It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus 5570 to Sapphire 6570
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 229
Location: UK/Eire
Last year I built the pc and picked the Asus model, however I overlooked the fact it was using DDR2 memory.
I play the odd game though not a hard core gamer. Anyway I was getting quite a big jump in performance v my old Gainward 256Mb Nvidia 7600GS which was also passive. As expected it's quite dated v newer cards and doesn't do a lot of decoding bar DVD's.

So quite a decent step up ie can play newer games at decent levels.
But I felt the bandwidth was hitting performance

Sure enough I got the fanless sapphire 6570 and Resident Evil 5 went from around 28fps 1600x900 on the 5570..to around 50fps with the 6570.

I normally don't bother with higher end cards as it's not worth it for me. Nor do I usually update frequently. But in this case it was def worth it add some more of the AMD APP processing units, UVD3 as well cards runs pretty cool, and quite respectable performance for the meagre outlay. I'd used a few Sapphire 6450's for recent builds and was surprised at how much better they were v the previous 5450 in performance terms. And I have to say the DD2 5570 was not that much quicker than those cards.

Probably not worth bothering if you run a DDR3 5570, but certainly a better than expected performance boost over the DDR2 version.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus 5570 to Sapphire 6570
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:00 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
This one?
http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentatio ... id=1&leg=0


If you had gotten the GDDR5 version it would have been even faster.

http://banglagamer.com/showthread.php?1 ... post359350
^^ That's for the HD 6670, but the only difference between 6570 and 6670 is a 150MHz increase in core clock speed, so it's comparable.

Another one:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/rad ... 704-7.html

5570 GDDR5 is ~ 20% faster than the DDR3 version :P

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus 5570 to Sapphire 6570
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 229
Location: UK/Eire
Yes the top one sure I could have gone to the 6670..but as ever you have to pick what you want/need
It's quite enough for what I do..and has good enough performance for the games and tasks I have at the moment. In about 2-3 years I'm sure the next models will be worth a look :shock:

Actually it's the card I wanted but at the time the 6 series was not out.
Just shows though a simple oversight on the Asus with the DDR2 memory..quite a notable hit in performance. (for what I want)
Surprising just how much that was in the real world


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus 5570 to Sapphire 6570
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:17 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
If you overclock your 6570 by 150MHz in the core clock speed, you have a 6670.


But the GDDR5 versions are still faster :P

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus 5570 to Sapphire 6570
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:56 pm
Posts: 229
Location: UK/Eire
Of course I think over a period of time I might chew over an update in 2-3 years or so. Right now this seems to meet my needs. Like I say I'm not hardcore gaming, and you can always drop down the AA a bit and get quite decent improvements in performance.

You have to take things in context too, even the lower end cards are quite good nowadays v what was available years back even high end.
7 series looks decent but the lower ones are merely re-badged 6 series ones. In a few years I could update the card in the same price range and probably get quite a boost if I need it.

I'd rather plump the cash into an updated CPU than put too much into the graphics.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group