Need help finding rubber dampers and resistor for tiny fan

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

cocopugg

Need help finding rubber dampers and resistor for tiny fan

Post by cocopugg » Tue May 20, 2008 11:29 pm

Hello everyone, I am a newbie. I have a 25mm x 25mm x 10mm fan that is inside my Mvix 760HD media box. This is a 12 volt fan. I have been told that if I were to replace the fan's current screws with rubber dampers, as well as connect a 100 ohm resistor to the red line of the fan, it would drastically reduce the noise my fan makes. Since my unit is using a very low noise 5400RPM hard drive (which runs very cool to the touch), I am not afraid of lowering the fan's speed. My problem however, seems to be in finding the right type of rubber dampers (or screws) that will fit my fan. Since this is not a regular size computer fan, I don't know what screw size the holes in this fan are, and where I may find such rubber dampers for this fan. Any help with this (and where I may find a suitable 100 ohm resistor to reduce the fan's speed, and what type I should use) would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Bluefront
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by Bluefront » Wed May 21, 2008 1:15 am

Well if the screws are actually a non-standard size, you'll probably have trouble finding rubber mounts for it. Get some small zip-ties and use them instead of screws. Put a few small pieces of foam at the corners...just snug up the zip-ties. (a second zip-tie acts like a nut). This will soft-mount the fan.

Instead of a standard resistor......just buy a Fan-mate at NewEgg. It acts like a variable resistor. Runs about 5-11V.....this way you can dial in the fan to the right speed. You'll probably have to splice a few wires.

Welcome to SPCR....

FartingBob
Patron of SPCR

Post by FartingBob » Wed May 21, 2008 3:55 am