It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Firewall & Adblocker
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:45 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3278
Location: Essex, England
I need a new Firewall program thats:

Good
Easy to configure (rules out Tiny Personal Firewall from what I have heard).
Free (Rules out Norton and McAfee).
Problem Free (rules out Zone Alarm, Norton and McAfee).

I know its a bit of a tall order, any reccomendations, my old Norton firewall is unsupported from the end of the year, and I need a new one.

Ad-Blocker.

I spend 99% of my time using Seamonkey (Mozilla Foundation), so I really dont care about adblocking IE.

I have heard of "Ad-Blocker Plus", is it any good.??? Again recomendations are welcome.


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:09 am
Posts: 647
Location: UK
I use Sygate Personal Firewall, it seems to work well enough. The only problem is that there is no firewall protection before it loads, which could be a risk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:11 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Posts: 1845
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What are the problems with Zone Alarm? I've been using it for ages problem free. Should I be switching?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:12 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3278
Location: Essex, England
Thanks, I have got rid or Norton :twisted:

And I am now running Sygate, looks pretty easy to use, and I dont really care about not having protection before it loads.

Cheers, now I just need to get an Add-Blocker, ABP didnt work at all :roll:

The Zone Alarm problems I have bumped into are varied, I have seen half a dozen PC's that are unusable on the net that have turned out to be Zone Alarm, and its not always a straightforward case of uninstalling it, I have had to manually remove ZoneAlarm files from the "C:/Windows/System32" folder before.

I imagine its quite a rare occurance, but I am not a fan of software that spontaneously combusts (Windows pre W2K SP2 for example). If your PC suddenly wont work on the net, and you have ruled out LAN/router problems, Malware/Virus problems, take a look at ZAP.

Sorry if I have made you paranoid.


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:07 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:47 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Just curious, but if security is important to you, why aren't you willing to pay for it?

_________________
Phenom 1090T / 9800GTX+ / Antec P180 / Seasonic S12-600


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:29 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3278
Location: Essex, England
Security IS important to me, but having used every version of Norton over the last 9 years, I an now willing to pay for it, likewise McAffee (although I havent used every version).

They cause huge amounts of problems, and I am only willing to try any security software on recommendation and I an NOT willing to pay for it unless it actually proves itself to be worthwhile. This means that I need a FREE fully working copy for 1 month, most companies dont do that. The exception is Nod32, which is an excelent AV package which I am more than happy to pay for (1 month totally free fully updated fully working copy got my attention).


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Last edited by andyb on Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 28
Used to use Zone Alarm with no prolems, infact I liked it very much though I am now using the Sunbelt Kerio Firewall which is also a top product with great features. Other software I use is AVG and Ad-aware SE pro and all this together should be all you need. I also use homecall from Trend Micro every now and then just to make sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:38 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:47 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I see what you're saying.. you just want to at least be able to try the software before you buy it. Nothing wrong with that!

_________________
Phenom 1090T / 9800GTX+ / Antec P180 / Seasonic S12-600


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:09 am
Posts: 647
Location: UK
I don't need trial software to be fully capable, I would only buy it for the specific functionality I required, and I wouldn't buy it blind so as long as the functionality I need is in the demo, that's great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7335
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello Andy,

I like Kerio by Sunbelt Software. It does have a trial period, and it does block ads. The only default settings that you need to change for it to work on a LAN are one or two options in the Trusted Area.

It defaults to a no-pop up mode, which is very nice indeed.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:22 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3278
Location: Essex, England
Cheers Neil, I will give that a whirl tommorrow, I was quite impressed by the ease of use of "sygate" but it seemed to igore me when I asked it not to ask permission for a part of windows that does not need internet access. It keps on asking me, I will re-install it tommorrow have a play with it and then try "Kerio".

Any suggestions on other adblockers, or any help to install "adblock plus".


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:57 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Devonavar wrote:
What are the problems with Zone Alarm? I've been using it for ages problem free. Should I be switching?


Hi Devon, I don't recall ever having read that there are any particular problems with zonealarm... other than it's a software firewall rather than a 'safer' hardware firewall.

That said I have often read (though I'm too useless to remember where...) that not all software firewalls are equal.

Zonealarm is easily configured and quite good, though sygate is generally considered to be better at it's job though not quite as 'Mum friendly'... :D

I used sygate for years on windows and it always tested well on port test sites. I believe it's now been bought out by symantec and is no longer free, if at all available.

The last version of sygate personal (free) is still googleable and worth the search.

I still have it for the inevitable windows builds I do for other people (because i was stupid enough to let slip that I can... :roll: )


Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:51 am
Posts: 389
Location: The Netherlands (NL)
I am using kerio a couple of years, without any problems :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:09 am
Posts: 647
Location: UK
Andyb, if you look on the Applications screen, you should be able to find the one that was asking you, then set it to denied or allowed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group