30nm 1.35V 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM, PowerColor AX7750, Samsung Series 830 256GB SSD, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Link


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandy Bridge, Part 3: Gigabyte P67A-UD4 & Intel DP67BG
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:10 am
Posts: 1
Location: Texas, USA
This was another of the many excellent and helpful reviews that keep me coming back to SPCR again and again. Thank you.

To avoid confusing people who only research hardware every year or two, like yours truly, it would be good to edit the date at the very start of the article to read 2011 -- it currently reads "January 16, 2010 by Lawrence Lee".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Abula and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group