It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
i have a DVI-HDMI cable here that i used on my GTS 250 before (i had to use a 2-pins SPDIF cable on the sound card to the video card) for the 2nd display which is my 32inch LCD TV. The audio worked fine with that SPDIF cable.

Now it seem like the GTX 560 Ti have a built-in HD-audio chip for the HDMI connector so you don't need a SPDIF cable anymore (so it seem).

But i wonder if the DVI port(s) have audio thru the DVI-HDMI cable still?

Did someone tested that yet? It would be great to know.

i have the eVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked.

_________________
Case: Antec Three Hundred (w/ Corsair TX650W) | Main Board: Asus P7P55D-E LX | Video: eVGA Geforce GTX 560 Ti SuperClocked 1gb | HDD: Western Digital WD10EALS | CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (w/ Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B + Nexus B/W 120mm @ 12V). | Memory: 4 x 2gb G.Skill DDR3-1600 | Exhaust fans: Noctua NF-S12B FLX @ 12V. & Noctua NF-P14 FLX @ 12V. | Monitor: Asus VE228H.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 523
Location: 128.0.0.1
RaptorZX3 wrote:
But i wonder if the DVI port(s) have audio thru the DVI-HDMI cable still?

No. They never did.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
they never did? So why my GTS 250 is able to get audio from my DVI cable and put it on my TV speakers with the HDMI connector? (i use a SPDIF 2-pins cable from my sound card to the GTS 250's SPDIF on the side)

Also, i use a DVI-HDMI cable, dual-link also (so i have all 24 pins with a "-" connector on the side).

quote from Wikipedia:
Quote:
Features specific to HDMI (such as remote-control, audio transport, xvYCC, and deep-color) are not usable in devices that only support DVI signalling. However, many devices can output HDMI over a DVI output (e.g., ATI 3000-series and NVIDIA GTX 200-series video cards)., and some multimedia displays may accept HDMI (including audio) over a DVI input. In general, exact capabilities vary from product to product.


So don't say "never". I know my GTS 250 supported that feature. But i wonder if the eVGA GTX 560 Ti also support that feature, that's what i want to know.

_________________
Case: Antec Three Hundred (w/ Corsair TX650W) | Main Board: Asus P7P55D-E LX | Video: eVGA Geforce GTX 560 Ti SuperClocked 1gb | HDD: Western Digital WD10EALS | CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (w/ Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B + Nexus B/W 120mm @ 12V). | Memory: 4 x 2gb G.Skill DDR3-1600 | Exhaust fans: Noctua NF-S12B FLX @ 12V. & Noctua NF-P14 FLX @ 12V. | Monitor: Asus VE228H.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:38 pm
Posts: 298
Location: ontario
so you have the card. you have the cable. you have the tv.

but youre asking us if it works? i was gonna come in and say that most new cards should be able to handle such a task, but now im just wondering why you dont just try it out?

if it doesnt just work right away, it'll be a software issue. what os are you using?

_________________
my foamed mini p180 | corsair cx-400 w/ fan swap | scythe mugen-2 | thermalright hr-05 | unlocked sempron 140 | asrock 880g | 8gb mushkin |vertex 30gb boot | 7TBs storage |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
i'll try it soon, but i have Windows 7 64-bit.

_________________
Case: Antec Three Hundred (w/ Corsair TX650W) | Main Board: Asus P7P55D-E LX | Video: eVGA Geforce GTX 560 Ti SuperClocked 1gb | HDD: Western Digital WD10EALS | CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (w/ Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B + Nexus B/W 120mm @ 12V). | Memory: 4 x 2gb G.Skill DDR3-1600 | Exhaust fans: Noctua NF-S12B FLX @ 12V. & Noctua NF-P14 FLX @ 12V. | Monitor: Asus VE228H.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:40 am
Posts: 1
I know this is old stuff, but I was wondering exactly the same thing. What was the result of your test? And does anyone know if it works for other cards from 4xx and 5xx series, too?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
i had to replace my eVGA 9600GT recently (which have a lifetime warranty) on my 2nd PC and the GTS 450 that i have do transfer the sound from the audio chip on the video card to the DVI cable.

Note that i use a DVI-HDMI cable on my TV.

What's great with Lifetime warranty from eVGA is even if they replace your card with another one who originally didn't had lifetime warranty, the Lifetime warranty is still transfered to that new card. Just make sure to keep your receipt, RMA number and all that stuff secured somewhere.

_________________
Case: Antec Three Hundred (w/ Corsair TX650W) | Main Board: Asus P7P55D-E LX | Video: eVGA Geforce GTX 560 Ti SuperClocked 1gb | HDD: Western Digital WD10EALS | CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (w/ Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B + Nexus B/W 120mm @ 12V). | Memory: 4 x 2gb G.Skill DDR3-1600 | Exhaust fans: Noctua NF-S12B FLX @ 12V. & Noctua NF-P14 FLX @ 12V. | Monitor: Asus VE228H.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Geforce GTX 560 Ti: does DVI still have audio?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:46 pm
Posts: 1
Yes. I have a GTX 560 ti connected to my TV using HDMI and it passes through audio.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group