It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1665 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 56  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:28 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
ARGH!

I was 28 checkpoints into a WU. I installed BitDefender A/V product which promptly put up a firewall. I started FAH, which got a communication error instantly, so it turned around and tossed the WU into the garbage can.

Man, give me a chance to click ALLOW why don'tcha?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:02 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
man, that stinks. sorry to hear about it. i've given up on doing much except web surfing when folding, so i'm not doing much now with any of my boxes. lost a wu two nights ago when i tried to oc my latest processor, 38 wu's into it. i feel your pain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:42 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Yeah, 9 1/2 hours, POOF!, down the drain.

It was bad enough when I had to install Yahoo IM for my current college class, and I ended up with a flippin' Yahoo toolbar on every app and it's mother. I removed it and it asked me why? Bad move on their arrogant butts part. :x

Now I need to go flash some new BIOS on my Biostar T-Force 6100 so I can OC it some more. 8)

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7670
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello,

Well, I now have a C2D 6750 (at work) running the Windows SMP client, and it is flying... Here at home, I finally have the Windows SMP running, and it completed one WU, but then on the very beginning of the next one, it gets an I/O error -- and this machine runs the Linux SMP client much faster, anyway. So, back to Ubuntu! :P

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 119
Location: California
I just started folding... computer is always on, mind as well put it to good use.

_________________
3800 X2 w/Ninja, MSI K9A Plat., 3gb ram (for the time being), X1900GT w/HR-03, Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 550, 160gb HD Seagate, U4 Rack mountable case. See the wood case here: http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/vi ... 233#319233


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:52 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
Welcome to the red, Neil.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
I've put my SMP dually Tualatin 1.26GHz rig onto it, too. It's an easy choice with these old systems that don't do any dynamic clock adjustments -- doesn't really change the power draw according to my Kill-A-Watt.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:57 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
How many minutes per 1% on the dual tually?

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
Wibla wrote:
How many minutes per 1% on the dual tually?


Well, i dunno. I checked the system this morning and the console window said 7% completed. However, I remember that it was at 4% yesterday morning, so i checked the CPU load and it was 0%.

Weird.

I pushed "esc" in the console window and it closed. Then i clicked on FAH and it started up, said that the core shut down incorrectly, resumed from 7%...

If FAH is going to crap out with no notice every day, i'll just turn off the system when i'm not using it like i used to. Has anyone ever seen this happen before?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:48 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Well, youre gonna get problems hitting deadlines with a dual tualatin even without it crashing, so if you turn it off its gonna miss deadlines, then there's no real point in having it running at all...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:01 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Wow!

In just 4 months Vg30et made it to position 8 on the SPRC list and donated over 1 million points.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=251911

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
Wibla wrote:
Well, youre gonna get problems hitting deadlines with a dual tualatin even without it crashing, so if you turn it off its gonna miss deadlines, then there's no real point in having it running at all...


That was sort of my point: If this mature software product that lets me give the developers something can't handle itself without coddling, it has no place on my computer. What i wanted to know is if the crashing is unusual, or a documented problem with a known (easy) workaround.

If it's not something easily resolved, i'll just uninstall next time it happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: New SMP linux client:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:06 pm
Posts: 26
Today I had to shut down to do some wiring, and when I restartedit said the client was expired, so I downloaded the new one. I didn't know it now requires an option -smp if you want to run it as smp (sounds silly, but they are merging it into the regular client, so you can run it either regular or smp). It didn't like my partially done smp core, so it deleted it. A little later I ran ps, and only one fah process was doing anything (although there were 4 processes there). I went back and read the faq, then stopped my client and ran it with -smp
then it deleted the regular core and downloaded an smp core.

Be forewarned, use the -smp option when you start the new client, and don't lose the work you have done.

_________________
An idle processor is the devil's workshop.

Contribute to medical research by putting your idle processor to work on [email protected]!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:03 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Seattle
:?: :?:
Is this with windows?
I installed the new SMP client without losing any progress, and without using any new switches.
Where is some info on the -smp switch? I couldn't find it on the Stanford site.

_________________
Antec P180B | Corsair HX520 | Gigabyte DS3L | E8400 @ 3.6 GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800 | EVGA 8800GTS | 2x Samsung HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
A little follow up on my flaky client: it died again at 14%. Apparently every 7% it feels the need to bail out.

I will restart it each morning and night and see how things go. When that gets old, i guess i'll delete it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:42 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Seattle
You might as well delete it now, because you aren't going to make the deadlines. I wouldn't necessarily blame the client itself, since a lot of people use it without any issues. More likely it's a problem with SMP installation or an unstable system. Make sure you choose "no" to using IE settings and "yes" for big packets. For switches, use -advmethods and -forceasm. Please don't give up!

_________________
Antec P180B | Corsair HX520 | Gigabyte DS3L | E8400 @ 3.6 GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800 | EVGA 8800GTS | 2x Samsung HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:49 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I went through a brief stretch of bad ones a while back. Then it cleared up. Still a waste of time.

Expiration has come and gone and I am still running. Are betas good for 6 months and then every other time you need a new one?

Since it ain't broke I am not fixing it.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:44 am
Posts: 66
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
It only checks for expiration when you start the client.

It will refuse to run next time you restart it.

You can install the new version over the old one (if it asks you if you want to uninstall the old one say no) and it will only take you a few minutes.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 5:20 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
aristide1 wrote:
Wow!

In just 4 months Vg30et made it to position 8 on the SPRC list and donated over 1 million points.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=251911


without his contribution, we're going to drop in rank pretty dang fast.

_________________
[email protected]
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
Plissken wrote:
You might as well delete it now, because you aren't going to make the deadlines. I wouldn't necessarily blame the client itself, since a lot of people use it without any issues. More likely it's a problem with SMP installation or an unstable system. Make sure you choose "no" to using IE settings and "yes" for big packets. For switches, use -advmethods and -forceasm. Please don't give up!


How do i see when the WU expires?

I don't remember what i chose for settings when i installed (just took the defaults offered). How do i change those?

As for stability -- I've had the system for almost five years now and it's been the most stable system i've ever had (including the P2B based system before it). I never had trouble with SETI or any of the benchmark/stability checking programs.

The program has made it past the next 7% without dying after a reboot, so hopefully it will be ok now. At the reboot i upped the FSB to 142 so that it has more chance of finishing units on time, for a CPU clock of ~1.35 GHz.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:41 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
Flandry wrote:
Plissken wrote:

How do i see when the WU expires?


well, the client doesn't give you a date. The WU's expire after 4 days from starting them. So, if you start one, you've got 4 days to finish it. If you pause for too long, you might see "deadline for project XXX passed, deleting work"....that's what I've seen, although the SMP client never stops itself, and never deletes the work. So you have to do it manually. You have to delete both the work folder and the queue.dat file, then start the client again. Only the C2D's can get by with as much as 2 days interruption, but the X2's, and older need more time.

_________________
[email protected]
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:00 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Quote:
The WU's expire after 4 days from starting them.

I've seen that for SMPs, but my Pentium III used to take a week+ to finish a WU and I never got such a message, and the points counted as well.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 497
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Yeah it's SMP units that have such tight deadlines. My WUs (currently mostly from 2415-2430) have 30 days for the preferred deadline, and another 50 or so until I don't get points anymore. I think after the preferred deadline they send out the WU again to someone else.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:27 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Got new ram for my P182 rig today, Crucial BallistiX PC8500, so now im cruising at 3224MHz and doing 12-13minutes/checkpoint :)

Gonna put the old Geil Ultra PC6400 ram in the dedicated [email protected] box ([email protected]) and see how high I can push it, also gonna fit my old E6600 stock cooler on it, as it has a copper base (the cheaper boxed coolers are all-alu)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
floffe wrote:
Yeah it's SMP units that have such tight deadlines. My WUs (currently mostly from 2415-2430) have 30 days for the preferred deadline, and another 50 or so until I don't get points anymore. I think after the preferred deadline they send out the WU again to someone else.


Well, that sucks. How well would it work to run two copies of the normal client?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 5:41 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Seattle
Flandry wrote:
Well, that sucks. How well would it work to run two copies of the normal client?

If you can run SMP, you'll get about 2X (or more) points per day than 2 normal clients combined. So it's worth it to get the SMP client running if you have multicore CPU. To answer your earlier question about changing settings, add the -config switch in the command line IIRC.

_________________
Antec P180B | Corsair HX520 | Gigabyte DS3L | E8400 @ 3.6 GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800 | EVGA 8800GTS | 2x Samsung HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 84
Location: IHTFP, MA
Thanks for all your help. As i was warned, the WU expired before it was nearly finished. I did find out that there is a text file in the directory that gives the expiration date.

Anyway, i uninstalled and deleted the directory to get it to stop working on the already expired WU and reinstalled. I got it going on a new WU and it just stopped doing anything when it got to 6% this time.

It's gone, now. SETI doesn't expect the user to jump through hoops or throw away days of crunching because of the developers' ineptitude -- they'll get my cycles.

Good crunching to you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:04 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Wibla wrote:
Got new ram for my P182 rig today, Crucial BallistiX PC8500, so now im cruising at 3224MHz and doing 12-13minutes/checkpoint :)

Gonna put the old Geil Ultra PC6400 ram in the dedicated [email protected] box ([email protected]) and see how high I can push it, also gonna fit my old E6600 stock cooler on it, as it has a copper base (the cheaper boxed coolers are all-alu)


Do you increase your northbridge cooling?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:55 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
No, not yet.. seems i have some small stability issues at 3.24GHz, but gonna see what I can do about it.. dont really care tho, might just put it back at 3.1GHz as then i know its stable even at near stock voltages...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:35 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
ARGH! Again!

If my some reason you find yourself doing updates or hardware changes with requires you to unplug your pc may I strongly suggest that you find a way to remind yourself not to restart FAH if your LAN or DSL connection is not reconnected. FAH, with it's great programming, will instantly flush your WU down the drain, and then tell you it can't retrieve another one.
Another 60% of a 1760 pointer down the drain.

DUH!

Don't worry Wibla, I am not going to make a big deal about it over at Stanford.edu. Though I did find Voodoo rather humerous, because my objections came not as a programmer, but as a user of FAH who happens to have a programming background. And even then, my suggestions where based on what I could see was already being done in their code.

Meanwhile the losses will continue to mount.

Take a look at this guy's chart:
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=186535
Here's a very serious contributor with an 8 day outage. Should we ask why?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1665 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 56  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group