It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: source for NB32J?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 137
I'm looking for a reputable dealer of NB32J heatsinks that will ship USPS. For a $5.00 part I don't really like the idea of spending another $6 on shipping! Also, I'd prefer a dealer that doesn't use the cheezy Yahoo! Shopping Cart (why do so many shops use that?!)

My preference is typically NewEgg, but they seem very slow to pick up stuff like this.

My TNT2 Ultra's fan just died, so I figure this would be a good experiment for slapping on an NB32J =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 137
Nevermind, NewEgg DOES carry it for only $5 (although shipping was still another $5, but I'll pay the extra since I trust them).

The reason I couldn't find is that they don't call it the "NB32J" and they don't list it under VGA or NB heatsinks. I found it indirectly through pricewatch, where they call it "Zalman Motherboard Heatsink" or something like that.

/me thinks that NewEgg could use a site redesign...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:45 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
Have you looked at Silicon Acoustics (one of SPCRs sponsers)? They seem to work with folks on shipping (they ship to Canada for instance) so it might be worthwhile to contact them.

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 137
Yes, I looked there, but either their Web site is borked or they don't like Mozilla, because the first time I tried they quoted $50.00 for shipping via USPS (!), and now when I'm there it just errors out =(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:24 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 2:38 pm
Posts: 671
Location: California, US
Well, if you can live with the Yahoo shopping cart (what's wrong with it, anyway? It works fine for me!), SVC sells it for $4.75, and they have fair USPS shipping prices--I once bought six power-cable extensions from them, and the shipping (about 60 miles distance) was $1.25.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 137
I don't like the Yahoo Shopping Cart because it forces me to create a yahoo shopping account. Yet more information I don't need/want floating around.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:12 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
BaconTastesGood wrote:
I don't like the Yahoo Shopping Cart because it forces me to create a yahoo shopping account. Yet more information I don't need/want floating around.


You don't need to create an account to use a Yahoo cart. I've used them hundreds of times and have never been prompted to create any account or log on to any existing account.

As a matter of fact, to test this I just ordered a tube of the new Arctic Silver 5 from SVC ($7 with free shipping). There's no place on the Yahoo page that has anything to do with an account.

I use Firebird but I also checked with IE and the page doesn't look any different.

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 137
Weird. EVERY time I try to use it, it forces me to login with a Yahoo ID...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:53 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
BaconTastesGood wrote:
Weird. EVERY time I try to use it, it forces me to login with a Yahoo ID...


You've probably got some Yahoo cookie on your box.

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group