It is currently Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dare To Compare
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:06 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=603
An article on cpus with same speed but different cache and FSBs.


http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu_2007.html
On Toms Hardware you can go to the cpu page and compare an AMD 5200+ Windsor with a 5000+ Brisbane. Both processors run at 2.6 MHz stock, but the Windsor has 2*1MB of L2 cache, while Brisbane has 2*512K of L2 cache. Then check the PC mark and Sis Sandra tests. You can also compare an E4xxx Intel at 1.8GHz with an E4xxx also at 1.8GHz, the only difference there is 1MB total versus 2MB total cache.


http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=636
This article shows that quad Penryns use a little less power than a comparable E6xx series, which is nice because you pick up 2 more processors for no power increase. But both get a little hungry when pushed passed 3.2 GHz.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
It's interesting the Windsor @2.6 GHz and 512 cache is still faster than the brisbane. But in any case, the difference in 1MB cache vs. 512 cache appears to be 1%... and that is with the different core also. The windsor is also using more power.


Hmmm... no difference w/ intel?

Then again, this is Tom's Hardware. These guys have been caught cheating at least once, so I'm not sure how much I trust them.

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
djkest wrote:
It's interesting the Windsor @2.6 GHz and 512 cache is still faster than the brisbane. But in any case, the difference in 1MB cache vs. 512 cache appears to be 1%... and that is with the different core also. The windsor is also using more power.

I believe this matches what the AMD engineers said when they were asked why only 512K cache? Doubling it didn't bring huge increases in anything except cost.

djkest wrote:
Hmmm... no difference w/ intel?

There are more than a few who will tell you flat out the E21xx feel slow. Sure they OC like crazy, but they have a lot to make up for.

djkest wrote:
Then again, this is Tom's Hardware. These guys have been caught cheating at least once, so I'm not sure how much I trust them.

Not sure what specifically you are referring to. I doubt they would be the first either. One thing is certain, they often review things like motherboards and make a huge deal about incredibly small differences in performance.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
What I'm referring to is when the Athlon first came out Tom's was busted for rigging tests to make the AMD CPUs CATCH ON FIRE, then smearing AMD over it(they posted a video), until the truth came out. It was proven that they had disabled some sort of thermal protection or put something flammable on the CPU, I can't remember which. There have been a few other cases, but I can't recall them off the top of my head.

I started folding on T5450 2x 1.66GHz and it's a little slower than I thought it would be.. but oh well. It's still faster per clock cycle than the brisbane next to it.

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:28 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
djkest wrote:
What I'm referring to is when the Athlon first came out Tom's was busted for rigging tests to make the AMD CPUs CATCH ON FIRE, then smearing AMD over it(they posted a video), until the truth came out. It was proven that they had disabled some sort of thermal protection or put something flammable on the CPU, I can't remember which. There have been a few other cases, but I can't recall them off the top of my head.

That's just ridiculous. Frankly AMD should have sued. I only use TH for the PC Mark and SIS Sandra results, stuff that anybody could spot as fraudulent in a heartbeat.

djkest wrote:
I started folding on T5450 2x 1.66GHz and it's a little slower than I thought it would be.. but oh well. It's still faster per clock cycle than the brisbane next to it.

Hmmm, I'm going to ask you to be more specific again. You're telling me your Black Edition takes longer per checkpoint than your T5450?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
No no... sorry. I'll give you a breakdown. These are all on the same types of work units (the 500 pointers)... console client. I need to get SMP up and running again.

T5450 @ 1.66GHz C2D, 2GB DDR2 667.... 34.8 min
5000+ @ 3.0 GHz bris, 2GB DDR2 800 ... 25.5 min

and now...
E8400 @ 3.3GHz, C2D, 2GB DDR2 800 ... 16.7 min

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:28 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
djkest wrote:
No no... sorry. I'll give you a breakdown. These are all on the same types of work units (the 500 pointers)... console client. I need to get SMP up and running again.

T5450 @ 1.66GHz C2D, 2GB DDR2 667.... 34.8 min
5000+ @ 3.0 GHz bris, 2GB DDR2 800 ... 25.5 min

and now...
E8400 @ 3.3GHz, C2D, 2GB DDR2 800 ... 16.7 min


OK, but I don't think that if you doubled the speed of your T5450 you would decrease the time of eack checkpoint by half.

The E8400 is impressive for non-SMP points.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
I had to quit the SMP client because I kept getting these monster work units. I'd crunch on them 3 days, get to about 85%, and then the deadline would pass and the whole 3 days was wasted. So I'm doing the command line client again, for now.

What I really need is 1) get rock stable cooling/ configuration for my new setup maximizing CPU speed 2) figure out what the heck kind of SMP settings I should be using, cause whatever I had before wasn't really working out for me.

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
djkest wrote:
I had to quit the SMP client because I kept getting these monster work units. I'd crunch on them 3 days, get to about 85%, and then the deadline would pass and the whole 3 days was wasted. So I'm doing the command line client again, for now.

What I really need is 1) get rock stable cooling/ configuration for my new setup maximizing CPU speed 2) figure out what the heck kind of SMP settings I should be using, cause whatever I had before wasn't really working out for me.


Their should be some way to avoid those 2530 pointers. Some option in the advanced options that you need to say yet to access. Have you tried asking on the FAH forums????

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
I'm not even sure how this compares, but this is a PMD core.... this thing is ripping through the checkpoints at 3.80 GHz... 8.5 min per checkpoint. This has got to be one of those crappy 300 pointers... and yeah, this thing is running only 50%. My tests with 1 hour of Prime 95 25.5 shows it should be stable once I start up the SMP client.


Image

The new 45nm quads are gonna be sick.

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:37 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
1.264 volts. Ain't that a lot?

Where did you get it? I won't ask what you paid for it. :shock:

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 759
Location: Colorado, USA
$189.99 at a "local" store called Micro Center. I had to drive 70 miles each way to get it. Total trip took about 3 hours.

Stock voltage is 1.225V .. which shows up as 1.15V at the motherboard. I think I've seen people running like... 1.4V with these already.. seems like a lot.

Unfortunately at 3.8GHz it crashed after folding for 4 hours... yay... it was prime stable for an hour, I thought that was good enough. So I bumped it down to 3.6Ghz for a little while.

_________________
Gaming HTPC: Antec NSK-2480/ Antec EW430 Bronze/ i5-2400/ MSI H67/ Ninja-Mini/ 4GB DDR3/ 500GB WD Sata 3.0/ XFX HD6850/ Windows 7 x64/ Toshiba 46" 1080p LED/LCD TV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:19 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
djkest wrote:
$189.99 at a "local" store called Micro Center. I had to drive 70 miles each way to get it. Total trip took about 3 hours..

You drove 3 hours to get one? You're serious about this. :shock:

djkest wrote:
Unfortunately at 3.8GHz it crashed after folding for 4 hours... yay... it was prime stable for an hour, I thought that was good enough. So I bumped it down to 3.6Ghz for a little while.

"Round" errors in Prime 95 can produce invalid results in folding, according to the documentation that comes with Prime 95. While my one system seemed stable I ran Prime 95 and it got a rounding error after eight hours. A small increase in the NB voltage and the system passed 24 hours of Prime 95.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group