It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Will F@H client use all available processors on a system?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:43 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:00 pm
Posts: 109
Location: USA
I have a dual celeron doing nothing. I'm thinking about running F@H on it. Will the F@H client use both processor or just use one of it? If it just use one, can I just run the client twice and assign each processor a client to run?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:05 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
By default, it will use just one. There's some special stuff you have to do to make it work on both procs. Trying to remember where I saw those documents on it....

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:16 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
run the client twice and assign each to a proc. I very highly doubt F@H is multithreaded and can run on two processors at once. Its just too much work considering how easy it is to run two clients at once.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:17 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 2:57 am
Posts: 198
Location: East Anglia, UK
I use the console version on a dual P3. Create two directorys with the client program in each. Set the machine id of the clients as 1 and 2. You will find the machine id in the advance config option. Not sure about the graphical client.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2003 8:54 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
Btw, you can't run 2 instances of the graphical client so you'll have to use the console version.

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group