It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: We just got to 200! - 174 only 2 days later!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 241
Very impressive indeed for such a brand new team. Now, I've been wondering how come there are no more new folders coming on-board?
I bet there are whole section of people who just aren't aware of it.... We gotta convert them into it... (frankly I think majority of people in this forum are interested in silence for 24x7 operation anyway which they are using max 50% of time)

_________________
Lian-Li, P4 2.40GHz@3.6ghz, 9700 Pro @420/351, GEIL PC3700 DDR, IBM 180GXP, Antec Truepower 550 fan modded. Peltier heater in room.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:18 am
Posts: 332
YES! How long has it been? One month? Hey, we are ripping through without a sound! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
i just wish i knew about it earlier :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 2:37 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
Waddaya mean no new members? I just contributed my first WU. 8)

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 7:16 pm
Posts: 174
Location: Mobile, AL
same here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 3:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11847
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
194 now, a half day later. That's pretty good! 100 by May 1? You think that's doable??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
I just talked to my buddy about F@H and he was okay with me putting it on his computer, so here's 2.4 Ghz of folding comin' atcha!

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: And we've got 39 members, now
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 5:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7369
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

We've got 39 members now, and I'm sure that others will (or have) start folding after they read this thread! There is strength in numbers...

Currently sitting 7th on the team! 8)

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 5:26 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
I'm estimating we'll break 100 in mid-May, unless we add several new folders.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 2:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11847
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
189 less than 48 hrs after 200! Looks like we MIGHT hit 100 by monhs end; just 5-10 more people would gurantee this!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11847
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Wow, a couple hours later, we're at 184. :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
I think Mike's excited!

Expect my first WU by midnight MST.

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:06 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Posts: 399
Location: San Diego, CA
I'm on my first WU, but it is out of 500! I guess that is not normal? Does the system just randomly give you your next computation?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:32 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA
I've done WU from 100-400 frames, though I've heard it goes as high as 600. AFAIK the system gives you your next WU randomly unless you run the F@H client with certain command line settings.

Happy folding!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11847
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
wussboy wrote:
I think Mike's excited!
Expect my first WU by midnight MST.

One suddenly gains a sense of passing others in a race as the hill winds up and the pack slows down, seeing those ahead only as posts to mark one's progress by. Amazing what a little competition can do! :o :roll: :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:16 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Posts: 399
Location: San Diego, CA
I will need to get a router so I can connect my other computers I guess. And hopefully I'll have my custom quiet boxes soon (once I get them designed).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
178! :mrgreen:

i've been getting 500 frame work units too. my p4 seems to be crunching right through it. the two i've gotten so far are gromac's core.

Code:
[09:32:31] Working on Unit 06 [April 12 09:32:31]
[09:32:31] + Working ...
[09:32:32]
[09:32:32] *------------------------------*
[09:32:32] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[09:32:32] Version 1.43 (March 4, 2003)
[09:32:32]
[09:32:32] Preparing to commence simulation
[09:32:32] - Looking at optimizations...
[09:32:32] - Created dyn
[09:32:32] - Files status OK
[09:32:32] - Expanded 351658 -> 1760993 (decompressed 500.7 percent)
[09:32:32] - Starting from initial work packet
[09:32:32]
[09:32:32] Project: 542 (Run 36, Clone 98, Gen 6)
[09:32:32]
[09:32:32] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[09:32:32] Entering M.D.
[09:32:39] Protein: p542_BBA5_N in water
[09:32:39]
[09:32:39] Writing local files
[09:32:41] Writing local files
[09:32:41] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps  (0)
[09:43:36] Writing local files
[09:43:36] Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps  (1)


it started working on my 6th WU at 9:32 this morning. its now 12:22. and this is what i've come to:

Code:
Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: p542_BBA5_N in water
Download time: April 12 09:32:31
Due time: May 22 09:32:31
Progress: 43%  [||||______]


i love gromacs. :D

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
um.. on second thought, i think my time's screwed up (in the log files):

Code:
[16:15:26] Writing local files
[16:15:26] Completed 215000 out of 500000 steps  (43)
[16:24:10] Writing local files
[16:24:10] Completed 220000 out of 500000 steps  (44)
[16:32:57] Writing local files
[16:32:57] Completed 225000 out of 500000 steps  (45)


it was 12:22pm when i was at 43%... not 4:15pm. :?:

owz, i still love gromacs :P

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Different work units & our team's progress
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 10:58 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7369
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

There are two main types of work clients: Genome@Home and Folding @Home, and within those there a couple of different styles. I don't know how to tell which is which, but I've seen at least 3 different styles and then one of these has about 3 different "sizes". That I've run into so far...

Our team now stands at 40 members and we are #174! Keep 'em coming! :D

[Edit: We're at #170 with 41 members!]

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Last edited by NeilBlanchard on Sat Apr 12, 2003 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:05 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Posts: 399
Location: San Diego, CA
I'm not sure if this is right. I finished 1 WU with the graphical version. I stopped it after it started the second WU and then installed the console version. Am I supposed to do anything special like uninstall the graphical version?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:07 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Posts: 399
Location: San Diego, CA
I'm not sure if this is right. I finished 1 WU with the graphical version. I stopped it after it started the second WU and then installed the console version. Am I supposed to do anything special like uninstall the graphical version?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 241
The steps usually don't have much bearing with how big the work unit is. (or how much score you get). In fact, smaller step ones tend to be more demanding vs those with 600 steps.
It just depends on work units... There is stats page where you can look at what work units are available etc @ standford.

_________________
Lian-Li, P4 2.40GHz@3.6ghz, 9700 Pro @420/351, GEIL PC3700 DDR, IBM 180GXP, Antec Truepower 550 fan modded. Peltier heater in room.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:26 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Nope, as long as it sent the first unit you'll be fine. The second unit that the graphical client downloaded will just eventually expire.

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 241
fmah wrote:
I'm not sure if this is right. I finished 1 WU with the graphical version. I stopped it after it started the second WU and then installed the console version. Am I supposed to do anything special like uninstall the graphical version?


Don't have to. However, the work unit doesn't just transfer over. Different clients are like different machines altogether as fart as FAH is involeved.

_________________
Lian-Li, P4 2.40GHz@3.6ghz, 9700 Pro @420/351, GEIL PC3700 DDR, IBM 180GXP, Antec Truepower 550 fan modded. Peltier heater in room.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:28 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
heeheehee, he said "fart", heeheehee :wink:

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 12:09 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 8:01 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Washington, DC
I'm onboard. Its cool that it still runs while the screensaver isn't on!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 12:26 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
:arrow: Btw, I read on the forums on the FAH website that Genome@Home points don't go to your Folding@Home team, so make sure you got your clienttype set to folding only. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 1:21 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Posts: 399
Location: San Diego, CA
Another question, working on second WU, but if I exit the console do it just keep track of where it is when I restart it? Since I don't know console commands.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 1:23 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Yes fmah, it'll remember where it left off. You'll have to redo whatever frame it's currently working on, but that's all.

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 1:31 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Wrah wrote:
:arrow: Btw, I read on the forums on the FAH website that Genome@Home points don't go to your Folding@Home team, so make sure you got your clienttype set to folding only. :)


Actually Wrah that's not quite true. If you're on a G@H team then you won't get credit for F@H units. But if you're on a F@H team (which is what SPRC is) you will get credit for G@H units. It's alittle confusing. It all stems from when they were two separate organizations.

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group