Build home web server vs hosting offsite

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Jay_S
*Lifetime Patron*

Build home web server vs hosting offsite

Post by Jay_S » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:50 am

So, my family has a personal web site. It's currently located on a University's server, where as a graduate student, my fiancee gets free public web space there. She's wrapping up her pHd and we'll soon lose the free web space. The web site is mainly a convenient place to post pictures for friends and family members we don't see often. Call me old fashioned, but I'm not interested in the blogspot, flikr, myspace, etc services. That's a little too public for me, and I disagree with most of their terms and conditions. So anyway, I want to keep the web site, and I want to keep it relatively independent.

I've been experimenting with some older hardware I have laying around. I built/configured a linux apache2 box, configured dynamic DNS service, etc and got everything working perfectly. That's all fine. But the machine idles at around 60W, so I keep if off most of the time - talk about a useless web server! 60W is too much to serve static web pages.

I know there are 10W NAS devices (like some Buffalo LinkStations) that can be modified to run apache, but these are not cheap.

Right now, I think an ideal web server would be a used laptop and an 8-16GB CF card in place of the hard drive. Command-line linux and apache have very minimal hardware requirements. Without a GUI, the P3 server I built used all of 43 MB of physical ram while serving pages.

So I'm interested in hearing what are other's are doing. Just sucking it up and hosting elsewhere? That's clearly the lowest power option! But flexibility and costs become an issue then.

Jay

protellect

Post by protellect » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:52 am