It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
Over a year ago I built a new Windows Homer Server. I had to do some work on it now so I took some pictures.

The enclosure was an old and heavy Chieftec like this
http://www.chieftec.eu/index.php?option ... view&id=21
The case had a lot of openings on both sides for fans, but none for 120mm.
I wanted to change this and make the air directions front->back. I also wanted to add more drive bays.

First I cut some metal plates to cover the ventilation holes on both side doors.
Then I needed 2 fans in the front of the Hdds. The top fan you can see in the pictures, had to cut some plastic on the door.
The bottom fan is also hidden behind the front mesh in front of the hdds. Had to cut the case metal and some plastic and then a 120mm fan was fitting just perfect.

Normally I use a fan controller for my pc's, see links in signature, but for this server the included three-speed switch on the Antec fans are working great. I have access to the switches behind the front door, see picture.

For HDDs bays I use the same Scythe Hard Disk Stabilizer x4 as in the P182 pc, see signature. The bottom 2 are hanging in the same O-rings as I used in a earlier version of the P182. The Hard Disk Stabilizers are not touching the inside or bottom of the case.

The components:
Chieftec LCX-01B-B-SL
Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5400. Lapped
Arctic Cooling Freeer 7 Pro
Corsair 4GB DDR2 KIT TWIN2X4096-6400C5
Corsair CX400W
Nvidia 7300 LE
SDM SD-ES3132-2IR PCI-E Serial ATA II Controller Card
4 * Samsung 1.5TB HD154UI
2 * Samsung 2TB HD203WI
1 * Samsung 1TB HD103SJ for OS
1 * Western Digital 1TB
1 * Samsung 400GB HD401LJ
3 * Scythe Hard Disk Stabilizer x4
Dvd
ebmPapst 4412 F/2GLL 120mm Fan
2 * Antec TriCool 120mm fan

With these components and the modification of the case the server is very good and silent.

Edit, 4th jan 2011, added 2 Hdds and a Sata controller, more pics later in the thread.

The enclosure was like this one:
Image

Sides modification:
Image

Inside:
Image

HDDs and bottom front fan
Image

HDDS, front fan and fan switches
Image

Image

Front:
Image

Back:
Image

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Last edited by Panter on Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:49 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Sweden
Great job! I love modded Chieftecs, they may not be that quiet out of the box but they are sturdy as hell so they can withstand most modding.

Is the vents welded into the metal plates? Looks really good and sturdy in my opinion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 134
Location: California
Looks like you've blocked all the side inputs and added some front intake vents (and maybe fans)? Got any photos of the mods to the front of the case?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
Yes, all side inputs are blocked. It's not welded, but kind of glued. Don't know what it's called in English, but it's similar to Tec7.

2 * 120mm fans are behind the front mesh. That way I have an air direction front -> back over all the Hdds.

I have attached a picure of the top fan without the mesh. The silicon fan mounts are brown because no one sees it :-)
The bottom fan is a bit like that except that I also had to cut the case metal. Sorry, don't have a picture of it, but see picture 2 attached.

And yes, it's sturdy as hell..

Image

Image

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
Just a small update.

Added 2 * Samsung SpinPoint F4EG 2TB HD204UI and a HighPoint Rocket 620 2P SATA III controller.
Removed the 1 * Samsung 400GB HD401LJ.

A total of 10 HDDs with 16 TB.

Updated the firmware on the Samsung SpinPoint F4EG HD204UI before installation.

Image

Image

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 134
Location: California
Nice work. Love the big Chieftec cases!

Take a look at the WHS app "drive balancer". Look for it on wegotserved.com.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
Thanks for you comment piglover.

I'm aware of the "drive balancer" app, but I see no big reason to install it except for the visual aspect.
I do not want to install lots of programs with possible complications. It's just a simple server, keep it simple..

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Toronto, Canada
Would it not be better if the psu was turned upsided down so the fan doesnt ramp up because of the cpu heat? The case has enough space above the psu.

_________________
Antec 302-S Project
Solo PC with flipped PSU & Mobo
Basement PC flipped and converted

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
It's the first time I have heard that this should be a problem. It's a normal way to mount a Psu.

Anyway, it's no problem here. The Cpu is 99.9% of the time doing nothing so heat is no issue.

:-)

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:28 am
Posts: 4
Is this the current version of Home Server or the new Vail beta?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norway
This is WHSv1, not Fail, sorry, Vail (Microsoft have done some changes recently in Vail that the Homer Server community considers as total mistake).

Vail Preview is absolutely not ready to use in production servers.

_________________
P182, 14 drives, SSD, Raid5+6, Status: V.5:
viewtopic.php?t=43763
HTPC LC17 w/ fanctrl, Bluray, HDMI 1.4, GT430, Opteron 165OC:
viewtopic.php?t=60118
My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB:
viewtopic.php?t=60177
Ikea Besta Burs modification:
http://tinyurl.com/panter9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:28 am
Posts: 4
I think I know what you're talking about. I read they are removing that handy disk/space management feature.

I'm currently using a 4 bay netgear NAS with dual nics and streaming from it. I have 8tb worth of disks in it and can't imagine running out of space, but I really like your setup and would like to someday mimic this. Great work!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My WHS, modified Chieftec Mesh, 10 HDDS, 16.0 TB, silent
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:32 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:26 am
Posts: 13
Location: New Bern, NC USA
You did a great job with the wiring - neatly bundled and out of the way to smooth the airflow through the case - great work!

_________________
The New Standard In Computer Parts
http://www.Teliperk.com and...
http://stores.ebay.com/Teliperk-Technologies-Inc


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group