It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Folding at the login prompt?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2003 10:03 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
How can I make sure a system with Win2k folds while it is at the login prompt? I just got permission to borg most of my parents office, but the computers spend more than half their time just at the login prompt- how can I make sure they fold during that? I do have administrator access.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:54 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
You have to run it as a service using Firedaemon. Here is a guide how to do it.

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
na nana na boo boo

i've got a thousand more points than you :P

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:58 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
if that 1,200 points per week is accurate... not for long :) I'll be putting it on 3 P4 1.8s, 1 P4 2.0, 3 Athlon XP 1800+ and 1 Athlon XP 2400+. Hehe. And maybe, just maybe, this will convince my sister to put it on her P4 1.7... that thousand point difference will go away VERY fast :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Posts: 221
:shock: :( :cry:

now how am i supposed to compete with just one P4 2.0, four 766 celerons, and one duron 750? :?

owz, at least i'll be in the top 20... i'm happy :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

http://www.riffst3r.com


Last edited by riffst3r on Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:57 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
well, I'll probably just try this on one or two comps tomorrow during lunch, because I'll be kinda busy.

Anyone have problems with this? If there are problems, it'll definatly be a bad, bad thing.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:13 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 1:28 pm
Posts: 951
Location: Tennessee, USA
Zhentar wrote:
well, I'll probably just try this on one or two comps tomorrow during lunch, because I'll be kinda busy.

Anyone have problems with this? If there are problems, it'll definatly be a bad, bad thing.....

I hate to get in the middle of you and riff, but....

Does what Zhentar is doing (installing Firedaemon) on computers at a business for the purpose of folding for SPCR constitute using Firedaemon as personal use or commercial use? http://www.firedaemon.com/license.txt

Is the entity in question here, Zhentar (non-commercial) or the owner of the computers (commercial)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:42 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
well, if I just use the Lite version it looks like it shouldn't matter. But aside from that, I'd say I'm the entity, so it's non-commercial.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:53 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 1:28 pm
Posts: 951
Location: Tennessee, USA
Zhentar wrote:
well, if I just use the Lite version it looks like it shouldn't matter. But aside from that, I'd say I'm the entity, so it's non-commercial.

Actually, the lite version is freely licensed for non-commerical use so it would matter. It would not matter if you were using the obsolete version.

I tend to agree with you that you (individual) are the entity here--when the purpose of the usage is considered. However, the software is being used by a commercial entity (as defined by the license), but not for any commercial purposes (other than hiding F@H from users so it doesn't get in their way). Just wondered what other folks thought about it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:37 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
In my experience here in IT, the use doesn't matter. Its the owner of the machine. If the corporation owns the machine, they are responsible for all software installed on it, no matter who installs it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 6:19 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 12:40 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Here are the relevant sections of the license.

"For the purposes of this license a commercial entity is defined as any corporation registered or otherwise that derives or attempts to derive substantial commercial and monetary gain and benefit from its efforts and endeavours. This includes all Government and Military entities."

"Free Unsupported Software may be used free of charge by any non-commercial entity." (the Lite GA version)

(remarks from a serious case of brain fade excised)

Now that we have that out of the way, alright Zhentar! The points from those machines should go a long way to holding off Slo-Tech and accelerating Team SPCRs rise through the ranks.


Last edited by WarpedPlatter on Thu Jul 17, 2003 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 11:40 am
Posts: 231
Location: seattle, wa
I read those two quotations and came up with exactly the opposite conclusion that you did. According to those two statements, you cannot use the software without paying for it on a machine owned by a commercial entity.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:31 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 1:28 pm
Posts: 951
Location: Tennessee, USA
herosformula wrote:
I read those two quotations and came up with exactly the opposite conclusion that you did. According to those two statements, you cannot use the software without paying for it on a machine owned by a commercial entity.

Me, too. So, if you like, here's another method to run F@H as a service without using Firedaemon. http://folding.amdmbpond.com/service.html

I don't want Zhentar to pass me :(, but....hey, Go Team!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2003 6:58 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 12:40 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
:oops:

Arrrrggghhh, I feel stupid. Somehow I read into that one paragraph that commercial entity status was determined by whether or not there was a gain made from the FireDaemon software. Looking at it again now, it's just as herosforumula and aphonos say.

Excuse me while I go thump my head on my desk now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group