It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:00 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7380
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

I just noticed the (high tech!) banner ad on the F@H pages -- they are coming out with a new core program on Monday, May 19th. No info other than that.

BTW, we now have 104 members (only about 75 or so are actively contributing, though!) and we have hit a "steeper slope" now that we are at #74! I think eventually, we will get to the mid-40's or maybe into the 30's -- unless we get more active members! Hint, hint, nudge, nudge, wink, wink -- say no moaaH! :P

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:16 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4251
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Quote:
we have hit a "steeper slope" now that we are at #74!


That was bound to happen as we raced past small groups and some not trying as hard as the people here.

I don't know when this group was formed, but others may have years leads on us, they would be almost impossible to catch.

I found it interesting how high we rank with so few WU. Are they giving us all the hard stuff?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:19 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
They've also taken the familiar 54x and 53x gromacs projects off the project summary page (except 543). I noticed that cause I received a gromacs wu with a project# I never had before. Went to check how much points I would get for it and saw they only have 4 gromacs projects now, 1 33-pointer (the old 543), 1 38-pointer and 2 53-pointers. (no more 537, yay!)
I don't think there's gonna be a tinker or gromacs core anymore after the 19th, but just one new core. The current gromacs core was actually a test version I believe, meant to replace tinker.

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
So what does this mean? Do I have to download something?

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 11:40 am
Posts: 231
Location: seattle, wa
Your console application will automatically download a new core if it needs one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:57 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
SPOILER WARNING !!!!!!!


If you don't want to get the surprise spoiled, dont read this!!!!


Here's the link to the flash teaser , BTW

http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/5.19.03/5.19.03.html

SPOILER WARNING !!!!!!!




-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-


















I screenshot the "dribbling code" from the flash movie. I am reading stuff in there about a gromacs 348 SSE2 core. I would surmise that they have optimized a new gromacs core for the P4 SSE2 instructions.



Sorry for the long post.

-Mike Russo

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:08 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
Damn, you spoiled it now for all of us. I hope you're happy now.




;)

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
miker wrote:
SPOILER WARNING !!!!!!!


If you don't want to get the surprise spoiled, dont read this!!!!


Here's the link to the flash teaser , BTW

http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/5.19.03/5.19.03.html

SPOILER WARNING !!!!!!!


LOL! Nice one.

I hope it has stable support for 3DNow!/SSE support for AthlonXPs now.

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:27 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
That flash is hilarious. Totally over the top for an isoteric geek-friendly niche.

I loved it. Speaking of "it", has anyone gone to see it yet?

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
Rusty075 wrote:
That flash is hilarious. Totally over the top for an isoteric geek-friendly niche.

I loved it. Speaking of "it", has anyone gone to see it yet?


No, and acutually I dont plan to. It looks like a replay of the first one, tons of fighting with some sex put in.

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 11:40 am
Posts: 231
Location: seattle, wa
They might get their Intel funding back if they can implement some of the Intel SSE2 code to show a dramatic speed increase.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
herosformula wrote:
They might get their Intel funding back if they can implement some of the Intel SSE2 code to show a dramatic speed increase.


Does anyone know if they will implement x86-64/SSE2 for the Athlon64/Opteron sometime? That would be sweet.

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:12 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
They've been completely silent on this topic. Anything so far we know is basically conjecture. I sure hope they do though. The SSE2 will help me a lot, since all my hijacked PC's at work are 2.0Ghz P4's :twisted:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
miker wrote:
They've been completely silent on this topic. Anything so far we know is basically conjecture. I sure hope they do though. The SSE2 will help me a lot, since all my hijacked PC's at work are 2.0Ghz P4's :twisted:


I see, recruiting for the cause. :twisted: Hope you have permission! :roll:

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:32 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA
How about "enlisted" instead of "hijacked"? :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
DaShiv wrote:
How about "enlisted" instead of "hijacked"? :)


LOL! I would acutually do that at work too except I cant figure how to get the "FAH" icon out of the system tray. Plus im not too sure 733Mhz P3s could complete a unit in the specified time. :lol:

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 10:00 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
I have admin rights so I just install Firedaemon and use the console version as a Win2000 service. You can't really tell FAH is running unless you check the task manager. I do have tacit approval to use non-essential PC's, BTW ;)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 10:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
miker wrote:
I have admin rights so I just install Firedaemon and use the console version as a Win2000 service. You can't really tell FAH is running unless you check the task manager. I do have tacit approval to use non-essential PC's, BTW ;)


Cool! That is a really neat utility, I'll see if I can do that. However, is there a Windows 9x version? Most of the computers at work are Windows98.

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
miker wrote:
I have admin rights so I just install Firedaemon and use the console version as a Win2000 service. You can't really tell FAH is running unless you check the task manager. I do have tacit approval to use non-essential PC's, BTW ;)


Cool! That is a really neat utility, I'll see if I can do that. However, is there a Windows 9x version? Most of the computers at work are Windows98.

_________________
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 10:59 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
I would think you have to have WinNT, Win2000, or WinXP to use it, as Win95/98/ME didn't really have services.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 11:44 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
AtomicDude512 wrote:
However, is there a Windows 9x version? Most of the computers at work are Windows98.
You can set up Electron Microscope with the console version: then you can get Electron Microscope to hide the DOS window the console runs in, then you can set Electron Microscope to hide itself.

Note, Atomic, it is against the Stanford licence to run on a machine you dont have permission for.

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:22 pm
Posts: 208
Location: The Netherlands
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Hello:

I just noticed the (high tech!) banner ad on the F@H pages -- they are coming out with a new core program on Monday, May 19th. No info other than that.


I'll feed you some more info, (Just to tease you :twisted: ) :

A 24% performance increase, without the penalty of higher CPU temps.

I'm running the Beta-release now.
Chris will know where to look for info :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Han.

_________________
MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R
AMD64 3000+ with ducted Zalman 7000A CU, 2 Panaflo L1A fans in tandem @ 6 volts
NVidia 5200
AOpen 350 Watts PSU (AO350-12APFN) modded with 'Nexus real silent' 120mm fan (1000 RPM max)
1 Samsung 1614N + 2x Samsung 1614C
1 'Nexus real silent' 120mm casefan (front) @ 6 volts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7380
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello Han:

SpyderCat wrote:
A 24% performance increase, without the penalty of higher CPU temps.


Great -- is that with an Athlon or a P4 or both?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:22 pm
Posts: 208
Location: The Netherlands
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Great -- is that with an Athlon or a P4 or both?


That's on my Athlon Thoroughbred(B), 2400+ running @ 13*166

Han

_________________
MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R
AMD64 3000+ with ducted Zalman 7000A CU, 2 Panaflo L1A fans in tandem @ 6 volts
NVidia 5200
AOpen 350 Watts PSU (AO350-12APFN) modded with 'Nexus real silent' 120mm fan (1000 RPM max)
1 Samsung 1614N + 2x Samsung 1614C
1 'Nexus real silent' 120mm casefan (front) @ 6 volts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 3:12 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
SpyderCat wrote:
A 24% performance increase, without the penalty of higher CPU temps.

I'm running the Beta-release now.
Chris will know where to look for info :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
OK - I saw my name.

The linkage is here. In theory you download the 3.25 beta client, delete your core.exe, and restart (ensuring -forceasm). I did this and am completely underwhelmed. My prior 10 frames averaged 10 minutes 40 seconds (project 340), I've got the "Extra SSE boost OK" message and suspect I am actually running slower. I have a 10 min 30 sec frame, 11 min 53 and 12 min 33 so far :?

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Folding@Home core on Monday the 19th
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:22 pm
Posts: 208
Location: The Netherlands
dukla2000 wrote:
In theory you download the 3.25 beta client, delete your core.exe, and restart (ensuring -forceasm). I did this and am completely underwhelmed. My prior 10 frames averaged 10 minutes 40 seconds (project 340), I've got the "Extra SSE boost OK" message and suspect I am actually running slower. I have a 10 min 30 sec frame, 11 min 53 and 12 min 33 so far :?


Strange, :shock: especially as we have almost the same setup.
Don't you use the "-advmethods" switch?
What kind of memory do you use? I've one stick of 256MB PC2700 @ 333 MHz.

I did notice that after my WU finished, I got a Gromac of the same family (p341 - 53.3 points worth), and the log didn't show the "Extra SSE boost OK" message again.
Stopped the service, started the service again, and PRESTO: there was the "Extra SSE boost OK" message again. :lol:

Here some lines from my log-files before, and after the change:

Before:

[03:45:31] Protein: p341_gnra_den
[03:45:31]
[03:45:31] Writing local files
[03:46:07] Extra 3DNow boost OK.
[03:46:07] Writing local files
[03:46:07] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps (0)
[03:58:13] Writing local files
[03:58:13] Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps (1)
[04:10:19] Writing local files
[04:10:19] Completed 10000 out of 500000 steps (2)

After:

[23:03:17] Protein: p341_gnra_den
[23:03:17]
[23:03:17] Writing local files
[23:03:54] Extra SSE boost OK.
[23:03:54] Writing local files
[23:03:54] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps (0)
[23:13:48] Writing local files
[23:13:48] Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps (1)
[23:23:52] Writing local files
[23:23:52] Completed 10000 out of 500000 steps (2)

Perhaps it only works for "people really dedicated to the cause" :lol:

Regards, Han.

_________________
MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R
AMD64 3000+ with ducted Zalman 7000A CU, 2 Panaflo L1A fans in tandem @ 6 volts
NVidia 5200
AOpen 350 Watts PSU (AO350-12APFN) modded with 'Nexus real silent' 120mm fan (1000 RPM max)
1 Samsung 1614N + 2x Samsung 1614C
1 'Nexus real silent' 120mm casefan (front) @ 6 volts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 4:47 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
Mine looks so poor I am tempted to roll back. It could be cause I am more overclocked than you (I started w XP2100, you started w XP2400) and there are rumours about "some Tbred Bs". My memory is Crucial PC2100 - obviously well out of spec @ 166 but the whole lot passes Prime for 24 hours, as well as GoldMemory tests.

Before
Folding@home Client Version 3.24
...
Arguments: -local -advmethods -forceasm
...
[13:29:11] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[13:29:11] Version 1.45 (April 21, 2003)
...
[13:29:11] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
...
[13:29:12] Project: 340 (Run 0, Clone 0, Gen 10)
[13:29:12]
[13:29:12] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[13:29:12] Entering M.D.
[13:29:32] (Starting from checkpoint)
[13:29:32] Protein: p340_gnra_nat
[13:29:32]
[13:29:32] Writing local files
[13:30:10] Completed 160000 out of 500000 steps (32)
[13:40:46] Writing local files
[13:40:46] Completed 165000 out of 500000 steps (33)
[13:51:28] Writing local files
[13:51:28] Completed 170000 out of 500000 steps (34)
[14:02:01] Writing local files
[14:02:01] Completed 175000 out of 500000 steps (35)
[14:12:19] Writing local files
[14:12:19] Completed 180000 out of 500000 steps (36)
[14:22:38] Writing local files
[14:22:38] Completed 185000 out of 500000 steps (37)


After
Folding@home Client Version 3.25
...
Arguments: -local -advmethods -forceasm
....
[00:06:11] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[00:06:11] Version 1.48 (May 7, 2003)
...
[00:06:11] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
...
[00:06:12] Project: 340 (Run 0, Clone 0, Gen 10)
[00:06:12]
[00:06:12] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[00:06:12] Entering M.D.
[00:06:32] (Starting from checkpoint)
[00:06:32] Protein: p340_gnra_nat
[00:06:32]
[00:06:32] Writing local files
[00:07:09] Completed 450000 out of 500000 steps (90)
[00:07:09] Extra SSE boost OK.
[00:18:24] Writing local files
[00:18:24] Completed 455000 out of 500000 steps (91)
[00:29:25] Writing local files
[00:29:25] Completed 460000 out of 500000 steps (92)
[00:40:14] Writing local files
[00:40:14] Completed 465000 out of 500000 steps (93)

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:31 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
I saw matrix reloaded, its great :)

And the opteron has SSE2. One guy claimed it was bugged, but most reviews seem to suggest otherwise, with excellent performance.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group