SLK3700 120MM fans stock size

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

joem33

SLK3700 120MM fans stock size

Post by joem33 » Thu May 29, 2003 7:55 am

Hello all, I am new to this great site (glad I found it) I just purchased a Antec SLK 3700, and was looking for info on the stock fan size. I do know that it's 120mm, but what is it's other size.. 25mm/32mm/38mm. I apoligize if it's been answered. I did see a post that with the fan brackets they only allow 25MM, is that correct? I know I can remove them an upgarde to a bigger size, but I wanted to be positive as I don't want to use the Stock fan.

mdaniel
Friend of SPCR

Post by mdaniel » Thu May 29, 2003 5:15 pm

The default fan size for the pre-installed 120mm exhaust fan is 120mm x 25mm. The exhaust fan can hold a larger fan, but the optional intake fan will only accept a 120 x 25 w/o modding the case or removing the hard drive rack.

If you want to really quiet the fans, remove the fan cage, drill holes that will line up with a 120mm fan and then use fan isolators to connect the fan to the case w/ minimal vibration transfer. You will have to use the cage or drill new holes. The holes in the case do no match up with a 120mm fan.

Good luck and welcome to the site. I too just found it not long ago.

joem33

Post by joem33 » Fri May 30, 2003 4:10 am

mdaniel,

Thanks for your input. I appreciate your time. You have the enermax adjustable 120. Do you reccomend those? I have always used antec, but never went for a quieter system. Now that I am attempting my fist quiet-pc, and reccomendations I will take... :-)

Thanks again...

mdaniel
Friend of SPCR

Post by mdaniel » Sun Jun 01, 2003 3:55 am