about to build new system - need advice

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

as530
*Lifetime Patron*

about to build new system - need advice

Post by as530 » Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:29 pm

hi, i'd like some advice before ordering components. I'd like to build a pretty quiet PC (i.e. much quieter than the average ready-made desktop) but am not fussed about it being totally silent or anything. Most important is that it should be quiet when idling (e.g. overnight, when the only thing it's doing is either nothing, or just downloading stuff). For comparison, my current PC is a ready-made Dell Dimension XPS600T which is a P3 600MHz which i bought in 2000. It is way too noisy.

I have done a lot of reading on SPCR and other sites, as i've never built a PC before, but think i'm up to the challenge, plus have a friend who should be able to help. I also want to mention that SPCR is an excellent resource, I am eternally grateful to the creators, and will be contributing as soon as I start earning! (graduate this summer)

The components I'm considering are as follows:

mobo: asus P5GD2 deluxe (intel 915P)

CPU: intel P4 3.0GHz socket 775

CPU HS: thermalright XP-120 or XP-90, but think 120 should fit

CPU HS fan: not sure - suggestions? what is best 120mm fan for XP-120?

grease: arctic silver ceramique (but is this necessary? is it much better than stuff which comes with thermalright XP-120?)

PSU: either the 350W one which comes with 3700BQE, or antec NeoPower 480

graphics: geforce 6600gt 128mb (PCI express)

sound card: will buy a semi-pro one at later date

RAM: 1gb ddr2 240pin, either PC-5300 or PC-4300

tv card: will purchase at later date. possibly digital TV card.