It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using 2 monitors
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:00 pm
Posts: 182
As you know there are a lot of games that make you wait a lot of time, for loading, crafting, lobby waiting, queuing etc. so I was thinking about getting another monitor but I'm not sure how this would work.

How do you switch your mouse and keyboard from one monitor to another?

If I watch a video on one monitor and have a demanding 3D game on another like Battlefield 3, would the performance be drastically reduced?

Do Nvidia cards even support 2 monitors at the same time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using 2 monitors
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:29 am
Posts: 567
Location: de_DE
If been running a dual monitor setup for a while, playing a video on one and a game in another with a HD4890 and before that nVidia 7900. I've seen no performance hit for 3D.
If you want to work on screen two you have to alt-tab out of the game. I always queued videos so I don't have to switch too often and I ran IM on screen two. Reply unfortunately only by alt-tab.
Maybe you're adept in LUA (if the game supports it) so you can program IM in game or controls to other programs.

_________________
Lian Li V600, Asus P77Z-M Pro, i5-3570K 4.4GHz with Scythe Orochi, 140mm Slipstream 500RPM and Mugen2 115X Bolt through kit,
Evga GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB with Thermalright Spitfire and Thermalright TY-150 500-800RPM, Seasonic 460W Platinum Fanless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using 2 monitors
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4602
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
When you plug the second monitor in, it'll probably default to mirror the first monitor. Right click on the desktop to get into monitor preferences and change it to extended desktop. You can set up what ever you like on the secondary by dragging the window over. The game will run on the primary monitor. Games can usually run in 3 modes: Windowed (can be sized), windowed (fullscreen), and fullscreen.

Windowed modes mean the game uses the preferences for the desktop for gamma, etc and you can just move the mouse in/out of the game making something else the active window.

Fullscreen mode - utilizes all of the graphics settings set in the game and you use alt-tab to switch in/out of the game to another window. This generally gives the best gameplay.

Power use: Unless you have an Nvidia GTX 6xx card, there's a significant idle power adder when you run two monitors. AMD and earlier Nvidia cards do not downclock the memory...Techpowerup and HT4U both show multi-monitor power use in their reviews.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using 2 monitors
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 1195
Location: UK
Mettyx wrote:
If I watch a video on one monitor and have a demanding 3D game on another like Battlefield 3

At the same time?!? That's what I call multitasking!

_________________
Silverstone SG03B: E8200, Asus P5E-VM HDMI, 2Gb RAM, Leadtek 9600GT+S1 rev. 2, Samsung 500Gb, Seasonic X-400, 2x Akasa 120mm, Scythe Zipang 2 fanless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using 2 monitors
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:34 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:41 am
Posts: 708
Location: Denmark
Mettyx wrote:
Do Nvidia cards even support 2 monitors at the same time?


All contemporary video cards support at least two screens. Even a five year old AMD motherboard with a Nvidia chipset that I've owned supports two screens. So you have nothing to worry about.

_________________
Cooler Master Elite 341, Athlon II X3 425, Radeon 5750 (passive, fan zip-tied on), Crucial M4 64 GB.
Cooling: AC Alpine 64 Pro, rear exhaust Scythe Slipstream 800 rpm @ ~5 V


"SSD's: The difference between a casual jogger and a dog chasing a ball"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group