It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can I use HP LaserJet 3100 with Windows 7 64-bit (XPMode ?)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:04 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Ohio
I wasn't sure where to post this Thread. When I found this Forum and started posting here a few months ago, I was building my first PC. It's working great, but so far, I can't use my printer.

The Windows 7 Compatibility website SAYS that the HP LaserJet 3100 All-In-One laser printer IS compatible: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compat ... &os=64-bit

Problem is, if you follow the link to download the driver, it takes you to the HP website, and the driver link says "N/A, 21 Sep 2009":
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/Te ... nvOID=4063


I have recently installed/configured WinXP Mode on the new PC. It seems to work. The Motherboard does not have a traditional parallel printer port, so after doing some research, I purchased a "Sabrent" brand printer-to-USB adapter cable. I was hoping that I would be able to use my HP LaserJet 3100 in WinXP Mode, but I can't get that to work either. The printer software loads on the virtual WinXP Mode, but it doesn't "see" that the Printer is attached.

Am I doing something wrong, or am I just out of luck?

Thanks very much for any advice or suggestions,

Scott

_________________
EVGA E760 Classified, i7-920, Prolimatech MegaShadow, ATI/Sapphire HD6670 fanless, Mushkin Redline 3x2GB, Intel X25-M SSD, Samsung F3 1TB HDD, Samsung DVD, NEC 20WMGX2, Lamptron FC5, Seasonic x750, SilverStone FT02B-W case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
I would like to know the answer to this as well.

Sorry I don't have any answers though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:04 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Ohio
ces wrote:
I would like to know the answer to this as well.

Sorry I don't have any answers though.


I suspect the answer (if there is one) would apply to any printer that is not compatible with Windows 7 64-bit. It SHOULD work fine in WinXP Mode, the problem is that the computer doesn't "recognize" that the printer is connected via a USB port.

If there is a way to "dedicate" the applicable USB port, or "route" the printer recognition function through the USB port (clearly I don't know the proper terminology for what I'm trying to say), that might solve the problem. If the problem can be solved for the HP 3100, then it would probably also be solved for any other printer using WinXP Mode with a motherboard requiring a USB connection.

If I understand correctly, I could add a parallel printer port "card" in one of the PCI (or PCI-e?) slots, but I would really like to avoid that if at all possible.

_________________
EVGA E760 Classified, i7-920, Prolimatech MegaShadow, ATI/Sapphire HD6670 fanless, Mushkin Redline 3x2GB, Intel X25-M SSD, Samsung F3 1TB HDD, Samsung DVD, NEC 20WMGX2, Lamptron FC5, Seasonic x750, SilverStone FT02B-W case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I use HP LaserJet 3100 with Windows 7 64-bit (XPMode
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Allen, TX US
Scott J wrote:
The Motherboard does not have a traditional parallel printer port


Forgive my dumb question, but are you sure that it doesn't have an LPT1 cable connection on the motherboard? With my latest MB, I had to purchase a bracket with the a cable that connected to the MB. I thought that I'd ask, just to make sure.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I use HP LaserJet 3100 with Windows 7 64-bit (XPMode
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:04 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Ohio
nomoon wrote:
Scott J wrote:
The Motherboard does not have a traditional parallel printer port


Forgive my dumb question, but are you sure that it doesn't have an LPT1 cable connection on the motherboard? With my latest MB, I had to purchase a bracket with the a cable that connected to the MB. I thought that I'd ask, just to make sure.

Jason



Hi Jason, it's not a dumb question at all, but if I understand correctly (always a gamble!), the EVGA 760 Classified motherboard does not have an LPT1 port.

Here is a link to a Review with a visually diagrammed feature listing, followed by a list of technical specifications for the EVGA Classified:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainbo ... ied_4.html

Here is the last sentence of the first page: "The board doesn’t have any COM or LPT ports, which may be worth keeping in mind, but it is no longer a drawback these days anyway."

_________________
EVGA E760 Classified, i7-920, Prolimatech MegaShadow, ATI/Sapphire HD6670 fanless, Mushkin Redline 3x2GB, Intel X25-M SSD, Samsung F3 1TB HDD, Samsung DVD, NEC 20WMGX2, Lamptron FC5, Seasonic x750, SilverStone FT02B-W case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I use HP LaserJet 3100 with Windows 7 64-bit (XPMode
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Allen, TX US
Scott J wrote:
Here is the last sentence of the first page: "The board doesn’t have any COM or LPT ports, which may be worth keeping in mind, but it is no longer a drawback these days anyway."


The scoundrels! I bought my HP Laserjet 5P in 1994 and it won't die! I just buy a new $70 cartridge about every two years. It's a lot cheaper to run than an inkjet.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I use HP LaserJet 3100 with Windows 7 64-bit (XPMode
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:04 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Ohio
nomoon wrote:
Scott J wrote:
Here is the last sentence of the first page: "The board doesn’t have any COM or LPT ports, which may be worth keeping in mind, but it is no longer a drawback these days anyway."


The scoundrels! I bought my HP Laserjet 5P in 1994 and it won't die! I just buy a new $70 cartridge about every two years. It's a lot cheaper to run than an inkjet.

Jason



Hi Jason,

It should be possible to make the computer recognize a printer connected through a USB port (via a printer-to-USB cable adapter) in WinXP Mode, I just don't know HOW to do it.

_________________
EVGA E760 Classified, i7-920, Prolimatech MegaShadow, ATI/Sapphire HD6670 fanless, Mushkin Redline 3x2GB, Intel X25-M SSD, Samsung F3 1TB HDD, Samsung DVD, NEC 20WMGX2, Lamptron FC5, Seasonic x750, SilverStone FT02B-W case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
I bought a printer-to-USB cable adapter. It seems to work erratically, but that may be me. I was making order changes at the same time.

It was made by a company called Manhattan.

I ran it under XP. It seems to work if I rebooted by computer before using it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:08 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
I would think you can get an expansion card with a parallel port on it. Just plug that in, and you should be good to go. You'll probably have to hit up ebay or a used pc parts shop.. but I know they exist.

_________________
1: Asus P6X58D, i7 980x (stock), GTX285 2gb (stock), 12GB ram
2: Tyan k8we, SC742S-B case, 2x Opteron 280, GTX210 (stock), 6GB ram, 2x zalman cps9700 - no fan, Sythe ultra-kaze
3: Thinkpad T500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
kittle wrote:
I would think you can get an expansion card with a parallel port on it. Just plug that in, and you should be good to go. You'll probably have to hit up ebay or a used pc parts shop.. but I know they exist.


Nah... that's to straight forward and easy. :)

PS: You can buy those cards new at most places. I am certain Newegg must carry at least one type and most probably several from different sources like Syba and Startech.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group