It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Modding the Leadtek Geforce 3 TD
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:23 am
Posts: 19
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Hi Guys,

I'm the proud owner of a Leadtek Geforce 3 TD (who would have guessed)

The thing is i'd like to quiet it down a little. Now i've read up a little about the zalman passive vga card cooling systems and i'd like to use one.
Specifically the Zalman ZM80C-HP chipset cooler :D

But on my card there are stock heatsinks attached to the memory glued down with epoxy. The cooler on the gpu itself can be removed.

Check this link for a pic:

http://www.hothardware.com/hh_files/S&V/leadtek_gf3.htm

Now my question is will the zalmal passive heatsinks fit on top of the stock ramsinks? (i think they are 5mm high)

Thanks in advance guys!!

_________________
" There is no spoon "
" Scotty we need more power "
" Western Digital SUCKS!! "

AMD 2600+, 1gb Dane-elec DDR 333, Sapphire Radeon 9800 pro, Abit nf7-s rev 1.2, etc etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 5:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:23 am
Posts: 19
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Well guys your are to late :D

I've done it already. Not a perfect fit i must say, especially since the heatsinks are not really compatible with this card (although it does have holes) the back heatsink is not really properly lined up with the front one unless you go through some trouble yourself :evil:

But it works, strange thing is that my cpu temp actually dropped a few degrees and my mobo temp went up a few :shock:

But i can still recommend it.

_________________
" There is no spoon "
" Scotty we need more power "
" Western Digital SUCKS!! "

AMD 2600+, 1gb Dane-elec DDR 333, Sapphire Radeon 9800 pro, Abit nf7-s rev 1.2, etc etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Posts: 1356
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA
Is your card overclocked?

_________________
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:23 am
Posts: 19
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
nope stock speed, but cooling is better then standard.

I would advice using the additional fan if you want to overclock, cause ramsinks still get really hot :roll:

_________________
" There is no spoon "
" Scotty we need more power "
" Western Digital SUCKS!! "

AMD 2600+, 1gb Dane-elec DDR 333, Sapphire Radeon 9800 pro, Abit nf7-s rev 1.2, etc etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Posts: 1356
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA
I have a PNY GF3 Ti200; I unplugged the stock fan (didn't remove it, just unplugged it), mounted an L1A directly facing it using a Zalman 123 in an unusual fashion. I must get good cooling because I have the card clocked at 230 core/411 memory and have no problems, artifacting, lock-ups, etc.

Oh yeah, and it is VERY quite (the L1A is undervolted just a bit with a fanmate).

EDIT/ correction to memory speed from 430 to 411.

_________________
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR


Last edited by Wedge on Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:23 am
Posts: 19
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
that should do the job :D

But hey zalman looks really ghetto :twisted:

_________________
" There is no spoon "
" Scotty we need more power "
" Western Digital SUCKS!! "

AMD 2600+, 1gb Dane-elec DDR 333, Sapphire Radeon 9800 pro, Abit nf7-s rev 1.2, etc etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Posts: 1356
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA
LoL! Trust me it's not bad-looking at all. :D

_________________
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group