Hi! New member, questions about specific fan and case models

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

mesaone

Hi! New member, questions about specific fan and case models

Post by mesaone » Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:47 pm

Hi everyone, I was very happy to come across SPCR.

Long story short, I'm a sound engineer. A couple years ago I built a PC for my home studio, mainly running Pro Tools. Relevant things:
  • Antec 1200v2 case, stock fans (the two rear fans have been removed)
    LGA 1366 motherboard (sabertooth x58)
    i7 960 @3.2 GHz stock clock (HT off, no overclock or intel speedboost, all sleep and hibernation disabled)
    Kuhler 620 (one stock fan pushing exhaust, mounted in place of one rear fan)
Issue: my PC makes more noise than I would like it to. I have calibrated my playback system, and the fan noise is enough to interfere with mixing and voiceover work. This needs to be fixed!

I had a look around the site, and checked out the tests and whatnot. I have formed a plan of attack, which involves replacing 2 of the front case fans with Noctua NF-S12A ULN. I plan to swap the Kuhler's fan with a Noctua NF-P1, and move it to the front of the case, in place of the third intake fan. From there, I will place one more Noctua NF-S12A ULN at the rear of the case.

Would the above work out, as far as keeping my system quiet and below 80º C under full load? Assume ambient temp is 20º C. I do quite a lot of spectral repair and noise reduction work, which is fairly taxing on the CPU. This can sometimes result in full load across all cores for several minutes.

Thanks in advance for your help, everyone.

CA_Steve

Re: Hi! New member, questions about specific fan and case mo

Post by CA_Steve » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:06 pm

Welcome to SPCR.

I don't know what your budget is...but here's my take:
- The case isn't built for top end silent operation as compared to some others.