It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Folding Death!
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2003 6:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
Radeonman wrote:
Other than that, this is just fricin' weird.


you got that right.

my main hdd is a seagate barracuda IV 40gb. the other one is a western digital 120gb (2mb 7200rpm). both have been on 24/7 since i got them. its about a year for the seagate, and about ten months for the WD.

i play a lot of command and conquer, and watch tv on my computer. the digital vcr i have, always takes about 40-50% of cpu usage. i turn on kazaa only when i'm not browsing, i'm on a 128k line, so i need all the bandwidth i can get while browsing. but my p4 can handle the game, kazaa, f@h, my im programs, winamp, and a few other things... all at once. it doesn't even hiccup. i'm happy :D

also, i reboot every couple days, but the computer's never off for more than a minute in a week. the reboot is for windows xp... it kinda gets stale and lazy.

what's your system's spec's?

i've also noticed that winamp considerably slowed down the graphical client, but it hardly affects the command line version.

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2003 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
'Delta Force: Black Hawk Down' is nice. :D

i use the MAD plugin for winamp.

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Folding Death!
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 2:08 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
Radeonman wrote:
the computer will hard-reboot.
I had this on 2 of my systems when running the graphical client whenever I tried to display the protein: could never suss where the problem was but suspected clash with either MBM, my virus checker, ZoneAlarm or similar. Since swapping to console version + Electron Microscope have avoided that problem.

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Folding Death!
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:06 am
Posts: 2
Radeonman wrote:
With the visit this past weekend of "she-who-isn't-silence-giddy" (she lives out of town), the box got some good quiet time to itself to fold. If it I let it fold by itself, everything is well.

Sometimes after I get home after a day of letting it fold by itself, or fold by itself and let dc++ take some cycles to download some anime, I often like to fire up Half-Life. Sometimes I forget to turn off folding (and dc) before kicking this up. If I don't kill HL before it starts loading the map, the hard drive will literally spin down (like it died a cruel death) and the computer will hard-reboot. This happens on both a WD 80 gig SE and my new Cuda V.

So be careful with folding, it doesn't always play nice. The only thing I could think of that would possible save me is another 256 of ram (I only have 256). Other than that, this is just fricin' weird.



tbh, sounds like it could be a power problem. Especially as you said the HD spins down (and you established it wasn't faulty). If you think about it 100% CPU then booting up a game which will draw a lot more power for the GFx card and HD (particularly when loading), this could overwhelm a 300W PSU. Worth checking out I reckon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 241
I would check PSU first as well. Be careful, you could be losing data in no time.

_________________
Lian-Li, P4 2.40GHz@3.6ghz, 9700 Pro @420/351, GEIL PC3700 DDR, IBM 180GXP, Antec Truepower 550 fan modded. Peltier heater in room.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 2:11 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 4:37 am
Posts: 1310
Location: Finland
AFAIK the PSU's rated output will drop as the temp inside the PSU rises. Try to remove the mods from your PSU fan and see if it helps.

Cheers,

Jan

_________________
E6600 (2GHz@1,163V, 3GHz@1,237V), Ninja rev. B, AB9 Pro, 4x1 GB Corsair (CM2X1024-6400), MSI 7600GS, Samsung HD501LJ/HD401LJ/SP2504C, Plextor PX760SA, Seasonic S12-430, Nexus Fans, Antec Solo, ViewSonic VP201b


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group