It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:51 am
Posts: 9
Hi, can I run this card with either one of these coolers and 1-2 120mm fans @600-700 rpm?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 6354
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Hi, neither of those coolers can handle your 250W card. You'd need something like the Xtreme IV. You might consider putting this 6 year old card to pasture rather than spending more money to make it quieter/cooler. As a comparison, the newly released GTX 1050 Ti will be considerably faster and only uses 75W.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:51 am
Posts: 9
Does this also apply if there are 4 fans at 500 rpm in the case (front, side, top, back) and two fans at 600-700rpm onto the cooler of the graphics card?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 6354
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Look at the compatible GPUs on the product pages.
https://www.arctic.ac/us_en/accelero-s1-rev-2.html
https://www.arctic.ac/us_en/accelero-s1-plus.html

Then look at their TDPs on this page.
http://www.geeks3d.com/20090618/graphic ... -database/

You'll see the former can handle up to ~140W, the latter ~190W...and remember by "handle" it means their fans will be running at max rpm to keep the temps under control. So, 250W is not likely to work well with either of these solutions...no matter the number of fans in the case. Unless, you are willing to nerf the card by underclocking and undervolting by a considerable amount reducing this 6 year old card's value even more.

Also, we don't know if the mounting holes even match up.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:51 am
Posts: 9
Im running a 5870 card with one 120mm fan at 500 rpm on it (and the four case coolers).
The Accelero S3 is recommended with a S3 turbo module for a 7970 which has a TDP of 250 watt.
The design is almost the same to the S1 plus, thus providing cooling without fans for graphics card up to 135 watt compared to 120 watt of a S1 Plus.

Anyhow if the 6970's mounting holes do not match with those of the S1 plus, the project will be dead. I didn't find any review of this setting in the web that is why I came here and thought it was possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 6354
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Libertin wrote:
The Accelero S3 is recommended with a S3 turbo module for a 7970 which has a TDP of 250 watt.
The design is almost the same to the S1 plus, thus providing cooling without fans for graphics card up to 135 watt compared to 120 watt of a S1 Plus.

The front side of the two is the same, but the S3 adds the backplate cooling. Also, while in one section it says the S3 supports the 7970 with turbo module, in another they say the cooler with turbo supports up to 200W.

Just saying, it's iffy...and I'm repeating myself, but do you really want to spend $50-100 on this card when a better performance, lower power card is < $150?

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 1571
Location: UK
I would agree with Steve. For an older card like that don't spend the money. If however you have a spare tower CPU heatsink around, or other parts that could be used, hack away! I have a massively overclocked Geforce FX5900 from the olden days that runs enormous speeds, maxing out at only 50C with a hacked CPU cooler cable tied to it.

_________________
Raijintek Metis: i5-6400, Scythe Ninja 4, Asus Z170i Pro Gaming, 8Gb RAM, GTX 950, Crucial 250Gb M.2, Seasonic X-400


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1375
Back in the day I put S1 on 7950 and 7970. 7950 was perfectly happy with S1, 7970 strangely was not. It's possible I got poorly binned 7970 sample that had extremely high power draw, but it's also possible that the power consumption jump from 7950 to 7970 was too high for the Accelero S1 to handle.

6970 has lower power consumption than 7970, so it may work. If you have a spare Accelero S1 lying around, why don't you try it? Although from my experiecen you will most likely need higher RPMs than 600-700 under load to keep the card cool. It's been a really really long time ago, but from what I remember I needed two ~1000RPM fans on 7950/AcceleroS1 to keep it cool under load.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6970 - Accelero S1 Rev 2 or S1 Plus possible?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:51 am
Posts: 9
I could get this card for 20€/$, that is why I make this considerations.
It is the Sapphire HD 6970 we are talking about.
Image
Doesn't this version have five heatpipes and so the cooling capacity is the same or even higher than those of the S1?
Wouldn't the replacement of the stock fans make this card near to silent in idle mode?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group