It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [HELP] moving data to new drive
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:22 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:37 pm
Posts: 376
Location: Mississauga, ON
sorry for the n00b questions, but i've been out of the game for a long time... i basically built this server 4 years ago and have sadly neglected it since... one of the drives in my mirror died, so instead of just replacing it, i'm going to move the contents to a bigger drive and build a new mirror... what's the best way to do this while fulfilling the following requirements

-must retain shared/security permissions
-must be able to verify perfect copy with no corruption
-using win2k3

should i be looking at cloning the drive with something like clonezilla? or use a backup program? or just drag and drop the contents of the whole drive in windows?

what's a good way of verifying the copy without hashing the entire drive?

_________________
..::AMD Opteron 165 2.25GHz 1.25V:.:Scythe Ninja 2:.:ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe S939:.:2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 RAM:.:eVGA GeForce 460GTX 1GB GDDR3::..
..::200GB Seagate 7200.8 HDD:.:Plextor PX-755SA DVD±R/RW-DL:.:Seasonic S12II-380 PSU:.:Yate Loon D12SL-12:.:Antec P180 Case::..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [HELP] moving data to new drive
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Norton Ghost and Acronis TrueImage are much easier to use than clonezilla.

Both Western Digital and Seagate have free branded versions of Acronis TrueImage. They both validate by checking if you have one of the company's models of disk drive in the system. The qualifying drive does not have to involved in the clone or other operations.

http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?l ... 04090aRCRD

http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... dc_lang=en


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [HELP] moving data to new drive
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1721
Location: Switzerland
Using backup software that may refuse to work for licensing resons when you need it is reckless.

mr. poopyhead wrote:
one of the drives in my mirror died

I don't understand your problem. If you have mirrors then you should have a way to copy your data properly!

Microsoft has a utility called robocopy which is designed to mirror files. It's supposed to preserve permissions but I don't remember if it can verify.
I've also used a third-party utility called XXCOPY. The xcopy utility included in Windows may do the job as well. And I've used rsync on Windows a lot(there's a package called cwrsync if you don't want to install cygwin). These utilities can verify but I don't recall if and how they handle permissions.

There's more than one way you can end up with corrupted files so I do recommend "hashing the entire drive" actually. That's what copy utilities will do if they have a proper verify function anyway.
If you create hashes at the file level or lower and keep them around, you'll be able to verify your copy with only the target drive connected. But the main point is that you'll be able to detect corruption regardless of what caused it in the future (bug, bad RAM, user error, malware and so on) as well as verify copies faster.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [HELP] moving data to new drive
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:00 am
Posts: 2131
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
If migrated many systems from one HDD to another using WD's Acronis utility. I've never had a problem except with my initial trial of it back in 2005 (Windows MCE 2005), and a simple reinstall of a driver cured the problem.

I can't attest to the verify function, however. I would never try to clone a drive on a critical device (just HTPC's or gaming machines). I'd always plan on a full backup (or two) of the data before doing a clean install.

There's just too much that can go wrong if the device or data is critical...

_________________
HTPC: OrigenAE X11|Gigabyte GA-MA785GPMT-UD2H|Phenom II x3 740BE w/AC Freezer 7|150GB Velociraptor|Corsair VX450
Main: Antec 300 (SlipStream @ 800rpm/140mm @ 5v)|Asus M4A88TD-M|Phenom II x4 945 (Mugen2 pass.)|Asus EAH6850|Samsung 830 128GB|Antec TP750
WHS: DF-85|P8H67-M Pro|I5-3450S/Hyper 212+|Corsair AX650|Sandisk Extreme 240GB, 2xWD20EARS, 2x WD15EARS, WD15EADS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [HELP] moving data to new drive
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Xcopy has been replaced by robocopy, but I believe the switches are the same. You can google cloning a hard drive to find the settings. I plan on doing this once I move to my idle SSD.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group