It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 9:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Advice on Powering an Antec Aria (NSK1300/NSK1380)
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 2:36 am
Posts: 2
Location: UK
Hello all,

I'm new here and I've recently stumbled upon several forum members posts about how they have gone about converting their Antec Aria (NSK1300/1380's) to using different power supplies. I've had an Aria for 3 1/2 years and it's been wonderful in that time, but the power supply has recently died and I'd like the ability to replace it with a better solution myself, rather than having to buy a proprietary power supply every so often. Plus, hopefully this will reduce the noise I've been subjected to over the past 4 years of using it.

My current setup is a Phenom 9500, which I'd imagine draws a lot more power than the mods posted here and I also use a Sapphire 4670 and a external soundblaster. I've been running that for 5 months before the stock supply has failed.

The replacement power supply here in the UK costs £60, which is pretty close to the retail price of a new NSK1380 (£81).

I'm not sure of what total power would be in my current setup, but would like to try to power through a specialist ATX PSU which would work in the system (although I'm not aware of any myself). Is there any way I could power this other than Antecs solution? Could I combine a number of Pico (or other) PSU's in some way to meet my power reqs? I'd be completely new to trying such a solution and might be a bit out of my league. I understand I'd need to get a Dell power brick, but wouldn't know how to actually hook that up to a DC-DC device myself.

If anyone has any advice in repairing the power supply, I'd love to hear their advice too.

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Advice on Powering an Antec Aria (NSK1300/NSK1380)
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 7:00 am
Posts: 12
Location: The Netherlands
If you want to go with a passive solution you should replace your processor with a Effecient version.

Look for the Amd Phenom II X4 905e, a quad core with 65 watt tdp.

Then look at this power supply:
http://www.mini-box.com/s.nl/it.A/id.30 ... tegory=981

This will only work if you only have like 1 drive and 1 hdd.

What i reccoment is a regular ATX powr supply and put it next to the computer case (just on your desk).

Its the cheapest solution ( not very nice to look at though..)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 3:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 2:36 am
Posts: 2
Location: UK
Yeah, ideally I'd want something that could be tucked away neatly. I'd consider dropping down my CPU to save some watts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:18 am
Posts: 17
I just bought this one for $55 - about half the cost you post above. It has 50 more Watts (350 Watts) and it is over 80% efficiency unlike the 300 Watt version that came with your Aria. Works fine. More power and higher efficiency means it will operate cooler too.

The Aria is not the quietest box in the world though, and never will be due to the small form factor. After using Shuttles though, I can say that it is much quieter than the normal Shuttle.

http://www.provantage.com/antec-ar350~7ANT900Q.htm

-X


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group