It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:43 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3302
Location: Essex, England
Basically its really annoying most of the time, it does not behave exactly as I would expect it to, and as I have had many years of "Googling" I am very capable of finding things the old way. Very often I find that "Instant" actually takes longer because it gets in the way, and constantly screws with me.

Of course it can be disabled, however I have setup FF not to store any data, therefore the procedure I need to go through to disable "Instant" is as follows. Search for something, then the option magically appears, turn of the option, re-search using the classic method, get the damned results I actually want.

I have "Googled" how to do this, and have not found anything that actually works, until I found this website.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/permanentl ... e-suggest/

I tried the "Ad-Block Plus" method, didnt work, I then tried the different "Google" page, in my case http://www.google.co.uk/webhp?complete=0 this works even though "Google Instant" still appears to be on - however it is not. I was expecting a marathon here but I now have the answer, and so do you all. The only reason why I tried the "Ad-Block Plus" method first is because I had already tried another "Google" page.

:mrgreen: I am now happy, and dont have to start using another search provider.


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
Yes. I thought I was alone.

Take a careful look at the drop down instant search results menu. It has something you can click to disable it.

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1728
Location: Switzerland
I don't know what Google Instant is so I suppose you could get rid of it by disabling JS with NoScript or some such.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 8:19 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3302
Location: Essex, England
Quote:
Take a careful look at the drop down instant search results menu. It has something you can click to disable it.


The problem there is that the browser never remembers anything once it has been closed (specifically once ALL windows have been closed). Therefore the standard ways of doing it simply dont work, it would be the same for anyyone who uses "Private Browsing" as a default option.

Quote:
I suppose you could get rid of it by disabling JS with NoScript or some such.


Thats basically what should have happened via ABP, but who cares, its done, and without having to install even prore programs (or add-ins).


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:59 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 365
Location: Western Mass.
I disabled Google Instant soon after it was implemented, doing it by the "Search settings" link (as ces described.) I've used only Firefox since then (as far as I can recall), but just now out of curiosity I visited Google in IE and it was disabled in that browser as well.

Which leads me to think that it's a cookie rather than a browser setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:06 am
Posts: 109
Location: Austin, TX
Reachable wrote:
I disabled Google Instant soon after it was implemented, doing it by the "Search settings" link (as ces described.) I've used only Firefox since then (as far as I can recall), but just now out of curiosity I visited Google in IE and it was disabled in that browser as well.

Which leads me to think that it's a cookie rather than a browser setting.

Cookies are per-browser, though. What it might be is either it's a setting applied to your Google account, or else possibly a setting on their end based on your IP. Or, being Google, perhaps it knows that it's you and any computer you're on it'll be disabled. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:49 am
Posts: 3
Google Instant and Google Personalised Search - What a load of rubbish! Sick of Google dictating how we use the web... If Google Instant was ever switched on permanenetly, I would so leave Google as my primary search engine.

Notice how in Google Chrome (and only this browser) it doesn't retain your preferences... Every 1 or 2 searches or every few minutes, it turns Google Personalised Search back on. Friggin' idiots!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Disable "Google Instant"
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:29 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
ces wrote:
Take a careful look at the drop down instant search results menu. It has something you can click to disable it.

Thank you!



Bertrand Russell wrote:
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" .

Aristotle didn't say the rationization had to be correct. :mrgreen:

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group