It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:25 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
b3nbranch wrote:
Wondered why the video wasn't working, finally discovered that
I'd plugged the monitor into the (disabled) on-board video, not
the add-on card.

:lol: :lol: :lol:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
:oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southeast, USA
My two favorites are from tech support of a PC to mainframe communications company (back before SLIP) I used to work at.

1) Customer had installed our comm card and was complaining of intermittent problems. Turns out they had installed the card on the slot instead of in the slot.

2) Customer had no communications. Turned out they had connected the two RS232 cables by wrapping a rubber band around them instead of plugging them into each other.

These were diagnosed over the phone. These and other stories gave me tremendous respect for the patience of the techs (and made me glad it wasn't my job).

Just a month ago (thought I was past this...), I almost replaced an MSI MB with IGP and GPU card with monitor plugged into the IGP. After reinstalling CPU/HSF/RAM to no avail, placed the order online. Having given up, I installed the GPU in another machine and for some reason I tried the broken machine one more time before gutting it and it worked. Thanks to the delay in online processing, was able to cancel the new MB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:11 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Posts: 1845
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
kstich wrote:
OK, this one may take the cake...

One time when I was installing extra RAM in my case I realized how dusty the computer actually was on the inside, especially the heatsink which was nearly clogged. I figured this was the reason for the high temps I was having previously so became determined to fix the problem. To fix the dust problem I vacuumed the heatsink and case without even thinking twice.

Needless to say, the CPU and motherboard were both fried. When I tried to turn it on the next time it smoked from multiple locations, including the CPU. Darn static electricity!


I've vacuumed my systems several times without problems. I'll think twice now...

b3nbranch wrote:
Let's see ... quite a few years ago I plugged in a floppy connector with the correct orientation, but one pin too far to the right (open connector w/out plastic box), motherboard never booted again.


Done that before (plugged it in upside down. Kill the drive, and rendered the ATA drive controller unstable. I tried reinstalling about once a week for about a month before I realized that it's not possible to run a stable system with a drive controller that corrupts the page file...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 5:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:18 am
Posts: 53
ooh, remembered some more. I've plugged in the floppy connector the wrong way more times than I can count :roll:

And just yesterday after I had rearranged some stuff in my computer if wouldn't post after I had plugged in everything. Luckily it just took a few minutes to figure out that I had plugged the keyboard into the mouse ps/2 and that's why it didn't boot. I have a usb mouse nowadays. But shouldn't the computer boot even if the keyboard is plugged in the mouse port? and just get some bios error?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 5:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Posts: 346
Location: U.S.A. Massuchusetts...... *Folding For SPCR*
yea normalyy but sumtimes in bios theres a halt on keyboard option and differnt MoBos "halt" in differnt ways

_________________
And with that being said I have always been a bit proud of my 1337 computer sk1llz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:21 pm
Posts: 86
Location: Ohio,USA
I was helping a friend install his new system, and he put the HSF on the CPU without taking the plastic protective film off the bottom of it...needless to say his computer would overheat and shutdown...we were scratching our heads for several days over that one. lol


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group