It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about PSU MAX power.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 23
I see this on many psu's and i am curious for example for this
Image
420W psu how come that +3.3V, +5V, +12V = 400 W and -5V, -12V, 5VSB = 28W if psu is only 420 W and not 428W, why?


And in http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/psuSpec.pdf spec there is some "Peak load (60secs) 620W", does it mean its power on 0-25*C (just before it heat up)?[/img]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:23 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
At the top of this forum there's a Sticky titled Sticky: # MUST-READ FAQ for System Advice Forum #

Read it, and the Power Supply Fundamentals article linked within.

The answer to your question is in there, along with lots more information.

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 3:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 23
Rusty075 wrote:
At the top of this forum there's a Sticky titled Sticky: # MUST-READ FAQ for System Advice Forum #

Read it, and the Power Supply Fundamentals article linked within.

The answer to your question is in there, along with lots more information.

Dont see how Sticky: # MUST-READ FAQ for System Advice Forum # can answer my question, but i started to read Power Supply Fundamentals before i post, just have no finished yet ;) i am not american and i find this review using to complicated language in comparison with other review sites. I dont mean i dont understand it, but my unerstandability is kinda low at 02am in the morning, so i desided to read it some other time.
I'll let you know if i find answer there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:03 am
Posts: 1130
Location: Europe
You can probably find answers to your questions here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 23
Tephras wrote:
You can probably find answers to your questions here.

Nope i did not, i am not electrician i dont care how power run in my pc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 380
Location: UK
Well if you want to know the answer to your question you'll have to learn a bit - the physics isn't that complicated, it's the sort of thing you'd learn top end of GCSE or lower end of A-level (if you're in the UK).

You can't ask an electronics question and expect the answer not to involve electronics!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 23
Guess what i am not in uk :P and not in school anymore to.
I dont mind to learn some basic stuff about electronic, but knowing not how current runs insode of wires is just useless to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 9:06 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 10:06 am
Posts: 3214
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Eh, what exactly is the question here?

Why numbers don't necessarily add up? I can't tell you that. Outright lies is the best I can tell you.

As for the peak load of 620W, basically that's more or less to inform you that it CAN handle that level load for a short period of time. This is somewhat useful if you have a lot of hard drives, especially old huge ones. Depending on the drive, they can draw 10 times more power upon spin up than they can on.

I have a computer that draws 60W at idle, and 112W at full power. However, it has 6 hard drives in there, 2 of them old SCSI beasts (you'll break your foot if you drop the drive on it). I've measured it, and on startup I've seen it draw as much as 300W!!! Were I a REAL sysadmin, this might be useful information to know. So, OCZ is kindly informing you that it can handle a little more power than what it's rated for, but not for any great length of time.

_________________
My Power Rig, Storage Rig, HTPC and Main Rig


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group