It is currently Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:32 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: ah but for 2....
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Yes, but the rebate is only good for 1 card, so if you want to get two cards, it's 180 + 150 = 330, but I think the code will apply for 2 cards, so that's 2 * 130 = 260. So definitely cheaper in bulk!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:26 am
Posts: 86
Location: Eastern USA
Good point, I didn't consider it from the multiple cards perspective.

Are you planning to put both cards into one case? That's a lot of heat being produced by the two cards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: should be ok...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Well, the motherboard is in a cm cosmos, and I've filled out all the fan mounts in it, so there should be plenty of circulation. I have a mugen 2 on the cpu, a q9400, and that hasn't gotten anywhere near overheating. So, not too worried about it. But I don't know, I go back and forth, I'd kind of rather have gtx 275s, they're more compatible with ION boards, but these 260s are just so cheap! Think I'll see if any earth shattering rebates show up tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:00 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I'm still trying to update the BIOS on my MSI quad board. I've never seen a board with such immature and untested BIOS. On top of that, I got home, there was a power interruption while I was gone. The PC was not only stopped, but when I booted it all the config settings for GPU folding were gone. I set them and the thing tells me CUDART.DLL is missing (these cards were already working) and the last card has the wrong drivers, even though it has the same drivers as the other 2 cards.

Now I'm having fun trying to make a bootable Vista CD.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: power outages
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Yeah, I had a power outage last week, must have only been for a minute or two, but I was asleep and the machines were off a for 4 or 5 hours. Had a crappy 15k day. And then restarting all the machines, pain in the ass. Having a good day today, though. Think I will order those 260 cards, no better deals lately.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:17 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
AZBrandon wrote:
(deleted)


I was waiting to update the BIOS on my MSI K9A2 board, which I just completed today. With Vista 64 I'm still having problems, the latest is that it thinks its missing CUDART.DLL, even I have a copy of that miserable file in all 4 application and application data (work) directories. 8 copies and it can't find it. If I was Dick Cheney I'd tell it to fxxx itself.

I need to write up what a fiasco it was updating the BIOS on my MSI board. I'll never buy one of their products again.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: an update
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Just an update, I finally got the 9600 gso folding along with the integrated 9300M on the motherboard, and neither seems to be going slow. Well, the 9300M is pretty slow most of the time, but it certainly doesn't seem to be going slower than normal. I expected it would be ok, many message boards seemed to imply that having integral multiple shader counts on multiple cards works, and the 9300M has 16 and the 9600 gso has 96, so that's a nice even multiple of 6. Still kind of gratifying to see it work, though. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: it's back, kind of
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
So it looks like it's kind of back:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121320&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL081109&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL081109-_-VideoCards-_-LT20A-_-14121320

Although this one is up to $40 after the rebate. Still a fairly good deal, though. Oh, but there's also a sale, if you use the promo code on this page:

http://promotions.newegg.com/NEemail/Aug-0-2009/BTS11/index-landing.html?

then it's back down to $35. Cool!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:19 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
While I have 2 myself and am with you for the most part I do have a small annoyance about these cards.

Of course within the price you really can't ask for more, but truth be told my cooler has no copper at all, and I don't think this one does either. It's not a deal breaker, but the entire card is pretty hot no matter how you look at it.

It also seems to me the fan can not be controlled by Riva Tuner, but it's not as bad as the XFX cards and their tiny fans.

I suspect what I will do to my Asus cards is what I did to my Asus northbridge cooler on my motherboard. Both are chunks of aluminum that are too hot. I won't replace them. Rather I will attach additional copper to them. I will probably epoxy pennies to the fins that go directly to the center. I may also change the fan to a Scythe 100mm 10mm thick fan that runs at 1000 rpm. I can use thermal epoxy on the pennies, but frankly why bother? A $4 tube of Phenoseal will do a great job.

Years ago I attached 2 small copper heat sinks to my rather large northbridge heat sink. With no other changes, no fans, temps dropped by 10C. Cost was less than $5.

The first card on all my PCs seems to run hotter as well.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: know what you mean
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Yeah, I know what you mean, when I moved the motherboard this was on out of my Cosmos and into my little micro ATX cube case, kind of like this one:

http://www.directron.com/xqpackbl420.html

but with less ventilation, the case got really hot to the touch. The power supply is sitting right on top of the card slots, so I figured there would be some ventilation through that, but not much, and the power supply got really hot. I pulled out the unused slot covers and took off the unused 5.25 and 3.5 bay covers off the front, and temperatures have dropped to much more reasonable levels, but still, the card can pump out some heat. Since the fan is really just circulating air from the case around it, without a direct vent in the back like most dual slot cards, it's definitely trickier to keep this thing cool. I thought the lower power would make it better for a small form factor build, but now I'm not so sure. It is pretty quiet though, have to give them that.

I've never though of adding metal to the heat sinks, that's an interesting idea. I may have to give that a shot. Things seem resonable for the time being, but who knows how long it will last.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:57 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I have the quad board running naked. Eventually it will go into a tower, with the side off, and the case laying down so the "top" will be off.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: it's back, kind of
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:47 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
cordis wrote:
So it looks like it's kind of back:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121320&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL081109&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL081109-_-VideoCards-_-LT20A-_-14121320

Although this one is up to $40 after the rebate. Still a fairly good deal, though. Oh, but there's also a sale, if you use the promo code on this page:

http://promotions.newegg.com/NEemail/Aug-0-2009/BTS11/index-landing.html?

then it's back down to $35. Cool!


I overlooked something here. This is a 512MB memory card, ergo it has 48 stream processors, not 96. The 96 have 384 or 768 and a few XFX have 1.5GB, but at 1.5GB it can be either one.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: yeah, but...
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Huh, that's strange, it's got '96 stream processors' written right above the picture, and the specs say 96 processors, so I wonder if it really has 96 or 48? Kind of confusing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:26 am
Posts: 86
Location: Eastern USA
The original 384mb and 768mb 9600GSOs were renamed 8800GS with 192bit ddr2 and 96 stream processors.

The 512mb and 1gb were based on the newer 48 stream processor core, and had 256bit ddr3 ram.

The Asus 512mb card listed on Newegg seems to be 128bit ddr3 ram 96 stream processors.

Seems like it's a different card than the 48 stream core ones, and I personally think it really does have 96 stream processors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:56 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
The Asus sight doesn't list that spec. :?

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:26 am
Posts: 86
Location: Eastern USA
Someone bought them and they confirmed it was 96 stream processors.
http://www.overclock.net/online-deals/5 ... mir-2.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:40 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Impressive move by Asus, but I don't understand the further development of such an old gpu. I wonder if it will average higher ppd.

Did you notice the entire thread is about doubting the claim? 96sp? Now there's no way to know if its 48 or 96. More reason to move to the GTX260. Just kidding.

If it gets a couple of hundred points more than the 384 version it's worth the extra cost.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:26 am
Posts: 86
Location: Eastern USA
It seems more likely that Asus is just trying to get rid of the older cores than developing new.

I haven't seen it stated anywhere that memory bandwidth was a factor for folding performance. So it is likely that it's no faster than the 384mb version, since it has the same 96 stream processors.

At least it's a nice low cost replacement for the 384mb cards, since they are no longer available.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:44 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I simply recall that the 8800GT does pretty much better at PPD than the 8800GS. There used to be 256MB and 512MB 8800GTs out there and the 512 did better than the 256.

The question is, is 384MB enough for most work units or is it sending data back and forth on the PCIE bus :?:

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:27 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Wow, not only is this Asus card missing the fan control, it doesn't report gpu temps either. Oh well, live and learn.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:06 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Posts: 1312
Location: CT
http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.a ... s%20Family

75$ with a 10$ email rebate (total 65$) !

_________________
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: single slot!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
Now that is interesting, it's a little pricey compared to others, but it's a single slot card! That's probably the most shaders I've seen on a single slot card yet, although I have had hope for the new cards. Nice find!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:58 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Most of the original 9600 GSOs were 96 shaders and single slot.

This one is 48, it has dain bramage.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group