speakers advice...

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

frenchie
Friend of SPCR

speakers advice...

Post by frenchie » Thu May 19, 2011 1:49 pm

Hi,
I'm looking for a decent pair of speakers to listen to my CDs, a few movies/series on DVD, and a few games. They'll be hooked up to the integrated audio of my motherboard.
Also, I'm not a musician, let alone an enthusiast audiophile, but I expect my CDs to come out right. I'll be listening to all kinds of music, but mostly jazz, good old rock'n'roll, and the occasional techno (nothing better while cleaning the place !). They'll be in my living room, where my computer is, so it would be nice if the sound didn't get too distorted if I'm not at my desk (like from my couch 6 feet away for example))
I don't want the cheapo flimsy scratchy crap that ruin my jazz (tried it, no thanks) but right now I cannot afford more than $100-$120 for the pair.
So far, I'm leaning towards the M-Audio Studiophile AV 40 ($122 on amazon). I found them in a store and they sounded good to me.

I read the previous thread on this topic but the prices mentionned are out of my range.

Any input, brands to look at ?

PS : I should mention that I don't like the way boose stuff sounds, but I do like my Sennheiser headphones.

HFat

Re: speakers advice...

Post by HFat » Thu May 19, 2011 2:21 pm

6ft away from desktop speakers in a living room? There is no accounting for taste but I don't think you could find any that would touch good Senns at any price.
Larger speakers or a subwoofer could do something your Senns can't do and fill the room with it.
Are your Senns not comfortable enough for prolonged use or do you want to play music for other people? Playing music for a couple 6 ft away is one thing. But filling a crowded room is something else.