newbie wants to build a silent mini-pc

Info & chat about quiet prebuilt, small form factor and barebones systems, people's experiences with vendors thereof, etc.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

tahiti_bob

newbie wants to build a silent mini-pc

Post by tahiti_bob » Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:24 am

Hi,
I'd like to build myself a silent pc on which I'd like to install a multimedia center software like myth tv.
As it should be installed in my living room, it should be very silent and also small. Therefore, I was thinking about taking a mini-pc.
As I am a total newbie when it comes to build a quiet pc (mine is very noisy), could you give me some advice about this and even tell me if whether or not I should take a mini pc, for this. If yes, are the ones produced by Shuttle the best ones ?

I know there's not much room to add additional cards in it (i'll need a tv card) so I don't know if this is the right choice.

Also, could any guru out there, tell me about the basics of making a silent pc ? What are the components (cpu, ...) you focus on, what to care about...in other words the basic tricks that everybody with a little bit of experience in silent pc's know...

I guess someone already asked such questions, so if it's the case, could you please point me to the similar threads...

Thanks !

MikeC
Site Admin

Post by MikeC » Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:11 am

tahiti_bob --

Welcome to SPCR!

Those are pretty broad questions. Just about anything you read at SPCR will help you get to your goal, but some things will get you there a little faster. I recommend the following:

1) Read the Sticky: FAQ for Newbies: Please read this first!! in the Newcomers Forum. Do not spend a lot of time here in the forums -- you'll get lost in the trees; you need to see the forest first -- go to the main site...