It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 12:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fileserver and p180 gaming rig
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 3:40 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
Fileserver:
-Asrock socket A VIA motherboard
-1GHz Duron
-Stock HS with 60<80 adapter and panaflo L1a @ 9v fanmate
-512MB Corsair Value RAM
-Enermax "quiet" 350w psu (ooold thing, but keeps its promise of quietness)
-Seagate Cuda 9 250gig sATA
-Samsung SP 250gig pATA
-WD 60gig old pATA
-IBM deathstar 20gig, have some stuff on it I wanna take off before i get rid of it, but I'm too lazy to do it. this is the loudest thing in here.
-old plextor CD-RW
-GeForce 3 Ti 500 with ZM-HP80D or whatever the exact number is, you know what I mean
-Old big generic case
-Antec 38mm Tricool 120mm

-windows server 2003

Image
Image
CPU runs kinda hot, 50°C, but I can't be bothered to do anything about it, GPU has no temp monitoring unfortunately, but the heat sink stays cool, the thing runs headless most of the time anyway, so it doesnt matter
Image
Hard drives are mounted in the bottom HDD rack from the p180 with the Tricool blowing over them on low, the Seagate is in the tray for the top HDD rack, so I can stick it into my gaming rig if I want to transport the stuff on it.
Image
Image
The thing is currently right next to me for troubleshooting, but once it moves to the basement I wan to attach some sort of dust filter over that dust magnet fan, also for the sake of the cats ;)
Image
You can see the fanmate knob hanging out of the back


Gaming Rig:
Details in sig, WinXP x64

Image
Image
A little ducting experiment with a Scythe fan in the front intake position to see if it helps the GPU, but doesn't do much.
Image
Image
The Cables are actually quite out of the way, it just looks messy because of the sheer amount of them.
Image
Temps: Idle (fan on low) - Load (fan on high)
GPU: 62°C - 85°C
CPU: 35°C - 40°C
NB: 40°C - 48°C
Case: 27°C - 33°C
Ambient: 20°C

However the mobo is going back to newegg (AGAIN) tomorrow, so I guess the system STILL isn't finished.

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:50 am
Posts: 1705
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
You've got a heatpipe cooled videocard in a (mostly) headless file server! That's just sick! :)

_________________
Isaac Kuo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:50 pm
Posts: 680
Location: Sydney, Australia
I'm more worried about the HDD sat on top of the (hot?) PSU :lol:

_________________
Main PC: Antec SLK 3000B, Fortron Bluestorm 400w, Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L, Intel e7300, Kingston 2x2Gb Value DDR2, OCZ Vertex 2 60Gb, 320Gb 7200.10, 750Gb Samsung. Silencing/Cooling mods= Glacialtech 120mm front fan, rear Tri-cool on low, CPU HSF = std @ 850rpm :D
WHS: Antec LS-100, GA-MA74GM-S2H, LE-1250, 2x2Gb XMS DDR2, 7Tb
HTPC: Antec NSK2480B, MA78GPM-DS2H & Athlon 64 X2 4850e


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:29 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
lol, it was the only fanless AGP 8X video card I have, so I figured I'd stick with it, rather than spending 30 bucks on a MX4000. It didn't use to be in a headless rig, a long time ago it was a performance card :D

As for the HDD, the psu isn't that hot, the HDD used to be sitting at the bottom of the case, and would be like 48°C. I figured that was too high, so I moved it there, and now I'm in the high 30s, it seems to benifit from the airflow.

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:58 am
Posts: 219
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Does the duct / cd tray help you at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:58 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
to be honest, no. not at all.

which is why it didnt stay in there long.

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:54 pm
Posts: 9
Have you considered running Linux/Unix with Samba on your file server? There is a great ready made BSD distro called Free NAS at http://www.freenas.org/. The requirements for Free NAS are very low and it is very reliable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:49 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
I did use linux for a while, but it was too much stress with the different filesystems (nfs, ntfs, fat32).

As a matter of fact I Have given up completely on the fileserver and have 1tb worth of storage in external enclosures with long usb cables:

Image

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:10 pm
Posts: 1008
Location: San Jose, California
you could also just pick up a nas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:03 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
way more expensive. and I like the fact that with usb I can take my data with me to a lan or something similar.

and since i dont have a webserver anymore I really dont need the hard drives to be on 24/7, only when I use my main comp.

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 90
What did you do with the server?

_________________
Athlon X2 4000+
Gigabyte 690GS3
Radeon HD3850
WD 160gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:48 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
so far nothing, it's sitting around in my basement picking up dust, only the ram is in use right now. but once I have more time I'll look into figuring out what to do with it....

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group