Flags for AMD 3800+ Venice processor?

A forum just for SPCR's folding team... by request.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Xfinity
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 6:26 am
Location: Sweden

Flags for AMD 3800+ Venice processor?

Post by Xfinity » Mon Jul 04, 2005 7:14 am

Hello guys!

Tried using these flags for the new processor (AMD 3800+ Venice) I just bought:

Code: Select all

-service -local -advmethods -forceasm -verbosity 9
But when I did that all I got was this error:

Code: Select all

# Windows Console Edition #####################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\CPU1
Executable: C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\CPU1\FAH502-Console.exe
Arguments: -service -local -advmethods -forceasm -verbosity 9 

Warning:
 By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
 safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
 do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
 If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
 if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
 use of the flag.

[10:54:15] - Ask before connecting: No
[10:54:15] - User name: Xfinity (Team 31574)
[10:54:15] - User ID: 682C60A116E7772A
[10:54:15] - Machine ID: 1
[10:54:15] 
[10:54:15] Loaded queue successfully.
[10:54:15] + Benchmarking ...
[10:54:18] The benchmark result is 5760
[10:54:18] 
[10:54:18] - Autosending finished units...
[10:54:18] Trying to send all finished work units
[10:54:18] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[10:54:18] - Autosend completed
[10:54:18] + Processing work unit
[10:54:18] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
[10:54:18] Core found.
[10:54:18] Working on Unit 04 [July 4 10:54:18]
[10:54:18] + Working ...
[10:54:18] - Calling 'FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 04 -checkpoint 15 -service -forceasm -verbose -lifeline 3236 -version 502'

[10:54:18] 
[10:54:18] *------------------------------*
[10:54:18] Folding@Home PMD Core
[10:54:18] Version 1.01 (Oct 15, 2004)
[10:54:18] 
[10:54:18] Preparing to commence simulation
[10:54:18] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[10:54:28] 
[10:54:28] Folding@home Core Shutdown: CLIENT_DIED
So my question is, can I use those flags or shall I use these flags instead?

Code: Select all

-service -local -advmethods -verbosity 9
Thanks!
[size=75][b]Workstation:[/b] Antec Solo, Seasonic S12II 430W, Asus A8N32-SLI DLX, AMD Opteron 185, 2GB DDR PC-3200, NVIDIA 8600GT (Passive), Hitachi Deskstar T7K500 320GB.
[b]Notebook:[/b] Dell XPS M1330, Intel Core2Duo T7500, 2GB DDR2 PC2-5300, LED Display, NVIDIA GeForce Go 8400GS, Hitachi Travelstar 7K200 100GB.[/size]

peteamer
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.

Post by peteamer » Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:22 am

-forceasm
Instruct the core to use SSE/3DNow assembly instructions if possible, even if it has previously made the determination that the machine may not be handling this well.
From: http://folding.stanford.edu/console-userguide.html

I have it 'switched on' on both my AMD rigs and both report as yours does.
I don't think it does any 'harm'... as long as WU's are completing correctly.

I know one of the switchs became redundant... but as I have said before "I would be getting an upgrade if I swapped memory with a goldfish". :lol:


Pete

Post Reply