It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Comments on my plans please
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
I am planning to build a WC set up with the following parts:

XQ6700 Quad Core (oc to 2.9GHz, maybe more)
8800 Ultra (stock)
680i based mobo
P182

I already have that lot, now I am planning to get:

Swiftech Apogee GTX
DD 8800 waterblock (GTX should fit the Ultra)
Swiftech chipset block?
3/8" tubing
MCP355 pump?
P120.3 radiator for mounting outside on the back of the P182
Swiftech Microres

Does anyone have any comments on this system? The rad should be up to the task (maybe 300W max heat dissipation from those parts.) Is the pump going to be okay for this system or would you suggest something else?

I am planning to use Nexus fans with the rad, hopefully at 7V.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 166
Location: United States
i would suggest a better pump and fan - get yate loons, since they are a lot cheaper, and 7V on a nexus is sorta wimpy, albeit quiet. A 7v on a YL is pretty much a sweet spot

for a pump...i was thinking about a eheim 1048 for my plans, but since your loop is more complex, you should get the mcp655 or a eheim 1250.

and the 3/8" tubing is sorta a roadblock on your loop...why not use 1/2"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Okay, Yate Loon it is!

As for the pump, I currently have a 1048. It's a good pump bit a tad large perhaps. Do you really think I will need that extra pressure though? How does the mcp655 compare for noise?

The 3/8 tubing is largely for convenience. I have 1/2" now and it is a tad tricky to route, even in a massive double server case. Since this is a P182, I figured I would have to use 3/8 to help with routing. Also, 3/8 will pass through a PCI blanker slot so I won't have to drill any holes for easy routing to the rad.

I am going for silence, not performance, although I realise this is high load system.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:51 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:12 pm
Posts: 380
Location: Toronto, ON
MCP655 can be run at 1 for silence or 5 for performance.
From my experiences, 1 is pretty much inaudible in an enclosed P180. 5 introduces a woosh of white noise.

If you go with the MCP655, it'll be much easier to place and decouple than a giant 1048.

If you're getting an XQ6700 only to aim for 2.9GHz, save your money and go for a Q6600.

3/8" is fine.

For some results on PA120.x series, check out:
http://thermochill.com/PATesting/index.php#PA1203

Make sure you get some PT Nuke or some kind of biocide to prevent algae growth.

_________________
solo ii: i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx660ti - crucial m4 256gb - ax750
t61p: t9300 - 2x2gb - intel 330 240gb
win2008: i3 2100 - z77pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml 12x2tb wd eads r6 - cx400


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Okay, looks like the MCP655 is the way to go, thanks. I like the variable speed.

I already have the CPU and wasn't initially going to OC, but since it multiplier unlocked and stable at 2.9GHz undervolted to 2.9V (stock 3.5) I will probably stick with that.

The best thing is that because the multiplier is unlocked, you can overclock without changing the FSB. Thus, with SpeedStep enabled the CPU still idles at the default 6x multiplier when not under heavy load.

As for additive, in my current system I use antifreeze. It has been running for three years or more like that, never flushed. I do check periodically but it does not seem to corrode. When I changed graphics cards I checked the GPU block and it was clean. Still, some proper stuff might be worth the investment. The blue anti-freeze does look cool though.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:21 pm
Posts: 412
Location: UK
You don't have to get a Zalman Reserator to have a passive watercooling setup.

Other manufacturers make large passive radiators also such as this Innovatek Convekt O Matic:

http://www.netzwelt.de/gallery/innovate ... 2.jpg.html

Innovatek Radiators

Reviews:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article248-page1.html

http://reviews.pimprig.com/cooling/inno ... php?page=4

Image

You see people using car radiators too sometimes. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Interesting, but I don't think passive is going to cope with my system.

I am thinking about getting an Antec Nine Hundred case instead. Not sure if I would need water cooling with it or not... But if I wanted to, maybe I could mount the rad at the front of the case some how. Take the grills off and put it on the outside, in front of the fans.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: radiatior mounting
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 11
Mounting a rad in front of the two 120mm fans on an Antec 900 would be sweet! Fresh cold air for the major cooling and still have positive airflow through out the case to help keep mb and hard drives cool.

I like it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Will it fit though, that's the question. I can't find anyone online who has tried...

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Antec 900
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 11
I just happen to have a 900 at my "office" right now. What are the dimensions of the rad you intend to use? I'll post the dimensions of the front of the case tomorrow. And look at the feasibility of the whole thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Antec 900
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 11
Ok. The 900 has a bay that measures 10 inches high and 5 3/4 inches across. At the very bottom of the case is a lip that measures 1 inch in heigth. I think you could run the hoses through there. One obstacle in the way is the front bezel. It is pretty thick and consists of two pieces that are screwed together. You'd have to cut through it as well to run the hoses through that lip I mentioned. One alternative would be to run the hoses through one of the 5 1/4 bays above the fans.

Just my thoughts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Here is a link to the PDF with dimensions:

http://www.thermochill.com/guides/PA120-3.pdf

430x126... er... you said 250x140mm approx I think. So width is fine, and could maybe fit s PA120.2 in there but the 120.3 might be a bit high.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: rads
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 11
It seems that the 120.2 would be high also. check out Danger Den's heater cores. The double is 11 inches high. with the 1 inch lip at the bottom that may be the closest match. If the outlets will line up right. then again, if you don't fill all the external bay spaces then the outlets could run right into the first slot and not interfer with anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 737
Location: UK
Tempting, as I already have a DD heatercore and it works very well.

I think air alone might be okay for the Nine Hundred though. Most people who have them seem to go for massive overclocks, but if you can run a 8800 GTX and QX6700 at 3.8GHz on air with it then running closer to stock speeds silently should not be that hard.

All in all it looks like the perfect case in many ways. Could do with a less restrictive side fan mount, the front grills probably need removing, and there is some question over the noise of the 200mm fan, but short of getting a massive server case or doing some heavy modding it looks like it could be much better than the P182 for high power systems.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 11
Air will definately work. But the whole point here was water cooling and silence. I have not been able to fire up this case as there is no power supply in int yet (it's not my case) so I don't know how loud that big fan is going to be.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group