SPCR
http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/

Weeee! I just got 1GB of RAM!
http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=4960
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Mon May 26, 2003 3:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Weeee! I just got 1GB of RAM!

It's the Kingston ValueRAM that is on sale for $40 at BestBuy.

KVR333/512R = 512MB PC2700 Retail

Now I have 1GB! Currently it is running at tighest latencies at default speed, except for running with CAS 2.5 because CAS 2.0 causes my mobo to lock up.

Now I'm trying to find out why BF1942 demo is stuttering slightly, I think it might be lag but im not sure....

Just wanted to gloat! :D

Author:  DryFire [ Mon May 26, 2003 3:23 pm ]
Post subject: 

brag about 1 gb of crosair xms or kingston hyperx maybe even some mushkin black pcb

Author:  NeilBlanchard [ Mon May 26, 2003 3:53 pm ]
Post subject:  I am very curious to hear about PC2700 CAS2

Hello:

I'm running some inexpensive PC2100 by Apacer, that uses Infineon chips. I am able to run it at 308mHz CAS 2 "Turbo' but if I push it any higher (at these latencies) it fails to boot. It rated at CAS2 for PC2100 (266mHz) but it almost hits PC2700 CAS2 -- not bad for $29 256MB sticks! Edit: I'm using a Asus A7N266-VM/AA and I had to mod them to do any oc'ing...

I am very curious to hear about folks running PC2700 CAS2 and any oc'ing you might have gotten with totally stable operation. I have read that a fair amount of what is rated as CAS2.5 will in fact hit CAS2, but what have you found? Please tell us brand, model, ratings, your motherboard, etc.

This would be good to know, especially if it saves buying PC3200 in order to get CAS2 at PC2700 speeds.

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Mon May 26, 2003 4:08 pm ]
Post subject: 

DryFire: Well, im saying it's as fast as the new stock of HyperX at PC2700 speeds. I could slap the copper Thermalright heatsink on it and call it Kingston ValueX!

NeilBlanchard: Unfortunatly the KT333 series of chipset does not tolerate CAS 2.0 at any frequency, there for I am stuck. Also, this chipset does not allow much headway for OC'ing as the highest I can set it is "HCLK+33" (being host cpu FSB plus 33MHz) which is the speed it is at now. Sorry for the dissapointment. :(

Author:  DryFire [ Mon May 26, 2003 4:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

yeh get an epox 8rda+ (or 8rda3+) or an a7n8x and see what you can get.

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Mon May 26, 2003 5:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

DryFire wrote:
yeh get an epox 8rda+ (or 8rda3+) or an a7n8x and see what you can get.


Next thing im getting is an nForce3! :wink::D

Author:  Rusty075 [ Mon May 26, 2003 10:43 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm running a pair of PC2100 Mushkin Black CAS 2-2-2 512 sticks OC'd to 166 Mhz. Perfectly stable on my KR7A-133. :lol:

"It ain't braggin' if its true"

Author:  rpc180 [ Mon May 26, 2003 10:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

I got this no name 512 PC2100 stick from a computer show. Its actually doing 2-2-2-5. There was a surprise for cheap no name RAM :!: 24/7 stable for weeks.

Author:  Ralf Hutter [ Tue May 27, 2003 4:24 am ]
Post subject: 

I've been running 1GB of Corsair XMS3200 at DDR400, CL2.5-3-3-7 for about a year in my P4 rig. It'll do Memtest86 100% stable at those settings but if I try any tighter timings it'll start getting a few errors.

1GB of RAM is really nice for stuff like Photshop and video editing.

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Tue May 27, 2003 5:42 am ]
Post subject: 

Ralf Hutter wrote:
I've been running 1GB of Corsair XMS3200 at DDR400, CL2.5-3-3-7 for about a year in my P4 rig. It'll do Memtest86 100% stable at those settings but if I try any tighter timings it'll start getting a few errors.

1GB of RAM is really nice for stuff like Photshop and video editing.


Yeah, I do both of those and I noticed.

Author:  Jan Kivar [ Wed May 28, 2003 12:36 am ]
Post subject: 

Athlon Powers wrote:
Unfortunatly the KT333 series of chipset does not tolerate CAS 2.0 at any frequency, there for I am stuck. Also, this chipset does not allow much headway for OC'ing as the highest I can set it is "HCLK+33" (being host cpu FSB plus 33MHz) which is the speed it is at now. Sorry for the dissapointment. :(


Hmm... My MSI KT3 Ultra-ARU runs happily at CAS2. There was only one setting in the "DRAM timings" -page on BIOS that I couldn't max out, though I don't remember what it was (I think that it was interleave setting). (actually, it did work when maxed, but wakeup from S3 failed always when the setting was at "best" value...)

I'm using 2 x Kingmax 256 MB PC2100 sticks, and I don't overclock.

Cheers,

Jan

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Mon Jun 02, 2003 6:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

Jan Kivar wrote:
Athlon Powers wrote:
Unfortunatly the KT333 series of chipset does not tolerate CAS 2.0 at any frequency, there for I am stuck. Also, this chipset does not allow much headway for OC'ing as the highest I can set it is "HCLK+33" (being host cpu FSB plus 33MHz) which is the speed it is at now. Sorry for the dissapointment. :(


Hmm... My MSI KT3 Ultra-ARU runs happily at CAS2. There was only one setting in the "DRAM timings" -page on BIOS that I couldn't max out, though I don't remember what it was (I think that it was interleave setting). (actually, it did work when maxed, but wakeup from S3 failed always when the setting was at "best" value...)

I'm using 2 x Kingmax 256 MB PC2100 sticks, and I don't overclock.

Cheers,

Jan


Really?! On mine not matter if the memory was underclocked everything becomes unstable at CAS 2.0.

Author:  Jan Kivar [ Wed Jun 04, 2003 12:04 am ]
Post subject: 

Athlon Powers wrote:
Really?! On mine not matter if the memory was underclocked everything becomes unstable at CAS 2.0.


[knocks wood] Mine's rock solid [/knocks wood]. Seen a blue screen two times in WinXP over the past year. I do have Win98SE too, for legacy gaming. It crashes sometimes when booting. I recently re-installed it to another HD, and it seems that my USB racing wheel has some contribution to the issue. After the re-install it has crashed once during boot, though I've booted only dozen times or so to Win98.

Does your computer lock also with only one stick of mem, if You set CAS2? Or aren't the sticks identical? Kingston says that the module You mentioned is rated only for CL2.5. (while I don't remember the exact model# of my Kingmax sticks, I think that they are rated CAS2.5, or even CAS3...)

Cheers,

Jan

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:51 am ]
Post subject: 

I have two sticks of CAS 2.5 Kingston ValueRAM at tightest timings except for the CAS which is at 2.5 for stability. It was really unstable untill I set the memory voltage to 2.6v, but I still get some occasional memory errors. My first stick worked without any errors so I think my new stick is to blame...

Author:  Mark Larson [ Wed Jun 04, 2003 3:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

1GB PC3200 here. Muwaahhaha now you must all praise me because my wallet is bigger than yours!!

Image

Author:  Ralf Hutter [ Thu Jun 05, 2003 5:06 am ]
Post subject: 

Mark Larson wrote:
1GB PC3200 here. Muwaahhaha now you must all praise me because my wallet is bigger than yours!!


I dunno about that. I got my Corsair XMS3200 when it first came out and paid around $200 per 512MB stick. $400 for my RAM about a year ago!!

Author:  Athlon Powers [ Sat Jun 07, 2003 2:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

Wow, even though the majority is 512MB, 1GB is not far behind...

Author:  mistajon [ Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:17 am ]
Post subject: 

Need i say more

mem(Usage: 397/1024MB (38.77%)[||||------])

;)

I have 2 x 512 stix 333 mhz DDR

Author:  shunx [ Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:23 pm ]
Post subject: 

Ralf Hutter wrote:
1GB of RAM is really nice for stuff like Photshop and video editing.


So what kind of objective gains can people expect with Photoshop and video editing with having 1gb vs 512mb?

Author:  Alf [ Wed Jun 11, 2003 4:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

4x512mb PC2700 on a Asus P4G8X Duluxe, cpuz reports 2.0-2-2-6...Memory is 2xCrucial and 2x Micron. Runs rock [email protected], tweaked bios from x86.com...Very happy with this 'puter

Author:  mistajon [ Fri Jun 13, 2003 7:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

i have 1 gig of ram 333 ddr :) 2 x 512

Author:  1HandClapping [ Sat Jun 14, 2003 7:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

2 Gigs of Dual channel DDR266 for RAM Bandwidth ISSE2 3285 MB/s :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/