It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1624 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 55  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:53 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
The answer was right in front of me. Me blind. Me sad.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 871
Location: North Carolina
Well, we lost two more places.

We are now officially #25 :cry: :?

Yes we did lose two places but on the bright side, we are 25th in the world! :D The teams around us seem to produce so many points. We've lost five places in the last four months and we're scheduled to lose three more in the next six months. :x

On another note I'm looking to build a small folding farm. Its purpose will be to combine the power of several old computers. Most farms just use several computers to individually fold. I'm looking for all of the computers to work on the same WU. Possible? Any ideas? (Computers are two 1GHz P3's, 1.7GHz P4, 2.6GHz Celeron, and possibly an Athlon 64 3200+.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:17 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
well, I just got my cousin all set up with two single core clients on his X2 machine. He didn't really know how to deal with SMP errors, so i figured this was the best way, it's easy to use, and he doesn't have to remember to start it up, because it will run as a service. I've got a friend who could fold with both his PS3 and Q6600 system, but he's reluctant, and only folds with the PC every so often. But, it is for our team. I almost had a quad core opteron system folding for us this summer, but it had some serious stability issues. Oh well.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:37 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
I'm having stability issues with my E6600 box, seems a drive is going out and when it "disappears" the system crashes... On the bright side, my E2140 OCer box will be up next week (ordered parts yesterday)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:49 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Wibla, you may be able to reach 401MHz FSB because the northbridge divider calculations will adjust themselves so that many components on the motherboard will return to their original values.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/145468-intel-overclocking-redefined-interesting-p965-975x.html

Angelkiller, I would like to be able to monitor say 4 boxes from just one display.

People used to take pics of their farms, haven't seen any in a while.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 497
Location: Linköping, Sweden
aristide1 wrote:
I would like to be able to monitor say 4 boxes from just one display.

You can use FahMon to monitor several clients at once. You just need to mount the work dirs so that they are readable on the monitoring computer, over Windows filesharing/samba.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Several computers on same wu
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:06 pm
Posts: 26
Angelkiller,

"I'm looking for all of the computers to work on the same WU. Possible? Any ideas? (Computers are two 1GHz P3's, 1.7GHz P4, 2.6GHz Celeron, and possibly an Athlon 64 3200+.)"

Probably not easy, but might be doable with smp workunits. They result in 4 processes. In theory you ought to be able to send each process to a different machine. People do this kind of thing with clusters. You might look into setting up your machines as a Beowulf cluster. If you want to do it for fun or learning, great. Otherwise, I'd stick with 1 wu per machine.

On a more fundamental basis, some processes lend themselves to parallelization, and others don't. If you have four bakers, when you need 4 cakes each can bake a cake at the same time. If you need 1 cake fast, it won't work to have one baker measure, the second mix, the third bake, and the fourth ice the cake at the same time. these must be done sequentially.

_________________
An idle processor is the devil's workshop.

Contribute to medical research by putting your idle processor to work on folding@home!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:22 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
Is it just me, or is FahMon abit inaccurate about the ETA on workunits? I know for a fact that my E6600@3Ghz will finish up a 1760 point SMP WU in about 26 hours, but FahMon is saying 4 days... (its using about 16 minutes/1%)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 497
Location: Linköping, Sweden
You can set what FahMon should base the ETA calculations on under Preferences -> Monitoring: All frames from project, last frame or last 3 frames. The next version will also have effective rate, which is % you are at now / time since you downloaded the WU, good for those who don't keep the computer on 24/7.

I'm not sure how it does the calculations, but it might take a few frames for it to find a good average.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:43 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
Cool, abit more sane numbers now :) (~1700PPD :D)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:32 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
o.O .. sup with me being 10th on "24hr average score" ? we need more people with kickass computers :)

My new E2140 will be operational tomorrow evening (CET) I think, then "operation overclock" and F@H ;)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 871
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Probably not easy, but might be doable with smp workunits. They result in 4 processes. In theory you ought to be able to send each process to a different machine. People do this kind of thing with clusters. You might look into setting up your machines as a Beowulf cluster. If you want to do it for fun or learning, great. Otherwise, I'd stick with 1 wu per machine.

On a more fundamental basis, some processes lend themselves to parallelization, and others don't. If you have four bakers, when you need 4 cakes each can bake a cake at the same time. If you need 1 cake fast, it won't work to have one baker measure, the second mix, the third bake, and the fourth ice the cake at the same time. these must be done sequentially.

Thanks for the response and sorry for my late one. :oops: I seriously don't remember getting an email about this....

Anyways, your theory makes sense. As for a Beowulf cluster, it looks 10x too advanced for me. :oops: I'm not too good with software.... I was hoping I could get more power out of combining the computers then having them operate alone. I think the points produced when working alone would be so low that it won't be worth the electricity. Great analogy btw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 6:07 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
Damn workstation, halv a WU wasted because it randomly locked up...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 4:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am
Posts: 105
Just wanted to stop by and wish everyone luck with their continued folding efforts. Some recent changes have forced me to shut down the folding farm so I will no longer be able to contribute points to the team/project. It's been a fun ride and I hope to be able to return again someday.

_________________
[size=75]P180B | Asus M4A785-M | BE-2350 @ 0.912V to 1.056V | Ninja | 4GB DDR2-800 | Morex 150W Brick | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD| 1x Scythe SFF21D + 1x Nexus 120mm | 29W Idle, 60W Max
[/size]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:09 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
I just wanted to express my appreciation of your efforts in folding for our little team here at SPCR. I'm sure I speak for all of us when I say that we are very grateful to have had you folding beside us, and hope that you will be able to return in the future, whether with a big farm or solo desktop.

We'll really miss your contribution! :cry:

Sincerely,
--KansaKilla


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 8:40 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7369
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Greetings,

vg30et wrote:
Just wanted to stop by and wish everyone luck with their continued folding efforts. Some recent changes have forced me to shut down the folding farm so I will no longer be able to contribute points to the team/project. It's been a fun ride and I hope to be able to return again someday.


As KansaKilla wrote -- thank you very much, and we definitely will miss your efforts, so come back as soon as you can! :D

As an aside, when Stanford posts a newer Beta of the Windows SMP client, can someone notify us, please?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:06 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
vg30et wrote:
Just wanted to stop by and wish everyone luck with their continued folding efforts. Some recent changes have forced me to shut down the folding farm so I will no longer be able to contribute points to the team/project. It's been a fun ride and I hope to be able to return again someday.


Sorry to see you go and thanks.

You know what to ask for for Christmas, right? 8)

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:28 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
Sorry to see you go, vg30et :(

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:01 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Image ... for your contributions. 8)

Don't become a stranger round these parts. :D


Regards
Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:44 am
Posts: 66
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Thanks! Come back soon and fold some more!

Avi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:44 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Hey VG slowed down some but he's still here, for now.



FGgumphas started folding again.

Welcome back FGump.

RUN FORREST RUN!

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:40 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
Just got a friend of mine to fold (SMP) with a Q6600 @ 2.7GHz for our team :D

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:07 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Wibla wrote:
Just got a friend of mine to fold (SMP) with a Q6600 @ 2.7GHz for our team :D

8) 8) 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:27 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
And here is my dedicated F@H rig..

Image
(Click on image for larger size)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 34
Location: Australia
ok i got intruiged.

I wonder what a Q6600@ 3.6GHz, that gets 14.4s in superpi would do to help? i can only do a few hours a day under windows, but i'll fire it up when i'm just watching anime :D

edit: the SMP beta refuses to start, error code "63 (99)"

edit 2: fixed that, forgot to run install.bat

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 (Thermalright U-120E)
Asus P5K-E Wifi
Antec P150 case
OCZ gameXstream 600W
ALbatron 8800GTX OC'd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:11 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
My friend with the Q6600 @2.7GHz does 1 WU / 16 hours (just under 10minutes/1%) .. yours will prolly be faster, do post the results tho :)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:38 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
If this continues, we're gonna drop like a lead block to the bottom .. seriously, when one guy with two dual core boxes are on the top, something is amiss :/

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 8:29 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7369
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello,

We are missing the big producers, but OTOH, the #20 producer is averaging almost 1,200PPD, whereas #20 used to be ~600PPD. :o In fact, the overall average (of the active Folders) is ~547PPD! This is better than TSC! Russia's team average of ~517PPD :twisted:

We will be better off getting more people to Fold, with single machines, I think.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
what exactly is SMP, and how do I get it?

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:02 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
djkest wrote:
what exactly is SMP, and how do I get it?

Hi djkest, the answers, or most of, can be found here: http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-SMP.html

Shorter answer, it's the folding client for multi core CPU's. Why bother? well on my XP2400+ single core I was pleased to get 100 PPD (points per day), on my current A64 4400+ I am averaging ~950PPD !!! (Mind you points awarded has changed a lot since I started in Dec 03, my first WU took a week to finish and was worth a whole 40, yes forty points. :shock: )

What OS are you using? Lots of forum help to be found either here or over at: http://forum.folding-community.org/forums.html


Regards
Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1624 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 55  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group