It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Could I power Sunfire v210 server which has a 320w power supply with a picoPSU 160 W?
I've tested v210 with power meter while powered, and it showed around 160w use.

http://www.sun.com/servers/entry/v210/datasheet.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 4:18 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7369
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Welcome to SPCR!

If you were measuring the AC at the plug, then the actual DC use in the unit is lower, because of the losses in the PSU. So, in all likelihood, the computer is using ~20% less, or 128watts, so the 160w Pico should be okay.

You were measuring peak power?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Welcome to SPCR!
You were measuring peak power?



No - only on start, because I didn't had configuration cable for v210 which is necessary for running the system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Hello again,


One of the connectors on Sunserver's power supply are different from PicoPsu...

I have picture, I don't know what to do, any idea? The smaller one on picture has 10 contacts, while picoPsu has only four. I'm not familiar with the names of connectors, sorry :)

Thanks.
Attachment:
connectors3.JPG


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 475
Location: Ottawa
The 10 pin connector has multiple voltages so it's not possible to (at least in any easy way) to adapt it from the 4 pin 12v connector. It's quite possible that the main connector is not even ATX compatible.

You also need to measure peak power draw, not just at boot up. It's very likely that it will use more power than you measured when running at full load.

Why would you want to use that old SUN if you are concerned about power efficiency (which I assume you are given your desire to use a PicoPSU)? It's not going to be efficient at all even with the PicoPSU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
washu wrote:
Why would you want to use that old SUN if you are concerned about power efficiency (which I assume you are given your desire to use a PicoPSU)? It's not going to be efficient at all even with the PicoPSU.



Uhm, I want to have some experience with that type of server, and desire to use PicoPsu is that
v210 is very loud, and I don't have possibility to put the server in another room..:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 475
Location: Ottawa
dds wrote:
Uhm, I want to have some experience with that type of server, and desire to use PicoPsu is that
v210 is very loud, and I don't have possibility to put the server in another room..:)


Fair enough, but replacing the power supply even if possible, would not make much of an impact in noise. It's a 1U server, it has a whole bunch of very loud fans. You would have to mod/replace them all and still make sure you had enough cooling.

If you are just interested in Solaris you could install that on a more standard (and quiet!) machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Sunfire V210 with picopsu 160w?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
washu wrote:
Fair enough, but replacing the power supply even if possible, would not make much of an impact in noise. It's a 1U server, it has a whole bunch of very loud fans. You would have to mod/replace them all and still make sure you had enough cooling.
.


Sure, you're right. My project was doomed from the start :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group