Thank you SPCR - please critique my first system attempt

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

steelcitysi

Thank you SPCR - please critique my first system attempt

Post by steelcitysi » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:38 am

Hi SPCR,

This is my very first post but I'd like to say thanks to MikeC and to all other contributors. I've been searching for quiet alternatives for a long time now and only recently stumbled upon this site - I've been lurking for several months now, quietly planning my system.

I'm a musician (require 3 HD's - audio, samples, system), and don't care for games or video performance. Here's the general plan (FrontierPC):

Athlon 3500+
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
3 Samsung Spinpoints (1 IDE, 2 SATA) - I'll be remoding the HD cage and suspending these with bungee cords
ASUS V9400GE MX4000 AGP8X
Antec SLK3000B
Seasonic S12 380W
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64

Most of this was pulled from the recommended lists. To the veteran silencers, here are my questions:

1) Do you think the built-in fan (at the low setting) will be enough to cool this system?

2) I'm sure several of you have built very similar systems. I haven't seen anybody who has tried 3 HDs - how does your system sound if you've tried 3 Samsungs?

Thanks SPCR

m0002a

Post by m0002a » Sun Apr 17, 2005 11:03 am

Sorry I can't answer your questions, but I do have the following comments:

Make sure you get the 90 nm Winchester version of the 3500+. You will probably want to do something about the chipset cooling, since the OEM ones are usually very noisy.

Just curious, what kind of audio card does a musician use?

SometimesWarrior
Patron of SPCR

Post by SometimesWarrior » Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:19 pm

Well even though you've been lurking, that does not exempt you from receiving a...

Welcome to SPCR!! :D :lol: