It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:53 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1041
Location: Vancouver
http://www.silentpcreview.com/Gigabyte_GA-F2A75M-D3H


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:36 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4770
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Nice to see another FM2 mobo review. Regarding power use, the simpler 4 phase design and having less crap...erm features on the board as compared to the Asus M Pro probably accounts for the lower idle power. Heck, if Gigabyte had bothered to put a heatsink across the VRM transistors, the lower temp would probably result in a few watts of improved efficiency and put it in line with the Asus mobo for non-OC loads. Too bad there is no undervolting.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 489
Location: Australia
nice idle numbers indeed!

can someone confirm no bios undervolting, maybe a newer bios might reintroduce it?
do all gigabyte fm2 mobos lack it?
it seems like a very odd functionality to remove, it might even be deal killer for me at least until it's easily doable in windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:49 am
Posts: 19
Location: Schmocation
Another motherboard with neutered HDMI. I can't find a HDMI version spec for this board, but 1.3 supports the higher resolution screens of 2560x1600, and has been around for 6 years. It seems like manufacturers are arbitrarily limiting the resolution of their HDMI interfaces, but to what end? I've seen this on laptops, some of which claim to support hdmi 1.4 (Retina Macbook Pro 15, I'm looking at you!) but limit their ports to 1080p.

I realize I'm a minority, wanting to run 2x 2560x1440 from onboard video, but its frustrating that manufacturers are purposely blocking it when the interfaces and underlying hardware support it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Is it worth trying to track down the aftermarket heatsinks that people were putting on the Gigabyte boards for the higher wattage Phenoms a couple of years ago for these? I'd assume the 85X of this board version runs equally hot or hotter. Since there are no mounting holes any sinks would of necessity need thermal adhesive.

Re. HDMI

I think the max is 1920x1200. Most users of HDMI are using it on televisions or television scaled monitors for movie watching hence the roadblock at 1080p. It's the same phenomena that annoys me by limiting the number of 16:10 monitors on the market while panel manufacturers pander to the TV crowd.

_________________
Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:57 am
Posts: 4
Hi guys,
Did you manage to control the speed of system fans on sys_fan2 and sys_fan3? I've got this mobo - sys_fan1 and cpu_fan work fine and I can control the speed but sys_fan2&3 contantly run at 100% regardless of bios setting. I've got a call open with Gigabyte for this.

Gavin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:37 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 12029
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
holybob wrote:
Hi guys,
Did you manage to control the speed of system fans on sys_fan2 and sys_fan3? I've got this mobo - sys_fan1 and cpu_fan work fine and I can control the speed but sys_fan2&3 contantly run at 100% regardless of bios setting. I've got a call open with Gigabyte for this.

Gavin

From page 6 of the review:
Quote:
Once again, if you're Windows user, a better fan control experience is available in the form of SpeedFan. Properly configured, it can control all three fans, though SYS_FAN1 only works with voltage control (3-pin) and the same control is tied to the voltage of CPU_FAN. To enable the fan controls, find the "IT8728F" chip in the advanced menu and change its PWM 1-3 modes to "software controlled."

We also discovered through trial and error that the temperature Gigabyte specifies as "System" corresponds to the area around the VRMs to the left of the APU socket. This is a good location for a temperature sensor as the circuitry in that location runs quite hot and lacks cooling aside from any spill-over airflow from the CPU fan.

_________________
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:57 am
Posts: 4
Thanks. That doesn't actually solve my problem though, however Gigabyte have since given me the answer.

Bascially, there were two problems:

SYS_FAN1 supports 3 pin fans, but SYS_FAN2 and SYS_FAN3 can only control the speed of 4 pin fans, which I find rather odd. If you use a 3 pin fan in these headers it constantly runs at 100%.

Although there are 3 system fan headers, you CANNOT control these independant. If sys_fan1 runs at 50%, then 2 and 3 also run at the same speed.

Which is fine, I've only got 2 case fans anyway - they're both 3 pin so I'm running them (and controlling them, albeit not independantly) both from sys_fan1 with a splitter cable.

Gavin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H Budget FM2 Motherboard
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:42 am
Posts: 1
holybob wrote:
Thanks. That doesn't actually solve my problem though, however Gigabyte have since given me the answer.

Bascially, there were two problems:

SYS_FAN1 supports 3 pin fans, but SYS_FAN2 and SYS_FAN3 can only control the speed of 4 pin fans, which I find rather odd. If you use a 3 pin fan in these headers it constantly runs at 100%.

Although there are 3 system fan headers, you CANNOT control these independant. If sys_fan1 runs at 50%, then 2 and 3 also run at the same speed.

Which is fine, I've only got 2 case fans anyway - they're both 3 pin so I'm running them (and controlling them, albeit not independantly) both from sys_fan1 with a splitter cable.

Gavin


Are you running a later rev of the motherboard? Mine only has SYS_FAN1 and SYS_FAN2, and like you said, SYS_FAN1 only supports voltage control, while SYS_FAN2 only supports PWM. I have three 3-pin 120 mm case fans that I hook up to SYS_FAN1 using a 3-way splitter.

My experiences with the PWMs in SpeedFan differs from the reviewer's. I don't have anything hooked up to SYS_FAN2 so I have no idea how the PWMs affect that.

  • PWM1 appears to control the CPU fan using voltage control--I can slow down the CPU fan as low as about 200 rpm, and then it suddenly stops spinning and won't start up again unless I "jolt" it by setting PWM1 back up to something quite a bit higher, starting it back up at about 600 rpm.
  • PWM2 controls SYS_FAN1, which is only voltage control.
  • PWM3 appears to control the CPU fan using PWM control--I can't slow down the CPU fan below about 400 rpm, even if I keep decreasing the PWM value.

If I had to guess, I think PWM1 is controlling the voltage (3rd pin) for both CPU_FAN and SYS_FAN2, while PWM3 would be controlling the PWM (4th pin) for both CPU_FAN and SYS_FAN2. Since I'm not using SYS_FAN2, this doesn't affect me, and I can use PWM2 and PWM3 to do all the fan control I need.

I use advanced controls to set the CPU fan speed according to both the CPU temp and the system temp. As the review mentions, the VRM chips get hot, so the system temp is often higher than I'd like. I run a Big Shuriken 2 as my CPU cooler so there is some spillover hitting the VRM chips. Thus I run the CPU fan faster than necessitated by just the CPU temp when the system temp is high. At under 1400 rpm I can't hear the CPU fan, so no problems there.

Nice review!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group