It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: EK-Bay Spin Res! Where should Pump BE?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:45 pm
Posts: 4
Location: usa
I've Laing DDC DDCT-01s pump, EK-RES250 reservoir and Thermochill Pa 120.2 Dual 120MM and Thermochill Pa 120.3 Dual 120MM connecting:

Res => Pump =>CPU => 8800GTX => 8800GTX => Rad 120.3 => Rad 120.2 =>Res.

Now that I'm upgrading my Board and CPU, I thought EK-Bay Spin Reservoir would look cool in front bay. I've 2 of these Laing DDC DDCT pumps (petra tech's). What should I do to utilize this EK bay res and pump (not necessarily both, but one if is enough like it is now). Since EK-Bay Spin has three outlet, I was thinking atleast using to outlets straight like

PUMP
^
||

Reservoir Out1 => CPU => Rad 120.2 =>Res

Reservoir Out2 => GPU => GPU = Rad 120.3 =>Res

or should keep it same as before and keep 2 other outlets blocked?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 1:15 am
Posts: 278
Location: Sydney, Australia
So you want to split the loop but with a shared res? In effect its still just one giant loop, as the water temperature will equalize anyway, so, at best, you may gain some performance from pushing more restriction into one loop and having a faster flowing CPU loop (ala the Typhoon III res), however, this will be countered by having a more complex tubing run.

In short, I believe you should either go 2 full loops (ie completely separate), or just one large loop. I kind of like the one large loop idea, as I tend to either use lots of CPU, or a little CPU and lots of GPU (most games are still single threaded, so can only push your CPU so much).

Of course, the best way... is to test both and see which works best for you :) (and I'm not 100% sure I understand what you are suggesting).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:45 pm
Posts: 4
Location: usa
well, what I was thinking is

Res => PUMP => CPU => Small Rad and back to Res.

Res => PUMP => GPU1 => GPU2 = Big Rad and back to Res

where back to Res with Y-Plug since Res has only 1 inlet. So both Radiators outlets to 1 inlet of Reservoir.

Since CPU to GPU 1, water may become hot and from GPU1 to GPU2, it become even more hot so the GPU2 (poor thing) is taking the most heat :)

What do you think?

Single (big) loop is simple and easy and I think 1 pump should be sufficient also...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 1:15 am
Posts: 278
Location: Sydney, Australia
The variation in temperature around a loop is typically small (1c ish), so GPU 2 really shouldn't end up with much higher temps than GPU 1. So given the water temperature is roughly even, splitting the loop like this probably wont make a huge difference.

It may cause a difference in flow rates down the loops (faster in one, slower in the other), which may cause a benefit.

If you are really keen try it out and take careful measurements, but I don't think you'll see a big difference.

EDIT: Given you would have 2 of everything except res, why not just run 2 loops? Just use a T-line for the 2nd loop maybe?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:45 pm
Posts: 4
Location: usa
So here's what I've decided

XSPC Acrylic Dual 5.25in. Reservoir for Two Laing DDC with 2 Pumps conencted =RES+PUMPs
RES+pump 1 => CPU => MofSet => NB/SB => Rad 120.3 => Res
RES+Pump2 => GPU1 => GPU2 => Rad 120.2 => Res

2 seperate loops


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 1:15 am
Posts: 278
Location: Sydney, Australia
I saw your thread on XS (at least I think it was yours).


Yep 2 loops sounds like the best solution. Let us know how you go, and what improvements you see :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:45 pm
Posts: 4
Location: usa
you and Spawn-Inc are in favor of dual loop. Help me here:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... p?t=250686


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 1:15 am
Posts: 278
Location: Sydney, Australia
Actually I prefer a single loop... but I only have one, not very hot, GPU.

The advantage you get from two loops is you can choose what goes into each loop... so you can run your GPU loop a little warmer, and have your CPU loop a little cooler.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group