It is currently Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:15 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Folding Farm: Do you need a seperate PSU for every mobo?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
Just wondering. Is there some way to use a PSU for more than one board? Even if it wasn't a regular computer PSU? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:36 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
No way.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:39 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
I think that one 300 watt PSU should be able to handle two mobos if you had a Y mobo connector, please tell me if you find one. I think even the 180 watt ones I'm gonna get would do the trick; but again, you'd need a Y connector. The two 180 watt fortons will cost my $40, 1 300 watt would be $27 so there clearly is room here to save money, but I don't think its worth the trouble; I'm just gonna settle on SFF low power PSUs that hopefully are quiet....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 10:23 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
You may be in with a chance but you will need to do some non-standard work.

On the 1 hand get a Y splitter. But you will need to make special provision for the PS-ON and PWR-OK lines (i.e. things may get confused it you double them up/split them. You may need a separate little switch box to manage them - off hand I cant remember the purpose of PWR-OK).

The other problem is you should really ensure the psu VCore source is not split from a single original wire(s). Assuming we are talking Athlons, then most likely the mobo derives VCore from +5V. Rather than splitting the four +5V wires, you should really get 4 new ones from the psu pcb. While you are at it you should probably get fresh COMs from the psu pcb ...

At which stage you get my vote for some cheapo psus :(

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 10:43 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
PWR_ON is what the Mobo uses to turn on the PSU, PWR_OK is from the PSU saying the voltages are okay to run, so if any voltage rails get too far off the system can be shut down (such as when I short out the 12v rail......)

I don't think having two mobos there would confuse it, but I don't know.

Like dukla said, I think the best bet is two cheap PSUs, like the 180 watt ones I'm going to get; it may not be the most effecient plan, but it's easier...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 12:56 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
You may find this link usefull : Two Motherboards, One Power Supply

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 1:01 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
Color me corrected.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:00 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
not bad; there's just one problem: the three power connectors cost $15; buying one 300 watt versus two 180s is $13.

Also, he's wrong when he states the importance of getting the wires right; just get all the same colors matching and it should work just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:50 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
I guess its a toss up between a dodgy Y-cable and cheapo psus.

I would still feel more comfortable using some extra +5V and COM wires from the psu pcb (re-use from the AUX connector). The ATX spec for the 20 pin connector is 6A per pin. With four +5V that is 120W, and I figure 2 Athlon mobos can get close to that. Then again, with a half decent psu to start with hopefully the first connector in the chain can handle more than 6A per pin?

In fact a better (?) version of that Y-cable would be to trash BOTH female plugs from the new extensions, as well as the male from the psu, and solder it all directly thus eliminating resistance inherant in the plug pin connections.

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
Thanks guys. Good links and good advice. I've been thinking about starting a little farm. Gimme a couple months, though.

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group