It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Running as a service over a network?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2002 3:53 am
Posts: 46
Location: Linköping, Sweden
I have a computer that I would like to run with the harddrive off as much as possible. So I had the idea of running the f@h service from a harddrive on the network. This works well as long as I do it manually. But WinXP doesn't accept a service to be started from a non-mapped folder (eg \\computer\share\FAH3Console.exe ...) Does anyone have any exp in getting something like this to work?

And I'll never reach the top50... Always someone that races ahead of me... :lol: :cry: Don't know if I should laugh for the team or cry for myself...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 9:39 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Time
If you are sure that the culprit is that the service controller does not like UNC paths then you have 2 options:
1) you can use NET USE command to mount a network path as a disk
2) you can create a RAM drive, copy the executable there and start it as a service from there

I'm not sure whether option 1 will work.

You need to do something like this:
NET USE * \\your_machine\your_path

It will mount that path as drive Z: or whatever is available.

_________________
Intel Core i7 2600K 4.6 Ghz / NVidia 560 Ti / Intel G2 120 GB / Hitachi 7K3000 2 TB - very quiet except for the video card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 1:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2002 3:53 am
Posts: 46
Location: Linköping, Sweden
It works fine if I map the drive using NET or anything else, but then I can't fold without anyone logged in. Or can I use net before I get to the login screen? Needless to say I have to have network access.

The same issue with a ram drive. How do I get it working before I log in?

_________________
Gaming: 2400+@2400MHz(Water)-Asus A7V880-512MB/200GB-Ti4200-Samsung 173T
Work1: Opt144@2500MHz(Silent air)-MSI K8N Diamond-1024MB/410GB-nV6200-Dell 1905FP
Work2: 2500+@2200MHz(Silent water)-Abit NF7-v2-512MB/410GB-Ti4200-Eizo
HTPC: 1800+@2200MHz(Quiet air)-MSI K7N2G-ILSR-256MB/80GB-Seleco SVP300 100"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 5:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2002 3:53 am
Posts: 46
Location: Linköping, Sweden
I found this article from MS about running scripts before logging in. But since I don't have Resource Kit it doesn't do me any good. Is there any other way to run commands before logging in?

_________________
Gaming: 2400+@2400MHz(Water)-Asus A7V880-512MB/200GB-Ti4200-Samsung 173T
Work1: Opt144@2500MHz(Silent air)-MSI K8N Diamond-1024MB/410GB-nV6200-Dell 1905FP
Work2: 2500+@2200MHz(Silent water)-Abit NF7-v2-512MB/410GB-Ti4200-Eizo
HTPC: 1800+@2200MHz(Quiet air)-MSI K7N2G-ILSR-256MB/80GB-Seleco SVP300 100"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 92
FireDaemon

Cos

_________________
Antec P180, XP 2500+ u/v@1.575v (o/c'd to 3200+), Silent Boost@7v, MSI K7N2-L m/b, 2x512mb Kingston PC3200, 'cuda V PATA 120GB 8mb, GeForce3 Ti500 64mb passive cool w h/s from PentiumPro 200, Antec 350w psu fanless.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group