It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: F@H screwing up my internet?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 8:29 am
Posts: 1076
Location: USA
I just intsalled some new parts and when i finished my internet would stop working after about 5 mins after being turned on.

I tried just about every thing i can think of but nothing worked. then i accidentally turned off F@H and everything worked.

I tried it a couple times and got the same result. I even tried unistalling it and reinstalling it, but to no avail. It seems i cannont run F@H anymore with out sabataging my internet.

Anyone have any ideas?

P.S. In case it helps here are the new and old system specs:

old
1800+ tbred @ 1.7 ghz
512mb pc 2100
8500le
some cheapo cooler.
some loud fans
and an 80 gb maxtor

New
2500+ barton @ 2 ghz
512mb pc 2700
8500le
sk-7
4 12v 24v m1a's
1 24v m1a (on the cpu)
and the same 80 gb maxtor.

I tried switching around the ram to see if that helps also.


EDIT: I switched back to my old 1800+ and everything's working fine i suppose the the barton was defective. guess i have to return it :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 9:27 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
Also what OS, and whats your internet connection? Strange that swapping the CPU makes a difference - power problems?

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 11:18 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:09 am
Posts: 94
Location: Reno Nevada USA
That’s strange. Last Saturday I had a LAN party and started to have the same problem. I figured out it was a DNS problem of some kind. I could Ping IP’s but not resolve any host names. Even when I tried a different DNS server it would work for 5 minutes then drop out. :roll: I just let it be and had fun playing games all night. By the time everyone had left it had cleared itself up and I could find out exactly what it was. I know for sure it was not the folding client because I had shut it down on all my machines to keep the heat down in the basement.

Speadstream DSL modem > Netgear MR814 Router > Edimax 24 port 10/100 Switch. All machines running XP Pro or Server 2003.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 8:29 am
Posts: 1076
Location: USA
yeha i figured out it was not the problem. i believe teh 2500+ had some bad cache scectors. It was unstable at stock and that was messing with my ethernet card and some dns issues i believe.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group