Need Case Recommendation for New i7/Asus P6T Deluxe Box

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

lbeachmike

Need Case Recommendation for New i7/Asus P6T Deluxe Box

Post by lbeachmike » Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:04 pm

Hi there -

This will be only the second PC I've ever built, so I have some experience, but not very much.

My goals, aside from keeping things quiet and cool, is also to make things easy for me to work with - and to accommodate 6 internal 3.5" drives as well as a Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 CPU cooler.

These are cases I've been considering -

Silverstone TJ10 (or TJ09)
Cooler Master RC-840
Cooler Master Cosmos RC-1000
Lian Li - a wide variety, though PC-V2110B catches my attention

I currently own a Lian Li case, so I'm familiar with the sturdy high-quality construction, but also found the one I have a bit tight on space and tricky to work with.

I've been able to see the Cooler Master RC-840 first-hand, and it looks incredibly spacious and easy to work with - sturdy, but I have reservations about the top and bottom plastic parts.

Also, it would be preferable if the case already has sound insulation so that I don't need to install my own - it seems many of the Lian Li do - but not a deal-breaker either way.

I'm also open to suggestion.

Again, I'd like something that will make life easy. I don't intend to do much beyond the initial build, other than very minor improvements (ie. upgrade case fans, add hard drives, optical drives, etc.)

I do expect to run 6 drives, 4 of which will initially be Seagates - they run hot, so hard drive cooling is a concern as well.

Thanks.

Mike

speedkar9

Re: Need Case Recommendation for New i7/Asus P6T Deluxe Box

Post by speedkar9 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:06 pm

lbeachmike wrote:I do expect to run 6 drives, 4 of which will initially be Seagates - they run hot, so hard drive cooling is a concern as well.