My first HTPC

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Black Cat Nash

My first HTPC

Post by Black Cat Nash » Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:36 am

Hi everybody,
after spending a life buying desktop PCs, I'm looking to build my HTPC.
I would mainly use it for watching movies on my 60 inches TV, watching blurays (3D and not), streaming 4k contents and sometimes for gaming (no need for extra high resolution though).
I'm a total newbie on this, so please help me.

Looking and reading around, this is the parts list I have imagined for my HTPC.

CPU: Intel Core i5-6500 3.2Ghz Quad-core processor

CPU Cooler: ?

Motherboard: Asus H170 Pro Gaming

Memory: ?

Power Supply : Silverstone 600w 80+ Gold

Optical drive : LG BH14NS58BL BLK

I have already an ASUS Geforce gtx970 4gb (gtx970-dcmoc-4gd5), so I need an advice about compatible cases (thinking about a Silverstone Grandia, but I don't need the case to be compact, just as silent as possible). I'm gonna buy a WD Hard Disk, and a 256 gb SSD (any advice accepted).

I don't have problems of budget, but I don't feel the need to overdo.

Thank you for your help, guys.

CA_Steve

Re: My first HTPC

Post by CA_Steve » Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:23 am

Welcome to SPCR.

Here's your most important decision: where to place the PC. Unobstructed airflow makes the difference between a quiet gaming PC (GTX 970 -> gaming PC) and a loud one. The Grandia case implies the PC will be on an entertainment center shelf (or worse, in a closed cabinet). Horizontal cases have worse airflow than upright ones. btw.

Please describe where this case will be, including dimensions and openings, and we can go from there.

edh

Post by edh » Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:57 pm

A few initial comments:
- If budget is a problem, why spend so much? Seems expensive for the application. I know budget is relative so how much exactly do you want to spend?